Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
ditonet
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 841
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 12:52 am
Location: Europe/Poland/Konstancin-Jeziorna
Contact:

SSH tunnels/port forwarding still doesn't work

Fri Apr 08, 2011 4:14 pm

Hi,

ROS 5.0, SSH client PuTTY on Windows.
I'm able to connect via SSH without problem but when I started port forwarding and succesfully connected to tunneled host,
PuTTY disconnects with message 'Strange packet received: type 3.' and ROS log says:
14:24:47 system,info,account user admin logged in from xxx.yyy.222.234 via ssh
14:25:31 ssh,error data not aligned to blocksize
14:25:31 ssh,error bad packet MAC
14:25:31 ssh,error packet not valid
14:25:31 system,info,account user admin logged out from xxx.yyy.222.234 via ssh
@MT staff
Is there any chance that this bug will be fixed in version 5.1?
This bug was mentioned by few forum users weeks ago.
SSH tunneling is realy useful feature, we need it working good.

Edit: Because ver. 5.1 was released, I should ask about fix in ver. 5.2 :D

Regards,
Grzegorz | MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCSE | konsultacje MikroTik Warszawa
It is a book about a Spanish guy called Manual. You should read it. - Dilbert
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6621
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Re: SSH tunnels/port forwarding still doesn't work

Mon Apr 11, 2011 11:59 am

Please, contact support with the same report (support@mikrotik.com).
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: SSH tunnels/port forwarding still doesn't work

Mon Apr 11, 2011 12:00 pm

there where fixes for ssh tunnels in 5.1 can you give more details on how to reproduce the problem? What board it is? What you are running over this tunnel?
 
ditonet
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 841
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 12:52 am
Location: Europe/Poland/Konstancin-Jeziorna
Contact:

Re: SSH tunnels/port forwarding still doesn't work

Mon Apr 11, 2011 12:26 pm

@janisk
As I wrote earlier, PuTTy on Windows 2003 Server, connected via SSH to RB433AH without problem.
I was able to run port forwarding, traffic type was HTTP, I tried to check some settings on HP printer.
Other users reported similar problem here:
http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=50224
abeggled reported that is no problem on RB450G.
Maybe this is RB model specific issue?

Regards,
Grzegorz | MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCSE | konsultacje MikroTik Warszawa
It is a book about a Spanish guy called Manual. You should read it. - Dilbert
 
ditonet
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 841
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 12:52 am
Location: Europe/Poland/Konstancin-Jeziorna
Contact:

Re: SSH tunnels/port forwarding still doesn't work

Mon Apr 11, 2011 4:12 pm

@janisk, sergejs
I found what's wrong.
On this PC when I made SSH tunnels test, development version of PuTTY was installed instead of stable version.
My fault, I should check this twice instead of my complains :(
I also made some tests on MS Windows 2003 Server, Win XP, Win 7 and everything works good :)

Regards,
Grzegorz | MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCSE | konsultacje MikroTik Warszawa
It is a book about a Spanish guy called Manual. You should read it. - Dilbert
 
abeggled
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 4:00 pm
Location: Zollikofen, Switzerland

Re: SSH tunnels/port forwarding still doesn't work

Mon Apr 11, 2011 9:43 pm

ditonet
abeggled reported that is no problem on RB450G.
Maybe this is RB model specific issue?
@ditonet: in my experiance I also us "testversion" of PuTTY >0.60
Iwill test tomorrow with 0.60
 
abeggled
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 4:00 pm
Location: Zollikofen, Switzerland

Re: SSH tunnels/port forwarding still doesn't work

Tue Apr 12, 2011 9:36 am

For me it's working with 5.0 and PuTTY 0.60 on RB450G.
I'm doing RDP-Tunnels.
 
ditonet
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 841
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 12:52 am
Location: Europe/Poland/Konstancin-Jeziorna
Contact:

Re: SSH tunnels/port forwarding still doesn't work

Wed Apr 13, 2011 12:10 pm

@abeggled
Thanks for information, PuTTy ver. 0.60 seems to be good.
I have lack of time, maybe I'll make some additional test on Firday.

Regards,
Grzegorz | MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCSE | konsultacje MikroTik Warszawa
It is a book about a Spanish guy called Manual. You should read it. - Dilbert
 
Anthonymo
newbie
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2011 2:53 am

Re: SSH tunnels/port forwarding still doesn't work

Mon Oct 24, 2011 9:28 pm

I'm running into this same issue.
Putty 0.61
Routeros 5.7
SSH Tunnel port 8080 to port 80
when ever I open chrome or IE to that port I get:
"Strange packet received: type 3 and disconnect.
 
Anthonymo
newbie
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2011 2:53 am

Re: SSH tunnels/port forwarding still doesn't work

Thu Nov 10, 2011 4:41 pm

dropped back down to ver .60 and it works again
 
sanitycheck
newbie
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 6:03 am
Location: USA

Re: SSH tunnels/port forwarding still doesn't work

Wed Nov 16, 2011 6:19 am

The problem is also present on RouterOS 5.8 (running on an RB450) and Putty 0.60-2010-12-08 version from Ubuntu 11.04 64-bit. I can confirm Windows Putty version 0.60 running on Windows XP Professional does not have the problem when connected to the same RB450.

It looks like Ubuntu 11.10 upgraded the Putty version to 0.61-1. Being that the Ubuntu versions don't behave the same way as the Windows versions, I have some hope the problem has been fixed in the new version.
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: SSH tunnels/port forwarding still doesn't work

Wed Nov 16, 2011 8:35 am

can you send debug logs from client and from ssh server so we can look at them?
 
sanitycheck
newbie
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 6:03 am
Location: USA

Re: SSH tunnels/port forwarding still doesn't work

Thu Nov 17, 2011 5:41 pm

Putty log doesn't show anything except the opening connection information. It doesn't log the error that is displayed on the screen, apparently because Putty terminates before it can log the error.

The RB450 log shows that the user is logged in and out by ssh. It does not show that an error occurred to account for the logout.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: atueting, Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Google Feedfetcher, MSN [Bot] and 202 guests