Community discussions

 
User avatar
martini
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 296
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 12:13 am

Mikrotik router record !!!

Sun Feb 27, 2011 12:24 am

Mikrotik router on AMD Phenom 1090T (6 core), 3.6 Ghz with 2 port intel 82576 ethernet.
I run 7 udp bandwidth tests from this router to 7 other router with udp size packet=150 , after some time router show incredible numbers )) (conntrack enabled, no firewall rules exept 1 nat rule)
640000 pps !!! Mikrotik - good work ! :D
router1.JPG
router2.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24142
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Mikrotik router record !!!

Mon Feb 28, 2011 9:18 am

nice hardware ;)
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
jober
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 688
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 12:16 pm
Location: Louisiana,USA

Re: Mikrotik router record !!!

Mon Apr 04, 2011 10:09 pm

What mother board are you using?
 
SamWCL
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 1:18 pm
Location: Wellington, NZ

Re: Mikrotik router record !!!

Sun Apr 10, 2011 4:52 am

Tell us ya system specs and bits!

Cheers
 
bda
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:07 am
Location: Russia,Moscow

Re: Mikrotik router record !!!

Sun Apr 10, 2011 5:24 pm

tx drops here... in the first screenshot. Why?
God bless UNIX!
 
magflow
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 10:49 pm

Re: Mikrotik router record !!!

Sun Jun 05, 2011 11:00 pm

Router 1:
Xeon 4 cores 2400Mhz
Intel Gigabit Desktop Adapter (82574L) PCI-E

<->

Router 2:
Core Q8400 2660Mhz
Intel Gigabit Desktop Adapter (82574L) PCI-E

Result:
rx/tx - 950000 pps
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
martini
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 296
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 12:13 am

Re: Mikrotik router record !!!

Sat Jun 11, 2011 10:48 am

2 bda - port flapping on swich, thats why tx drops.
system specs -
AMD Phenom II X6 Black 1100T
Intel 82576 2 port ethernet
 
petrn
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 179
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 3:56 am

Re: Mikrotik router record !!!

Sun Jun 12, 2011 11:22 pm

Router 1:
Xeon 4 cores 2400Mhz
Intel Gigabit Desktop Adapter (82574L) PCI-E

<->

Router 2:
Core Q8400 2660Mhz
Intel Gigabit Desktop Adapter (82574L) PCI-E

Result:
rx/tx - 950000 pps
Nice result, but CPU utilization when doing bit more real world work would be more interesting. By real world i mean PPPoE encaps/decaps, firewall, NAT, some mangling for load balancing/policy routing ....
Petr
 
User avatar
tgrand
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 671
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 2:57 am
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Re: Mikrotik router record !!!

Tue Jun 14, 2011 11:15 pm

These units are rockets..
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
nikhil
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 262
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 5:04 pm
Location: US

Re: Mikrotik router record !!!

Tue Jun 14, 2011 11:31 pm

The above results show connection test only between 2 mikrotiks . Can anybody explain how real world routing where udp packets are sent to many many hundreds of hosts affect the above results ?

The reason I ask is wouldnt IRQ usage with so many packets passing through router affect ?
IF not I am having trouble with couple of routers with 8 cores and 4 cores handling 100kpps and 100mbps (very small packet size) if the above works then i wouldnt mind switching over to the AMD 6 core with 82576 quad port adapter.

Can someone please explain how the numbers will be affected.
 
wpeople
Member
Member
Posts: 351
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 6:36 pm

Re: Mikrotik router record !!!

Wed Jul 13, 2011 7:27 pm

i've just tested two intel SR1630GP (i3 CPU, 2G ram) servers against each other (with bandwidth test)

it's happily can fill up two 1Gig NICs even with 300byte frames - that means 250k pps per direction / card!

with the high UDP load, the server with a dualport multiqueue adapter (82576 i think) have about 10% less CPU load than the other with the onboard NICs.
 
nikhil
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 262
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 5:04 pm
Location: US

Re: Mikrotik router record !!!

Wed Jul 13, 2011 7:35 pm

what about testing with 64byte or smaller packets?
 
User avatar
meconet
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 12:02 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Mikrotik router record !!!

Sat Jul 16, 2011 1:35 pm

Hello,

we are just working on our next High-Performance Router, the hardware is ready and supports:

Ether1 & Ether2 = Either SFP or 10/100/1000BaseT (Intel Chipset)
Ether3 .. Ether8 = 10/100/1000BaseT (Intel Chipset)
An optional 4 * SFP modul can be plugged in (Intel Chipset)
All modern Intel CPUs are supported, following tests are done with a small i3-540 (73Watt CPU) with 4 cores.

We only have to finish the 1U chassis design, than router is ready to sell. Some performance test, all traffic is generated by the 2 Boards under test!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
meconet - consulting . distribution . service
http://www.meconet.de - info[at]meconet.de
Tel.: +49 (0)271 703087 0 Fax: +49 (0)271 703087 99
Seelbacher Weg 7 . 57072 Siegen . Germany
 
hapi
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 222
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 11:21 am
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Mikrotik router record !!!

Sat Jul 16, 2011 4:08 pm

first pictures: RX packet drops?
 
User avatar
meconet
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 12:02 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Mikrotik router record !!!

Sat Jul 16, 2011 4:41 pm

Hi,

need some more test & engineering, also real RFC 2544 test will follow.


Regards
Lutz
meconet - consulting . distribution . service
http://www.meconet.de - info[at]meconet.de
Tel.: +49 (0)271 703087 0 Fax: +49 (0)271 703087 99
Seelbacher Weg 7 . 57072 Siegen . Germany
 
nikhil
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 262
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 5:04 pm
Location: US

Re: Mikrotik router record !!!

Sat Jul 16, 2011 5:02 pm

what intel chipset / nic is this? are you using bonding?
 
User avatar
meconet
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 12:02 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Mikrotik router record !!!

Sat Jul 16, 2011 5:18 pm

Hello,

detailed description of used hardware and features will come with the datasheet for the system when everything is ready!

Where at what do you want to bond? All tests above are w/o any kind of bonding.


Regards
Lutz
meconet - consulting . distribution . service
http://www.meconet.de - info[at]meconet.de
Tel.: +49 (0)271 703087 0 Fax: +49 (0)271 703087 99
Seelbacher Weg 7 . 57072 Siegen . Germany
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3803
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Re: Mikrotik router record !!!

Wed Jul 27, 2011 4:26 am

Something isnt right, with that new of hardware you should be able to triple / quaruple that. I am getting ready to experiment.

http://www.h1x.com/mt/gigabit/gigabit2.html

The above URL is a screen video I took probably 4-5 years ago, version 2.9.24. Shows the older style P4s with Intel server nics doing 600,000pps - single core days... why is the test on nicer hardware not even as good?
Colo and Wholesale Bandwidth Available! Sales at SanDiegoBroadband dot com
 
tomiczech
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 1:01 pm

Re: Mikrotik router record !!!

Fri Aug 26, 2011 9:03 pm

Sorry for my offtopic but see that hardware:

http://www.knvnet.cz/eudemon1000e.pdf

1000E-X3 is priced around 12 000 USD, but it's completelly hardware and 6 gbit/s troughput, 200M connections and 100K new connections/sec is absolutelly better then every x86 based router. If you want do that on x86, you need cca 4 PC's on 4x3,4Ghz. Power consuption of this box is max 100W. 4 those PC's is consumpting around 600W. Count how many you spend for elektricity when you have air conditioner in server house and backing up power, it grows to 850W. When you pay 0,5 USD per kWh it's 3723 USD per year versus 438 USD per year.

Conlusion? Good bye mikrotik.

PS: We have 2x Eudemon 200E-X3 ( 340K connections, 2 gbit/s troughput, 30K new conn/sec ), power consuption is 55W for 2840 USD. It works's as master/master with fully redundancy with connection synchronizing.
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: Mikrotik router record !!!

Fri Aug 26, 2011 9:10 pm

What's the point of that post?

Would you like me to find you a $50,000 Juniper box that performs even better than that Huawei thing you just posted? More money buys you ASICs, which raises performance. That's neither new nor surprising.

You're either trolling or spamming.
Specific answers require specific questions. When in doubt, post the output of "/ip address print detail", "/ip route print detail", "/interface print detail", "/ip firewall export", and an accurate network diagram.
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8305
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Mikrotik router record !!!

Fri Aug 26, 2011 9:50 pm

tomiczech, can I have all those features for 200 Mbps at price of $400 (in proportion) from Huawei? :)

p.s. is hardware antivirus upgradeable?
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
User avatar
MCT
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 5:53 pm

Re: Mikrotik router record !!!

Wed Aug 31, 2011 11:33 pm

tomiczech
OMG! You're saying that dedicated network hardware is faster than x86?! :shock:

It's not news to anyone. People use x86 based networking gear because it's cost effective and has a high performance to cost ratio. There comes a point when you have to use hardware specifically designed for processing packets and that costs money.

I don't touch Huawei gear in my line of work. It's expressly forbidden by regulation. I'm sure there's been thorough examination down to the chips used, kinda makes me wonder if that rumor of a Chinese government backdoor has a bit of weight to it...

Back on topic

As to the testing I'm more interested in seeing forwarding performance with the test unit between and isolated from the units generating and receiving packets.

They need to add 10Gbps interface support but I want to see how RouterOS can do on the same hardware used in these tests. Intel was pushing 20Gbps with their setup.
http://download.intel.com/embedded/proc ... 322973.pdf
 
panteraboy
just joined
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: Romania

Re: Mikrotik router record !!!

Sat Mar 19, 2016 5:56 pm

AMD 2650 (AM1) only one cpu usage,
But good performance
http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?t=104585
RB750, RB433AH, RB2011RM

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: aproxx, Google [Bot] and 48 guests