Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
Gerlach76
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 3:24 pm

RB 1000 ROS 4.2 beta Usermanager 2 Problem

Fri May 15, 2009 10:49 am

Hi,

Sometime the usermanager hang, Have somebody any Idea? Why?

THX
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6618
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Re: RB 1000 ROS 4.2 beta Usermanager 2 Problem

Fri May 15, 2009 11:53 am

It would be great you can give us detailed instruction, how you can get the problem (actions you did before).

Refresh should help, but we would like to fix the problem for the upcoming versions.
 
Gerlach76
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 3:24 pm

Re: RB 1000 ROS 4.2 beta Usermanager 2 Problem

Fri May 15, 2009 12:42 pm

HI,

Refresh didn`t help! You must close and open Usermanger and everything is fine..

The Problem occured when we switched between the users sites :(

The Database is much more than 3000 Users big..

THX for the help
 
userman
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 2:53 pm

Re: RB 1000 ROS 4.2 beta Usermanager 2 Problem

Fri May 15, 2009 1:26 pm

HI,

Refresh didn`t help! You must close and open Usermanger and everything is fine..

The Problem occured when we switched between the users sites :(

The Database is much more than 3000 Users big..

THX for the help
Could you create a database backup and send it to support at mikrotik dot com? Of course, if it is not too huge in size.
 
Gerlach76
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 3:24 pm

Re: RB 1000 ROS 4.2 beta Usermanager 2 Problem

Fri May 15, 2009 1:47 pm

The Radius is Public, I can give mikrotik access to it, if they want.
 
userman
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 2:53 pm

Re: RB 1000 ROS 4.2 beta Usermanager 2 Problem

Fri May 15, 2009 2:03 pm

The Radius is Public, I can give mikrotik access to it, if they want.
This could help.

P.S. You should not use beta versions on public routers :)
 
Gerlach76
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 3:24 pm

Re: RB 1000 ROS 4.2 beta Usermanager 2 Problem

Fri May 15, 2009 2:26 pm

Yes I know, but I need the new Usermanager for our Callcenter..and till now it is the only problem..

THX
 
userman
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 2:53 pm

Re: RB 1000 ROS 4.2 beta Usermanager 2 Problem

Fri May 15, 2009 2:32 pm

Yes I know, but I need the new Usermanager for our Callcenter..and till now it is the only problem..

THX
What is/are the new feature(s) you use (which is not available in the old User Manager)?
 
Gerlach76
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 3:24 pm

Re: RB 1000 ROS 4.2 beta Usermanager 2 Problem

Sat May 16, 2009 4:31 pm

Another Problem is that you sometimes can`t login in at the Login Page of the Radius. After a Reboot everything works fine!
 
userman
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 2:53 pm

Re: RB 1000 ROS 4.2 beta Usermanager 2 Problem

Mon May 18, 2009 9:12 am

Another Problem is that you sometimes can`t login in at the Login Page of the Radius. After a Reboot everything works fine!
And when you restart (close ALL the windows of Firefox/Internet Explorer/Opera and open them again) the browser?
 
Gerlach76
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 3:24 pm

Re: RB 1000 ROS 4.2 beta Usermanager 2 Problem

Mon May 18, 2009 9:40 am

It will not help!! You must restart the Mikrotikrouter!!
 
Jrslick22
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 3:25 am

Re: RB 1000 ROS 4.2 beta Usermanager 2 Problem

Mon Aug 17, 2009 6:55 pm

How in hells name are you able to fit 3000+ users on a RB1000?
Must be using the CF slot huh?
 
Gerlach76
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 3:24 pm

Re: RB 1000 ROS 4.2 beta Usermanager 2 Problem

Mon Aug 17, 2009 9:15 pm

YES, you must use CF Card!
 
User avatar
asus
Member
Member
Posts: 403
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 9:42 am
Location: Mumbai, India

Re: RB 1000 ROS 4.2 beta Usermanager 2 Problem

Tue Aug 18, 2009 12:29 am

Actually I have experienced this error many times but not on a particular action.

last time i got this error when i was trying to log in.. after clicking ok please wait... message came but nothing was happening till 20mins so i have to refresh page & logged in.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
Jrslick22
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 3:25 am

Re: RB 1000 ROS 4.2 beta Usermanager 2 Problem

Tue Aug 18, 2009 12:42 am

YES, you must use CF Card!
how are you backing this database up, i seem to have zero success with both /tool user-manager database backup as well as using the webgui maintenance save

Sorry dude i dont mean to hijack your thread, just having a really hard time with this rc4 release and really need the help

regards
 
userman
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 2:53 pm

Re: RB 1000 ROS 4.2 beta Usermanager 2 Problem

Tue Aug 18, 2009 9:19 am

how are you backing this database up, i seem to have zero success with both /tool user-manager database backup as well as using the webgui maintenance save
In console you can type
/tool user manager database save name=mainsql.umb
/tool user manager database save-logs name=logsql.umb
Just tried a couple of minutes ago, at least it works for me :)

If you still are unsuccessful, please use the following procedure:
1) Try to make a backup
2) Check if you can see an error message by
/tool user-manage database print
3) If still unsuccessful, make a supout file right after the unsuccessful backup and send it to support at mikrotik dot com

Please note, that creating a backup can take some time, depending on your DB size. You can check, if the backup is over when User Manager web or console is responding again (it is unresponsive during a backup).
 
Gerlach76
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 3:24 pm

Re: RB 1000 ROS 4.2 beta Usermanager 2 Problem

Tue Aug 18, 2009 10:03 am

tool user-manager export file=xyxyxyname
 
userman
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 2:53 pm

Re: RB 1000 ROS 4.2 beta Usermanager 2 Problem

Tue Aug 18, 2009 10:41 am

DO NOT use export, as it will not save the database properly! Console does not display all the attributes saved in DB.

Export can only be used as emergency, when nothing else works and you want to save at least some of the data. But it should not be used as regular backup approach.
 
eneimi
Member
Member
Posts: 388
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 12:55 pm

Re: RB 1000 ROS 4.2 beta Usermanager 2 Problem

Wed Aug 19, 2009 2:48 am

Yes I know, but I need the new Usermanager for our Callcenter..and till now it is the only problem..

THX
What is/are the new feature(s) you use (which is not available in the old User Manager)?

The old user manager does not limit users to just one active session.
 
Jrslick22
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 3:25 am

Re: RB 1000 ROS 4.2 beta Usermanager 2 Problem

Wed Aug 19, 2009 5:50 am

how are you backing this database up, i seem to have zero success with both /tool user-manager database backup as well as using the webgui maintenance save
In console you can type
/tool user manager database save name=mainsql.umb
/tool user manager database save-logs name=logsql.umb
Just tried a couple of minutes ago, at least it works for me :)

If you still are unsuccessful, please use the following procedure:
1) Try to make a backup
2) Check if you can see an error message by
/tool user-manage database print
3) If still unsuccessful, make a supout file right after the unsuccessful backup and send it to support at mikrotik dot com

Please note, that creating a backup can take some time, depending on your DB size. You can check, if the backup is over when User Manager web or console is responding again (it is unresponsive during a backup).
Nah no good just get the same old Failed to save user-manager database backup
write error: No space left on disk

is there a way to save it to the CF?
 
userman
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 2:53 pm

Re: RB 1000 ROS 4.2 beta Usermanager 2 Problem

Wed Aug 19, 2009 2:19 pm

The old user manager does not limit users to just one active session.
This is a configurable feature, not a bug.
 
userman
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 2:53 pm

Re: RB 1000 ROS 4.2 beta Usermanager 2 Problem

Wed Aug 19, 2009 2:30 pm

is there a way to save it to the CF?
Go to console:
/store copy user-manager1 to=CF name=um-on-cf
/store activate um-on-cf
 
userman
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 2:53 pm

Re: RB 1000 ROS 4.2 beta Usermanager 2 Problem

Wed Aug 19, 2009 6:25 pm

Another Problem is that you sometimes can`t login in at the Login Page of the Radius. After a Reboot everything works fine!
There was an issues in User Manager, version 4. When you logged in the user web page, customer page was not accessible anymore. This issues has been solved and next release of version 4 will function fine.
 
eneimi
Member
Member
Posts: 388
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 12:55 pm

Re: RB 1000 ROS 4.2 beta Usermanager 2 Problem

Thu Aug 20, 2009 3:09 am

The old user manager does not limit users to just one active session.
This is a configurable feature, not a bug.
Tried every possible configuration - limited 'shared users' in hotspot user profile to 1. It still allows multiple active sessions for the same user, so that two, six, ten different people can log in with with the same credentials and browse at the same time.

If you know of any way to limit to 1 active session per user in um 3.x please let me know.
 
userman
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 2:53 pm

Re: RB 1000 ROS 4.2 beta Usermanager 2 Problem

Thu Aug 20, 2009 10:58 am

If you know of any way to limit to 1 active session per user in um 3.x please let me know.
Sorry, I misunderstood your previous statement, so my comment was incorrect.

You are absolutely right - when using Radius, HotSpot relies on radius server (User Manager) and ignores the local parameter shared-users. Therefore, the simultaneous session limitation must be entirely handled by radius server. As UM v3.x does not support this feature, you cannot limit simultaneous session count that way. In version 4 it is supported - UM sends Disconnect request of an old session to HotSpot, when new session is opened. CoA support (called "radius incomming" on RrouterBoard) must be turned on to make it work.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests