Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
sabit
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 2:07 am

Converting 3.30 database to 4.4.test

Wed Jan 06, 2010 2:17 am

To test the 4.4.test UM, I wanted to take a snapshot of my working 3.30 UM database and use it in the test version.
When the DB is rebuilt in 4.4.test, the users and passwords are there, but the critical info about time limits (till time, time left ) gets lost (zero value)
Since it is not very convenient(!) to transfer this info manually for hundreds of users, there is no way to really "upgrade" to the new UM for me.

Maybe there is a solution for a proper conversion of the database?
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6619
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Re: Converting 3.30 database to 4.4.test

Fri Jan 08, 2010 12:47 pm

Test UserMananage package goes with new limits approach, it is completely different from older version.
/tool user-manager database to make snapshot of the image, but limits configuration is active for non userman-test version.
 
sabit
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 2:07 am

Re: Converting 3.30 database to 4.4.test

Sun Jan 17, 2010 12:32 am

Then how do I really upgrade to 4.X-test version?

There must be a smart way to convert the older limits to meaningful new limits, otherwise if they get lost in the process, one needs to manually (or perhaps with some offline tool you might provide) enter all the user data!
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6619
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Re: Converting 3.30 database to 4.4.test

Mon Jan 18, 2010 12:10 pm

Currently there is no any tool or way, how you can convert them.
 
mysz0n
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 2:14 am

Re: Converting 3.30 database to 4.4.test

Thu Feb 17, 2011 7:18 pm

is there any option to convert UM database from 4.13 to 5rc10 ?
 
bafi
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 2:58 pm

Re: Converting 3.30 database to 4.4.test

Wed Jun 22, 2011 3:58 pm

Currently there is no any tool or way, how you can convert them.
Hi guys,

i use UM v3.30 currently, i want it to upgrade to UM v5.4. But it is not possible.
I get no infos about "Money paid", "Money left" ,"Actual Profile", "Logs" and not profile assignment to each user.
Some datas from users are false displayed, for example: "download used", "upload used","Total Time Left" and "Time Left"
It is impossible manuel to make... Mikrotik should offer any solution.
I need it urgently



regards

bafi
 
User avatar
paka
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2009 4:25 pm
Location: Bonn, Germany
Contact:

Re: Converting 3.30 database to 4.4.test

Sun Jun 26, 2011 2:10 am

i have the same Problem, i want to upgrade my live UM-System v3.2 to UM v5.5. when i do it,
so i get some bugs example no info for each user about "Money used" "Money left" "total time left" and too no profiles assigned.
i have a large user list. Half of the list don't from UM v5.5 adopt. It is impossible to correct it manually
Mikrotik musst to give any alternative solution, we have waited so long time until UM becomes stable version, but now...

thanks for help
 
shap2001
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 1:41 pm

Re: Converting 3.30 database to 4.4.test

Sat Jul 16, 2011 7:31 pm

I have exactly the same problem, with 2500 users I'm really in bad disaster now! PLEASE HELP!
 
User avatar
interpoint
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 3:42 pm
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Re: Converting 3.30 database to 4.4.test

Thu Feb 16, 2012 1:01 pm

Hi,

We really need an easy way to migrate from OLD UM to NEW UM.

The OLD UMv4 will not run on the new ROS v5.xx

Latest hardware devices manufactured by MT will only run on ROS v5.xx (RB1200, RB1100AH etc)

So, when you upgrade hardware you get an instant and major problem with the UM that was working perfectly. Basicially you are screwed...

The result is that I have maintained seperate hardware to run the UM and linked it via a /30 address in the Radius Config. (not very nice but it works), at least the new hardware board is doing all the hard work.

There is no problem installing a new site with a blank database but this is not reality.

I need a simple migration tool that converts the database and sets/implements a default UM profile into the old data ready to import.

This important issue and is forcing us to use / look for old hardware to operate with ROS 4.17. This old & powerful hardware is getting more and more difficult to source.

Please MT fix this and make a conversion tool.
Shane Hartigan
Director - Integrated Media Solutions
MikroTik Certified Trainer
MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCWE, MTCINE, MTCTCE, MTCIPv6E
 
User avatar
interpoint
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 3:42 pm
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Re: Converting 3.30 database to 4.4.test

Sat Apr 14, 2012 10:10 am

Bump !!

Has there been any progress on a conversion tool ?

We want to move many live installs (to new hardware and new UM) but cannot !!
Shane Hartigan
Director - Integrated Media Solutions
MikroTik Certified Trainer
MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCWE, MTCINE, MTCTCE, MTCIPv6E
 
User avatar
interpoint
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 3:42 pm
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Re: Converting 3.30 database to 4.4.test

Sun Jul 22, 2012 6:40 am

Bump !!

This is a real nuisance as we keep upgrading to new hardware.
We need a conversion tool urgently. It is a major oversight not to have one.
If you are not going to make one then port the old userman package so we can run it in the new ROS...
Shane Hartigan
Director - Integrated Media Solutions
MikroTik Certified Trainer
MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCWE, MTCINE, MTCTCE, MTCIPv6E
 
User avatar
vipe
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 166
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 10:05 pm

Re: Converting 3.30 database to 4.4.test

Thu Oct 25, 2012 4:38 am

i have the same Problem, i want to upgrade my live UM-System v3.2 to UM v5.5
 
User avatar
interpoint
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 3:42 pm
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Re: Converting 3.30 database to 4.4.test

Thu Oct 25, 2012 9:12 am

There is no way to do it. As far as I am aware..

We have migrated to a dedicated radius system and don't use UM anymore on MT.
Shane Hartigan
Director - Integrated Media Solutions
MikroTik Certified Trainer
MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCWE, MTCINE, MTCTCE, MTCIPv6E
 
skye1
newbie
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu May 17, 2007 5:10 am

Re: Converting 3.30 database to 4.4.test

Thu Nov 29, 2012 4:40 am

It gets even better with the broken paypal issue and no ability to make a clean upgrade from an older version to the new 5.22 which is claimed to fix the paypal http bad response. Curious.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests