Page 1 of 1

in hotspot binding of ip address with username is not work

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 1:21 pm
by tambula_dambula
i am using mikrotik 2.9.27 .

i have hotspot installed and also created user, and also asign ip address to user but i can login from any ip .
as example :-

i have creat user DEMO ;then asign it ip 10.1.1.2
but when i change my computer ip to 10.1.1.5 till demo is able to login .

can anybody tell me that why is that happen ?

simply in hotspot

binding of ip address with username is not work.

kindly try it on your router then reply

thanx

Re: in hotspot binding of ip address with username is not work

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 2:14 pm
by sergejs
IP-address in 'ip hotspot user' does not bind the IP address to particular client.

'IP-address' is changed for this client, when user is connected to HotSpot (old client ip address is substituted with IP address configured in 'ip hotspot user').

Re: in hotspot binding of ip address with username is not work

Posted: Mon Jan 21, 2008 3:32 pm
by tambula_dambula
thanx for reply but can you tell me any method that how to bind ip address with user.

so user can only connect with their own ip which has been provided by us.

here is a problem of ip-conflict my one user reinstall his system and then gave ip ! that was different from my provided ip . so at morning my other client have problem of ip-conflict .

Re: in hotspot binding of ip address with username is not work

Posted: Wed Apr 30, 2008 10:48 pm
by miles
Hi tambula
I don't know how is your network looks like, or topology , I think you are using static ip address, why you are not using DHCP, for more secure you can attached MAC address to the user when you open account on HP.
Just a thought.

thx selim

Re: in hotspot binding of ip address with username is not work

Posted: Thu Oct 16, 2008 3:22 pm
by sergejs
There is no such option to bind the particular address for the client, the one way to force configuration of the address on the client.
DHCP can do it, but client can easily put static address.

PPPoE is the solution for this case, but it asks reconfiguration of all system.