Page 1 of 1

Hotspot with and without radius server difference

Posted: Thu Apr 16, 2020 5:05 am
by krisFrost
Hello guys, I need your advice!
What is the difference between a hotspot with radius server and without one ? it really confuses me.

This is how I normally create a hotspot server:
Step 1: Add a new network
ip -> addresses -> add
Step 2: Setup DHCP server
ip -> DHCP server - DHCP - DHCP Setup
Step 3: Setup Hotspot server
ip -> hotspot -> hotspot setup
And Done!

I'm using this method for half a year now and it's working great. But why some other people use radius server for their hotspot?
And also, what are the advantages if you use userman to create a hotspot server?

Re: Hotspot with and without radius server difference

Posted: Thu Apr 16, 2020 10:33 am
by macsrwe
For one thing, a separate Radius server allows you to use an online billing service other than the one or two that ROS supports.

Re: Hotspot with and without radius server difference

Posted: Thu Apr 16, 2020 12:47 pm
by ingdaka
Also you open users in radius not in Mikrotik, and you will have an accounting history in radius!