Community discussions

 
cowgirl
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2018 12:10 am
Location: South-West-Germany
Contact:

Re: Feature requests

Fri Dec 21, 2018 4:35 pm

Multi Chassis Link Aggregation for CCR1xxx and CRS3xx

Best regards
Alexandra
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5002
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Feature requests

Tue Jan 15, 2019 2:38 pm

In "queue tree" please provide the option of specifying limit-at and max-limit as a percentage of the limit on the next higher layer.
(within a queue tree, the values in the parent item. in the top item, maybe the interface speed when available. or percentages could be disallowed there)

When the value of the limit in the parent item changes, automatically re-calculate the values specified by percentage.
 
muetzekoeln
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2018 2:34 pm

Re: Feature requests

Tue Jan 15, 2019 4:55 pm

In "queue tree" please provide the option of specifying limit-at and max-limit as a percentage of the limit on the next higher layer.
When the value of the limit in the parent item changes, automatically re-calculate the values specified by percentage.
+1

Yes please, this is very useful!
 
User avatar
SaurVLZ
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2018 12:02 am

Re: Feature requests

Wed Jan 16, 2019 1:09 pm

Please add temperature and voltage to the dashboard of the Winbox.
Often it is necessary to monitor the parameters and the location on the dashboard would simplify this at times.
winbox upg.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
iperezandres
newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 1:17 pm
Location: Madrid
Contact:

Re: Feature requests

Wed Jan 16, 2019 3:01 pm

Please add temperature and voltage to the dashboard of the Winbox.
Often it is necessary to monitor the parameters and the location on the dashboard would simplify this at times.
winbox upg.jpg
Now that you mention this, what about being able to personalize the parameters being shown on the dashboard? It would be useful to use a script to show any value or calculation.
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5002
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Feature requests

Wed Jan 16, 2019 3:42 pm

Of course when you need a dashboard with all kinds of customized parameters it is easy to make that using SNMP.
I would make such a thing on a local webserver in Perl or PHP but undoubtedly there exist "user friendly" packages for Windows that can do that too.
And of course MikroTik have "the Dude" which can do that as well.
 
muetzekoeln
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2018 2:34 pm

Feature request: IEEE 1588 support

Fri Jan 18, 2019 2:19 pm

RouterOS includes limited (S)NTP support for syncing clocks. For many applications (e.g. in telecoms and industry) more time precision is required. Protocol IEEE 1588-2008 (aka PTP, IEEE1588v2) is used for this. It would be a great benefit if Mikrotik devices would support IEEE 1588 and function as transparent clock, better yet boundary clock. Maybe some of the built-in switch chips already support for IEEE1588 timestamping in hardware.

You find some information about IEEE 1588 here:
https://www.endruntechnologies.com/pdf/PTP-1588.pdf
https://www.endace.com/ptp-timing-whitepaper

This forum already had some discussion about IEEE 1588:
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=70793&p=534801&hili ... 88#p534801
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=87471&p=465496&hili ... 88#p465496
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=79304&p=421858&hili ... 88#p421858
viewtopic.php?f=21&t=121198&p=605388&hilit=1588#p605388

Of course one has to have a grandmaster clock accessible to make use of IEEE 1588. Mikrotik devices only could transport PTP packets better if supported.
 
MikrotikOdessa
just joined
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2018 11:14 am

Re: Feature requests

Sat Jan 19, 2019 11:48 am

I would like to receive SNMP traps when WiFi client registration occurs...

for example:
[WIRELESS]--Association:11G STA 80:b0:3d:xx:xx:xx associated with WLAN1 SSID = Mikrotik


It's very useful for smart home automation scenarios
 
Pada
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 150
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 11:37 pm
Location: South Africa, Stellenbosch

Re: Feature requests

Mon Jan 28, 2019 11:10 pm

I would love the following Winbox (and WebFix) features to be added:
  1. Setting default options for Tools > Torch, because I always have to first deselect "Src. Address6" & "Dst. Address6" and then select "Port" & "Protocol"
  2. Setting to prevent drag & drop of Firewall rules to prevent accidental changes in firewall order
 
joegoldman
Member
Member
Posts: 413
Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 2:05 am

Re: Feature requests

Mon Jan 28, 2019 11:54 pm

I would like to receive SNMP traps when WiFi client registration occurs...

for example:
[WIRELESS]--Association:11G STA 80:b0:3d:xx:xx:xx associated with WLAN1 SSID = Mikrotik


It's very useful for smart home automation scenarios
You could replicate this with logging and a syslog (remote) logging server. Bit of a workaround
 
User avatar
Jotne
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 858
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2016 11:17 am
Location: Magrathean

Re: Feature requests

Tue Jan 29, 2019 8:42 am

I would like to receive SNMP traps when WiFi client registration occurs...
As joegoldman write, syslog is your friend. Look at the project in my signature using Splunk to monitor Mikrotik.
I there dropped using SNMP at all, since then have to add/scan for all new devices.
Now a script on the router calls home with all information needed.

This is how the log lines looks like from Router using Syslog (even shows the signal strength and what VLAN used)
2019-01-24 08:48:09	wireless,info MikroTik: 04:79:70:A9:B1:B3@wlan2: connected, signal strength -45
2019-01-24 08:36:55	wireless,info MikroTik: 04:79:70:A9:B1:B3@wlan2: connected, signal strength -43
2019-01-24 07:51:17	wireless,info MikroTik: 04:79:70:A9:B1:B3@wlan2: connected, signal strength -39
2019-01-23 10:05:08	wireless,info MikroTik: 04:79:70:A9:B1:B3@wlan2: connected, signal strength -32
.
Use Splunk to monitor your MikroTik Router

MikroTik->Splunk
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5002
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Feature requests

Fri Feb 01, 2019 2:32 pm

winbox: please have some feature to set (or completely disable) the live update interval of pages that show counters etc.

When managing a router via a slow network or when using winbox over something like RDP or X2GO and when it shows a page that has a lot of counters (e.g. firewall filter wih >200 filters) the winbox client is very busy with updating the page and it becomes difficult to actually do something (like moving a rule).
I would like to just pause the updating or configure it to update like every minute instead of "all the time".
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1617
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: Feature requests

Fri Feb 01, 2019 2:45 pm

winbox: please have some feature to set (or completely disable) the live update interval of pages that show counters etc.

++

While at it, do it for WebFig as well.
BR,
Metod
 
User avatar
DmitryAVET
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 90
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 12:27 am
Location: Ukraine, Mukachevo
Contact:

Re: Feature requests

Sat Feb 02, 2019 11:29 pm

Dear Mikrotik, what about automatic sertificates from Let's Encrypt?

Keenetic (ex Zyxel) provide AUTOMATIC sertificates by Let's Encrypt:
https://blog.keenetic.com/keenetic-join ... r-society/

Why Mikrotik can't provide same?

SSL for WWW services, include WebFig, especcially remote, hotspot...

Check this out:
ssl.png
its cool!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
kiler129
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 4:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature requests

Sun Feb 03, 2019 7:57 am

A simple yet I think important request: provide IPv6 out of the box. This really requires a package to be present and some default firewall & stateless configuration enabled. I don't see the reason why in 2019 they are shipped with IPv4 only where even cheap consumer routers are IPv6 enabled OOB.
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1617
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: Feature requests

Sun Feb 03, 2019 10:24 am

A simple yet I think important request: provide IPv6 out of the box. This really requires a package to be present and some default firewall & stateless configuration enabled. I don't see the reason why in 2019 they are shipped with IPv4 only where even cheap consumer routers are IPv6 enabled OOB.

++

Specially so as loading IPv6 package means it doesn't have default settings (i.e. firewall rules) and user has to perform factory reset to get decent configuration as starting point - but loosing whatever already done in other parts (IPv4, wlan, VLAN, ...).
BR,
Metod
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5002
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Feature requests

Sun Feb 03, 2019 11:41 am

That is certainly true, but frankly even more important is to bring the IPv6 functionality up to par with what is available in IPv4.
There is a separate topic about that.
Unfortunately it appears the IPv6 developer has left the company (maybe he was also the BGP developer?)
 
krafg
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 7:36 pm

Re: Feature requests

Sun Feb 03, 2019 3:37 pm

A request:

Please create a 2g/3g/4g high gain antenna (dual chain). mANT LTE 5o is very little.
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1617
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: Feature requests

Sun Feb 03, 2019 3:46 pm

A request:

Please create a 2g/3g/4g high gain antenna (dual chain). mANT LTE 5o is very little.

There are plenty of high-quality third-party antennae available ... one only needs appropriate connector coverters (many antennae come with FME connectors, so one needs SMAtoFME pigtails).
BR,
Metod
 
kiler129
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 4:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature requests

Mon Feb 04, 2019 1:59 am

(...)user has to perform factory reset to get decent configuration as starting point - but loosing whatever already done in other parts (IPv4, wlan, VLAN, ...).
Actually you can do
/system default-configuration print file=default-cfg
after installing IPv6 package and you will get the default config with IPv6 related stuff ;)
Unfortunately it appears the IPv6 developer has left the company (maybe he was also the BGP developer?)
Why do you think so? Did they said something (even unofficially)?
 
metricmoose
newbie
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2015 2:03 am

Re: Feature requests

Mon Feb 04, 2019 6:39 am

We started renting Mikrotik routers to our customers as a basic managed WiFi solution and one thing that any ISP will run into with this type of setup is the customer hitting the damn reset button.

We'd love a way to change the default configuration that doesn't involve netinstall. It's extremely tedious to have someone sit there and netinstall a stack of routers with our custom configuration. There needs to be a better way! Mikrotiks are so close to being perfect for deploying as managed wifi.

To go with that, a basic Tr069 ACS able to run on RouterOS, like Dude or Userman, would be very useful. As long as it can handle applying configurations, setting wifi info and PPPoE logins, it will get people most of the there. Monitoring bandwidth, latency and WiFi stats would also be useful.
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1617
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: Feature requests

Mon Feb 04, 2019 8:50 am

(...)user has to perform factory reset to get decent configuration as starting point - but loosing whatever already done in other parts (IPv4, wlan, VLAN, ...).
Actually you can do
/system default-configuration print file=default-cfg
after installing IPv6 package and you will get the default config with IPv6 related stuff ;)

I know that ... but vast majority of SOHO users (and those seem to be the focus of MT lately) don't ... they struggle to enable IPv6 and don't bother with the rest of config ... just as they don't bother about IPv4 config, but luckily the default firewall for IPv4 is quite decent lately.
BR,
Metod
 
4lphanumeric
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 1:00 pm

Re: Feature requests

Tue Feb 05, 2019 8:08 am

Ability to swap the rx/tx representation in the graphing setting.

Normal : In -> green, Out -> blue
Swapped: In -> blue, Out -> green
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5002
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Feature requests

Tue Feb 05, 2019 11:52 am

Unfortunately it appears the IPv6 developer has left the company (maybe he was also the BGP developer?)
Why do you think so? Did they said something (even unofficially)?
I think so, because NO development of these components has appeared aside from some minor bug fixes, for several years.
And also note they are trying to hire new developers for quite some time already.

Also, it appears the watchful eye that reminds the others in the room at the development meeting that IPv6 exists has disappeared.
New features like Kid Control and Detect Internet are developed and released WITHOUT IPv6 support.
 
neos14
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 2:29 pm

Re: Feature requests

Mon Feb 11, 2019 11:02 am

Please add support for SNMP views.
To be able to provide limited set of OID's for specific SNMP community.
 
dravnieks
newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 12:11 am
Location: Gorey, Ireland
Contact:

Re: Feature requests

Tue Feb 12, 2019 4:45 pm

flashing every router with netinstall is minor, and fast process, only issue, in later versions configuration is not persistant after reset.

Have you tried to aply default configuration on 40 Fritzbox routers?

40 Hap AC2 i would get flashed in less than 2 hours, get 24 port poe switch and pile of patch leads. Uploading config to Fritz will take 10 minutes per router because of endless reboots and button confirmations.


We started renting Mikrotik routers to our customers as a basic managed WiFi solution and one thing that any ISP will run into with this type of setup is the customer hitting the damn reset button.

We'd love a way to change the default configuration that doesn't involve netinstall. It's extremely tedious to have someone sit there and netinstall a stack of routers with our custom configuration. There needs to be a better way! Mikrotiks are so close to being perfect for deploying as managed wifi.

To go with that, a basic Tr069 ACS able to run on RouterOS, like Dude or Userman, would be very useful. As long as it can handle applying configurations, setting wifi info and PPPoE logins, it will get people most of the there. Monitoring bandwidth, latency and WiFi stats would also be useful.
 
muetzekoeln
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2018 2:34 pm

PPPoE event scripts

Wed Feb 13, 2019 1:09 pm

It would be useful to have link-up and link-down event scripts for PPPoE client. And please make "message" from Authenticate-Ack and Authenticate-Nak available for parsing.

Some carriers communicate DSL connection speed by using Authenticate-Ack message:
https://www.ip-phone-forum.de/threads/s ... st-2274697
Last edited by muetzekoeln on Wed Feb 13, 2019 3:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 5731
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: Feature requests

Wed Feb 13, 2019 3:19 pm

PPP profile already has on-up on-down events.
 
User avatar
BartoszP
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1661
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 1:13 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Feature requests

Wed Feb 13, 2019 4:43 pm

It would be convinient to CAPSAM and DHCP to log to log not only MAC address but also HOSTNAME if it is known.
Process of transforming MAC 2 HOST is tedious and if log changes quickly you have no chance to check who is associating/dhcping
Real admins use real keyboards.
 
raffav
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 260
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 4:40 am

Re: Feature requests

Wed Feb 13, 2019 6:53 pm

It would be convinient to CAPSAM and DHCP to log to log not only MAC address but also HOSTNAME if it is known.
Process of transforming MAC 2 HOST is tedious and if log changes quickly you have no chance to check who is associating/dhcping
+infinity agree with that, Why in the logs cannot log the hostname/comment if is there, is very annoying to see/debug: mac abc123 connected mac abc123 disconnected
 
logistic69
just joined
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 2:24 am
Location: Panama
Contact:

Re: Feature requests

Wed Feb 13, 2019 11:14 pm

Please Include VPN templates for IOS, windows 10.
it is nightmare trying to make work 6.43 to accept IOS 12.1 simply don't work.
or post a update wiki how to do it, avaery time a new router OS release came up it broke something in VPN.
sadly i need to change to other brand in other to do it.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: infosec and 3 guests