Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
Superdust
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 182
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 3:24 pm

Usermanager 4.0Beta3, IP pools

Tue Jun 16, 2009 9:03 pm

Hello

When adding new user in Usermanager I have to spesify IP pool.
Is it possible to have several pools, and make usermanger choose available IPs from all selected pools?

If I would like to add static IP for users do these have to be in a pool, or how would I do this?
 
userman
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 2:53 pm

Re: Usermanager 4.0Beta3, IP pools

Wed Jun 17, 2009 9:11 am

IP Pool in User Manager contains just a pool name. As the real IP Pool could be located on a completely different router, User Manager does not know the IP range of each pool. Therefore User Manager cannot choose specific IP from the pool.
 
Superdust
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 182
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 3:24 pm

Re: Usermanager 4.0Beta3, IP pools

Wed Jun 17, 2009 11:29 am

Hmm I`m not sure I understand.

I have created a pool, "pool1".
Here I specify addresses from 192.168.2.2-192.168.2.125 (just an example, I use official IPs).

When adding user in Usermanager, I add the text "pool1" in the pool name field, and let IP address stand black.
Logging on with PPPoE user then gets address from pool1.

When adding several pools, pool1=192.168.2.2-192.168.2.125 pool2=192.168.3.2-192.168.3.125 pool3=10.1.20.2-10.1.20.254 and so on, is there a possibility to make the user get an IP from any of these available pools, and not just one?
 
Percanta
newbie
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 1:00 am

Re: Usermanager 4.0Beta3, IP pools

Wed Jun 17, 2009 6:41 pm

u can use next pool, u create 1st pool with parameter next pool to another pool in UM specify 1st pool
 
userman
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 2:53 pm

Re: Usermanager 4.0Beta3, IP pools

Thu Jun 18, 2009 10:38 am

When adding several pools, pool1=192.168.2.2-192.168.2.125 pool2=192.168.3.2-192.168.3.125 pool3=10.1.20.2-10.1.20.254 and so on, is there a possibility to make the user get an IP from any of these available pools, and not just one?
Sorry, I misunderstood your question.
 
Superdust
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 182
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 3:24 pm

Re: Usermanager 4.0Beta3, IP pools

Thu Jun 18, 2009 1:31 pm

Thank you.

So if I in pool1 define pool2 as next and in pool2 define pool3 as next and so on, I only have to define pool1 in all users added in Usermanager?

If I would like to give some users static IPs, would I then make a separate pool for these, and just type in a IP from this pool in Usermanager, or any other way to do this?

Does the pools and Usermanger act as DHCP, or does the same user get the same IP every time?
 
userman
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 2:53 pm

Re: Usermanager 4.0Beta3, IP pools

Fri Jun 19, 2009 9:23 am

You can specify an IP address for each user in User Manager.
 
ariesaries
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 2:55 pm

Re: Usermanager 4.0Beta3, IP pools

Thu Jun 25, 2009 5:35 pm

You can specify an IP address for each user in User Manager.

Where to find working example on this? Becauze we tried to change ip after authentication, it is not woriking - just nat-to-nat.
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6624
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Re: Usermanager 4.0Beta3, IP pools

Fri Jun 26, 2009 10:14 am

Yes, IP address is working only as nat-to-nat, it is not possible to restrict specific username to IP address.
It is possible only for MAC-address in HotSpot.
 
ariesaries
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 2:55 pm

Re: Usermanager 4.0Beta3, IP pools

Sat Jun 27, 2009 3:47 pm

Yes, IP address is working only as nat-to-nat, it is not possible to restrict specific username to IP address.
It is possible only for MAC-address in HotSpot.

Is there any way to control adresses given by dhcp using username and password? Maybe some third party software?
 
ariesaries
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 2:55 pm

Re: Usermanager 4.0Beta3, IP pools

Mon Jun 29, 2009 12:43 pm

Is there any way not to use one -to-one nat, since ability of chaning customers pc's IP is needed. What about this older functionality? Will it be later on?

Aries
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6624
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Re: Usermanager 4.0Beta3, IP pools

Mon Jul 13, 2009 3:45 pm

ariesaries, DHCP does not provide any options for username/password.

For the one-to-one NAT.
/ip hotspot user profile set <used_profile> address-pool=none
to disable One-to-One NAT for authorized clients.
/ip hotspot set <used_server> address-pool=none
to disable One-to-One NAT for unauthorized clients.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests