Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
airstream
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 6:33 am
Location: New Zealand

Time dirrerences on UM compared to ROS internal time

Tue Jan 16, 2007 12:59 am

Hi all, I've stumbled on an issue with how UM records time/dates in the session logs.

Our main access concentrator (ROS) is running UM. The local time on the ROS is GMT +13 (Pacific/Auckland). when it updates the time from an internet time server (time.nist.gov) ROS automatically adds the time difference and the result is local time. But UM still records the GMT time to all entries.

This has made it fun to track issues on a customers account when they say "it happened around ......pm" or "I wasn't on the internet at 3am!"

Trust me, after explaining the GMT time thing 20 odd times the same question gets difficult.

Any workarounds or upcoming fixes?
Keep tryin' its bound to work!!
-----
-----
ROOT@COSMOS> Reality.sys corrupted -- Reboot Universe (Y/N)?
>_
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24424
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Tue Jan 16, 2007 10:26 am

have you set a timezone for the subscriber? if you set it to gmt+13 then it should be ok
 
User avatar
balimore
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 892
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:38 am

Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:06 pm

have you set a timezone for the subscriber? if you set it to gmt+13 then it should be ok
---
Hai Normis

can you explain detail, please...!!!
that's important for time used, how to make same as routerOS's time..
i did try, but it's not working

regards
Hasbullah.com
---
 
User avatar
balimore
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 892
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:38 am

Fri Jan 19, 2007 3:20 pm

---
no, anyone has solution...?

regards
Hasbullah.com
---
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6621
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Fri Jan 26, 2007 12:28 pm

airstream,
have you resolsved the problem with time ?
If you will specify correct time-zone for the subscriber, it should work correctly.

balimore, do you have any problems with user's time, when time-zone is specified for subscriber ?
 
User avatar
balimore
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 892
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:38 am

Fri Jan 26, 2007 2:18 pm

airstream,
have you resolsved the problem with time ?
If you will specify correct time-zone for the subscriber, it should work correctly.

balimore, do you have any problems with user's time, when time-zone is specified for subscriber ?
----
Hello Best Friend [sergejs]
yes, i leave that problem and Mikrotik maybe not hear about it.
i did try to change to subscribe timezone at +08:00 but same problem, please give us your xperinces.

we had many complain about it from our client.....from time used.....
i believed, you will give as solutions,
drop me any solution about it...

oh yeh...our router as Centalized AAA and Userman with PIII 1Ghz 512RAM 80G HDD routerOS level6 and v....38.

thanks for your time
regrads
Hasbullah.com
----
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6621
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Fri Jan 26, 2007 2:26 pm

Balimore, please be more specific about users complains.
 
User avatar
balimore
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 892
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:38 am

Fri Jan 26, 2007 2:31 pm

Balimore, please be more specific about users complains.
----
just, time usege is not same as router time...
How to make fix...?
i did try to set time zone on subcriber, but is not goal...
our time is +08:00 from GMT

Hasbullah.com
---
 
User avatar
airstream
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 6:33 am
Location: New Zealand

Fri Jan 26, 2007 10:00 pm

Hi all,

Unfortunately adjusting the time zone for the subscriber through web interface makes little difference to the time recorded in the session history of sub-customers. That is to say, they all record GMT regardless of subscriber time zone and ROS time zone.
Keep tryin' its bound to work!!
-----
-----
ROOT@COSMOS> Reality.sys corrupted -- Reboot Universe (Y/N)?
>_
 
User avatar
balimore
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 892
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:38 am

Sat Jan 27, 2007 4:03 am

Hi all,

Unfortunately adjusting the time zone for the subscriber through web interface makes little difference to the time recorded in the session history of sub-customers. That is to say, they all record GMT regardless of subscriber time zone and ROS time zone.
----
now, i just tell to our customer, the session time on radius is GMT time.
yes, it's simple answer or we are wrong for config our radius server[userman] or RouterOS.

come please, i need more xperince.. :lol:

peace all
Hasbullah.com
----
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6621
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Tue Feb 06, 2007 4:04 pm

We have checked, if subscriber's time-zone is changed, time is changed on web interface too.

In other hand, each subcustomer has own time-zone configuration, that migh be changed only by subscriber.
Default time-zone value is +00:00.
Check sub-customer time-zone value, report back with the results.
 
User avatar
balimore
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 892
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:38 am

Wed Feb 07, 2007 4:01 am

We have checked, if subscriber's time-zone is changed, time is changed on web interface too.

In other hand, each subcustomer has own time-zone configuration, that migh be changed only by subscriber.
Default time-zone value is +00:00.
Check sub-customer time-zone value, report back with the results.
----
i leaved this problem, last 2 weeks ago i did do change that point without success. but now is okay i don't know from where that problem has solved. i had reboot 4 days ago and all fine...

that's funny for us...
don't ask why...i don't know......i don't know for solved.... :wink:

regards
Hasbullah.com
----
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6621
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Wed Feb 07, 2007 8:07 am

airstream, do you have any problems with time-zone ?
 
User avatar
balimore
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 892
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:38 am

Wed Feb 07, 2007 10:30 am

---
Hi, sergejs [best friend]
nice play with UM... :wink:

Hasbullah.com
---
 
User avatar
balimore
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 892
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:38 am

Fri Feb 09, 2007 1:05 pm

---
Hi, sergejs [best friend]
nice play with UM... :wink:

Hasbullah.com
---
----
@sergejs
i sent you id to support 2 minutes ago

Hasbullah.com
---
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6621
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Fri Feb 09, 2007 2:39 pm

Time-zone problem was resolved and included to 3.0beta5.
2.9 release time-zone will work correctly on 2.9.40.
 
User avatar
balimore
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 892
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:38 am

Fri Feb 09, 2007 2:51 pm

Time-zone problem was resolved and included to 3.0beta5.
2.9 release time-zone will work correctly on 2.9.40.
---
@sergejs [best friend]
Thanks for your suggestion, we will wait....
cos, many complain from our customers about that time..

i love mikrotik... :wink:

regards
Hasbullah.com
---
 
User avatar
balimore
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 892
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:38 am

Thu Feb 15, 2007 12:13 pm

Time-zone problem was resolved and included to 3.0beta5.
2.9 release time-zone will work correctly on 2.9.40.
---
we will upgrade as soon as possible to v2.9.40 :wink:
read this link: http://forum.mikrotik.com//viewtopic.php?p=64902#64902

thank you for your hard work

regrads
Hasbullah.com
---
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6621
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Thu Feb 15, 2007 12:16 pm

balimore,
report back if you will have any problems with User Manager.
 
User avatar
balimore
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 892
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:38 am

Thu Feb 15, 2007 12:24 pm

balimore,
report back if you will have any problems with User Manager.
---
@sergejs
yes, we are still downloading package...but we can't make speed up for it, our networks still more traffics tooo

regards
Hasbullah.com
---
 
User avatar
balimore
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 892
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:38 am

Fri Feb 16, 2007 3:28 am

---
Hai friends

this morning we are upgrading to v2....40
that Time-Zone from this version is fine, same as subscriber will you set.

again, thanks for your hard work and cooperation.

regards
Hasbullah.com
---
 
User avatar
airstream
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 6:33 am
Location: New Zealand

Mon Feb 19, 2007 12:12 am

Top work Mikrotik team!

Updated to 2.9.40 today, time zones are now reporting correctly. many thanks for the top effort, with excellent results.
Keep tryin' its bound to work!!
-----
-----
ROOT@COSMOS> Reality.sys corrupted -- Reboot Universe (Y/N)?
>_

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests