Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
firebat
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 390
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 8:38 am

Wireless MAC authenication?

Mon Feb 26, 2007 7:38 am

Is wireless MAC authenication supported in 2.9.40 or is it in BETA3? I tried to set it up in 2.9.40 and its not working.

Also, is anyone seeing issues with adding a customer or a router via the CLI and it not showing up in user manager in 2.9.40? (still there in CLI)
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6630
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Mon Feb 26, 2007 8:21 am

1) Use the particular example to accomplish MAC-authentication,
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/User_Mana ... ss_Example
Report back if you will have any problems.

2) Make sure that customer has enough permissions to view other customers.
 
firebat
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 390
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 8:38 am

Mon Feb 26, 2007 9:11 am

Yeah, I tried that and it didn't work in 2.9.40.

Like I said, 2.9.40 user manager cant even see changes that you make via the CLI. I tried adding a new customer as an owner via the user manager and I get an error indicating only subscribers can be owners. I add it via the CLI and it is fine but user manager doesn't the new customer. I added a router via the CLI and user manager didn't see it either.
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6630
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Mon Feb 26, 2007 9:44 am

1) Send support output file to support(support@mikrotik.com), regarding this issue.
2) Could you provide the exact command used, when you are tying to add new customer ?
 
firebat
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 390
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 8:38 am

Tue Feb 27, 2007 7:27 am

How many customers can you have on a system (parent is himself)? I can only get one added via user manager.


BTW, authorization is spelled incorrectly in user manager. User manager has it spelled with an s: authorisation.


Can you rate limit wireless customers? I select rate limit and enter the data but as soon as I click save, the rate limit box becomes unchecked.
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6630
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Wed Feb 28, 2007 3:16 pm

Thank you for the spelling error report, the particular issue has been fixied.
You cannot set 'rate-limit' attribute/option for RADIUS wireless clients, 'rate-limit' might be used for HotSpot,PPP, DHCP wireless clients.
 
firebat
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 390
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 8:38 am

Thu Mar 01, 2007 9:58 am

Thanks. Is that something that will be added in the future? :D

Also, how many customers can you have on a system (parent is himself)? I can only get one added via user manager.
 
dawam
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 136
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 1:40 pm
Location: Malaysia

Re: Wireless MAC authenication?

Thu Mar 01, 2007 6:32 pm


Also, is anyone seeing issues with adding a customer or a router via the CLI and it not showing up in user manager in 2.9.40? (still there in CLI)
I got this issue on my router too.. Though it was only me. luckily its my house router.
 
firebat
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 390
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 8:38 am

Sat Mar 10, 2007 9:12 am

Thank you for the spelling error report, the particular issue has been fixied.
You cannot set 'rate-limit' attribute/option for RADIUS wireless clients, 'rate-limit' might be used for HotSpot,PPP, DHCP wireless clients.
Will this be available for radius wireless clients soon? :)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests