Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
Muzaki
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 3:12 pm
Contact:

Strange PPPOE limitation problem

Thu Oct 25, 2018 12:57 am

I have a strange problem sometimes with PPPOE limitations. Sometimes it seems like it selects limitation by chance. It may happen when the PPPOE-server has been restarted, but not every time.
Now i had about 15 clients with 8-16Mbps limitation in Userman, but when I looked in the queue the limitation was 50Mbps. Sometimes some users get 100Mbps
Some may get lower limitation, but they are hard to find since this server has about 300 clients, but the 50 and 100 Mbps sticks out.

Any idea whats causing this?
 
Muzaki
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 3:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Strange PPPOE limitation problem

Tue Dec 04, 2018 9:24 am

I cant believe that I'm the only one with this problem?

I think its strange that the user gets a wrong profile/limitation
 
mistry7
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1450
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: Strange PPPOE limitation problem

Tue Dec 04, 2018 9:28 am

Without your config it is impossible to help

But it looks like fasttrack or something else is passing over your Simole Queues
 
Muzaki
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 3:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Strange PPPOE limitation problem

Tue Dec 04, 2018 9:38 am

Do you mean Userman config or PPPOE config?

I dont think Fasttrack should help creating wrong queues?
 
Muzaki
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 3:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Strange PPPOE limitation problem

Tue Dec 04, 2018 9:41 am

Just now there was an short power outtage, and 240 clients reconnected. 103 of them got wrong limitation on their queue.

The customer is ofcourse happy when the get faster speed, but the ones that gets lower is not so happy.
If i disconnect them again, most of them gets the correct queue value.
 
joegoldman
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 555
Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 2:05 am

Re: Strange PPPOE limitation problem

Tue Dec 04, 2018 10:44 am

Do an /export hide-sensitive so we see your full configuration.

Running userman you'd think it would be OK. Perhaps turn on some RAW RADIUS logging and capture packets of it happening, see if it is the PPP server ignoring the limitation and setting its own, or if its userman responding with the wrong rate-limit.
 
Muzaki
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 3:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Strange PPPOE limitation problem

Mon May 13, 2019 2:21 am

This is getting strange...

I have 2 servers with userman. I one replay, the users get 10Mbps, if the other reply they get 200Mbps.

I have tried upgradeing the one that reply with 10Mbps. Even tried rebuilding database. But the strangest thing is that it doesnt fit any profile. The limit fits, but priority in queue is 8, and both 10Mbps profiles is 5?
 
Muzaki
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 3:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Strange PPPOE limitation problem

Mon May 13, 2019 2:47 am

Seems like i fiksed it.
I had to uninstall userman package, delete database, the reinstall userman, and load from a backup.
Then queues was correctly created :)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests