Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
userid
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 27, 2020 9:50 am

LTE APN with fix IP

Wed May 27, 2020 10:09 am

Howdy,

just got my Chateau LTE12 and it came with latest beta preinstalled v7.0beta6. Seems like this release is not in public channels yet, it's OK but, I have just configured it to use with Telia LT fixed IP APN, and I'am still getting dynamic IP. It works as expected with same SIM and APN config on Huawei router. May be there some known issues with beta release? Should I downgrade to stable instead? Which debug information should I provide?

Thx.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
SiB
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Poland

Re: LTE APN with fix IP

Wed May 27, 2020 2:47 pm

Please read a documentation, general about lte: https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Interface/LTE

Please activate log-s:
/system logging add topics=lte

In logs try search what APN is used in reality... I know that APN can be not used, or used after usb power-reset, or just works only 1x after reboot... some strange behaviors with APN at ros7b6.

I not have Chateau then cannot test the ros7b6, at public7b5 I have more problems and just wait for new betas.
MTCNA + MTCRE + MTCINE | ~600 users at ~150 RouterBoards in EMEA | Telegram: @SiB_PL
WinBox Tip: F6 works as ALT+TAB | Gliffy.com - free network schematic | prnt.sc - free ScreenShot software
At vacation until 15.jan.2021
 
mada3k
Member
Member
Posts: 308
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 10:53 am
Location: Sweden

Re: LTE APN with fix IP

Wed May 27, 2020 6:24 pm

Sounds a bit strange that it was shipped with beta software. Sure it hasn't been used before?
Manages some CCR's, RB750Gr3, RB922 and wAP's
 
User avatar
SiB
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Poland

Re: LTE APN with fix IP

Wed May 27, 2020 6:43 pm

Sounds a bit strange that it was shipped with beta software. Sure it hasn't been used before?
Chateau is with ROS7 only, the official release is ROS7beta5 but at Chateau is ROS7beta6.
MikroTik never publish release candidate or stable ros7 and all person who buy Chateau receive ros7b6.
MTCNA + MTCRE + MTCINE | ~600 users at ~150 RouterBoards in EMEA | Telegram: @SiB_PL
WinBox Tip: F6 works as ALT+TAB | Gliffy.com - free network schematic | prnt.sc - free ScreenShot software
At vacation until 15.jan.2021
 
userid
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 27, 2020 9:50 am

Re: LTE APN with fix IP

Thu May 28, 2020 8:22 am

Please read a documentation, general about lte: https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Interface/LTE

Please activate log-s:
/system logging add topics=lte

In logs try search what APN is used in reality... I know that APN can be not used, or used after usb power-reset, or just works only 1x after reboot... some strange behaviors with APN at ros7b6.

I not have Chateau then cannot test the ros7b6, at public7b5 I have more problems and just wait for new betas.
Thanks for the reply. After digging through logs I see this:
08:12:54 lte,debug lte1 mbim: lte status: attached apn: omnitel
08:12:54 lte,debug lte1 mbim: apn: omnitel user: omni
seems like You right, and LTE apn is ignored, so then default is taken from BS?
 
User avatar
SiB
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Poland

Re: LTE APN with fix IP

Thu May 28, 2020 10:42 am

seems like You right, and LTE apn is ignored, so then default is taken from BS?
probably.
you can try few actions to check they behhavior
* usb power-reset
* at+reset or proper for that modem
* re-enable lte1
* reboot

maybe apn is used after one of that action and you can found some schema to fix it.
MTCNA + MTCRE + MTCINE | ~600 users at ~150 RouterBoards in EMEA | Telegram: @SiB_PL
WinBox Tip: F6 works as ALT+TAB | Gliffy.com - free network schematic | prnt.sc - free ScreenShot software
At vacation until 15.jan.2021
 
sknx
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2020 11:39 pm

Re: LTE APN with fix IP

Tue Jun 02, 2020 11:47 pm

I had the same problem. Turns out there is an option for the APN profile "use-network-apn", which is only accessible via CLI and default yes.
Enabled, it ignores your APN settings and uses the APN provided by the network. Set this to no and it starts using your configured APN.
Last edited by sknx on Tue Jun 02, 2020 11:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
SiB
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Poland

Re: LTE APN with fix IP  [SOLVED]

Thu Jun 04, 2020 2:58 pm

I had the same problem. Turns out there is an option for the APN profile "use-network-apn", which is only accessible via CLI and default yes.
Enabled, it ignores your APN settings and uses the APN provided by the network. Set this to no and it starts using your configured APN.
True, I just have access to one of Chateau and grab all possibility options.
[admin@MikroTik] > interface/lte apn/set 
add-default-route       ipv6-interface         passthrough-subnet-selection
apn                     name                   password                    
authentication          numbers                use-network-apn             
default-route-distance  passthrough-interface  use-peer-dns                
ip-type                 passthrough-mac        user                        
[admin@MikroTik] > interface/lte apn/set use-network-apn=
no  yes
[admin@MikroTik] > interface/lte apn/set passthrough-subnet-selection=
auto  p2p
[admin@MikroTik] > interface/lte apn/set ip-type=ipv                  
ipv4  ipv4-ipv6  ipv6
MTCNA + MTCRE + MTCINE | ~600 users at ~150 RouterBoards in EMEA | Telegram: @SiB_PL
WinBox Tip: F6 works as ALT+TAB | Gliffy.com - free network schematic | prnt.sc - free ScreenShot software
At vacation until 15.jan.2021
 
userid
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 27, 2020 9:50 am

Re: LTE APN with fix IP

Wed Sep 30, 2020 9:57 pm

This solves the issue. Thx SIB
I had the same problem. Turns out there is an option for the APN profile "use-network-apn", which is only accessible via CLI and default yes.
Enabled, it ignores your APN settings and uses the APN provided by the network. Set this to no and it starts using your configured APN.
True, I just have access to one of Chateau and grab all possibility options.
[admin@MikroTik] > interface/lte apn/set 
add-default-route       ipv6-interface         passthrough-subnet-selection
apn                     name                   password                    
authentication          numbers                use-network-apn             
default-route-distance  passthrough-interface  use-peer-dns                
ip-type                 passthrough-mac        user                        
[admin@MikroTik] > interface/lte apn/set use-network-apn=
no  yes
[admin@MikroTik] > interface/lte apn/set passthrough-subnet-selection=
auto  p2p
[admin@MikroTik] > interface/lte apn/set ip-type=ipv                  
ipv4  ipv4-ipv6  ipv6
 
tonie16
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2020 12:34 pm

Re: LTE APN with fix IP

Tue Nov 10, 2020 12:37 pm

I had the same problem. Turns out there is an option for the APN profile "use-network-apn", which is only accessible via CLI and default yes.
Enabled, it ignores your APN settings and uses the APN provided by the network. Set this to no and it starts using your configured APN.
True, I just have access to one of Chateau and grab all possibility options.
[admin@MikroTik] > interface/lte apn/set 
add-default-route       ipv6-interface         passthrough-subnet-selection
apn                     name                   password                    
authentication          numbers                use-network-apn             
default-route-distance  passthrough-interface  use-peer-dns                
ip-type                 passthrough-mac        user                        
[admin@MikroTik] > interface/lte apn/set use-network-apn=
no  yes
[admin@MikroTik] > interface/lte apn/set passthrough-subnet-selection=
auto  p2p
[admin@MikroTik] > interface/lte apn/set ip-type=ipv                  
ipv4  ipv4-ipv6  ipv6
Thank you SIB, this helped me alot.
 
sapphire112
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 11:38 pm

Re: LTE APN avec IP fixe

Sun Nov 15, 2020 7:39 pm

good evening I have Château LTE12 which was in beta v7.0beta6 which works very well in my country but since then I went to beta 7.1beta 2 its not working poorly lost connection lte that I did not have before, I would like to go back to the old one beta but not found on the net someone can help me find this firmware thank you
 
User avatar
SiB
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Poland

Re: LTE APN avec IP fixe

Mon Nov 16, 2020 12:09 am

Château LTE12 which was in beta v7.0beta6... I would like to go back to the old one beta
Go to https://mikrotik.com/download
CTRL + F for searching: Chateau and you discover it at ARM family
RMouseB and copy URL
https://download.mikrotik.com/routeros/7.1beta2/routeros-7.1beta2-arm.npk
and edit it to:
https://download.mikrotik.com/routeros/ ... a5-arm.npk <- WORK ✔️
https://download.mikrotik.com/routeros/ ... a6-arm.npk <- NOT WORK
https://download.mikrotik.com/routeros/ ... a7-arm.npk <- WORK ✔️
https://download.mikrotik.com/routeros/ ... a8-arm.npk <- WORK ✔️
MTCNA + MTCRE + MTCINE | ~600 users at ~150 RouterBoards in EMEA | Telegram: @SiB_PL
WinBox Tip: F6 works as ALT+TAB | Gliffy.com - free network schematic | prnt.sc - free ScreenShot software
At vacation until 15.jan.2021
 
redhatperl
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2020 1:40 pm

Re: LTE APN with fix IP

Tue Nov 17, 2020 6:57 am

Thanks SiB. I am wondering why v7.0beta6 is not available? Does anyone have the beta6 npk? I tried searching all over the web and even mailed on support.
 
User avatar
SiB
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Poland

Re: LTE APN with fix IP

Tue Nov 17, 2020 11:50 am

We not know, ask directly support@mikrotik.com or https://mikrotik.com/support :)
MTCNA + MTCRE + MTCINE | ~600 users at ~150 RouterBoards in EMEA | Telegram: @SiB_PL
WinBox Tip: F6 works as ALT+TAB | Gliffy.com - free network schematic | prnt.sc - free ScreenShot software
At vacation until 15.jan.2021

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests