Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
tejas75
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 5:59 pm

MikroTik does bad WiFi?

Wed Dec 02, 2020 6:01 pm

Not click bait, I'm genuinely interested in what folks have to say.
Because despite seeing many say their WiFi is bad, I'm seriously considering getting a few capAC devices to mount on the ceiling.
I've just got the RB4011 and it's an awesome piece of kit! OK, it took me a few days to port forward Plex, but I got there and I understand that its not going to be like my Asus routers. But honestly, I needed a big boy router to play with.
So, now I'm looking at replacing the Asus routers in the 3 level house, which are now APs. One on the ground floor, and the other on the 2nd floor. And I'm looking at MikroTik, managed with CAPsMAN.
 
quackyo
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 153
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2015 10:14 am

Re: MikroTik does bad WiFi?

Thu Dec 03, 2020 2:57 pm

No, Mikrotik does not do bad WiFi.
There might be other AP's with higher speed. And MT is late to the game with Wave2 support.
But MT's WIFI is stable. Really stable if you do it right. Also its really flexible. And cheap. And did I mention stable? :)
 
mada3k
Member
Member
Posts: 308
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 10:53 am
Location: Sweden

Re: MikroTik does bad WiFi?

Thu Dec 03, 2020 10:49 pm

I think Mikrotik does good RF design and well made flexible products. But yes, not the fastest.

Many other stuff has newer and faster chipsets, but has shitty software and RF-design.
Manages some CCR's, RB750Gr3, RB922 and wAP's

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: andrejtom, Baidu [Spider], cyrusd, vasa85 and 8 guests