Page 1 of 1

How do I reset users?

Posted: Wed Jun 14, 2006 10:24 pm
by dolf
How can I reset a users history? Say I only want to this months data?

Posted: Tue Jun 20, 2006 1:21 pm
by Reefbum
Have you been able to find a way to do the reset yet?

This is something I need also.

Posted: Tue Jun 20, 2006 3:25 pm
by uldis
in the web interface there isn't an option to do that. You can login into the console and use reset-counters command in the '/tool user-manager users' menu. This will reset the uptime,download and upload counters.
Is that what you wanted?

Posted: Tue Jun 20, 2006 3:33 pm
by Reefbum
This is what I was after, but hoping there was a way to have the system do this auto at a preset time each day.
Yu can use 'system scheduler' to execute the reset scripts.
In future maybe we will add some scheduled task support in the user manger itself.

Posted: Tue Jun 20, 2006 5:08 pm
by dolf
Does this reset all counters or can you specify per user?

Posted: Wed Jun 21, 2006 9:42 am
by uldis
Does this reset all counters or can you specify per user?
you can reset the counters per users if you specify it, example, 'reset-counters uldis' where uldis is username

Posted: Fri Jun 30, 2006 11:23 pm
by dolf
I cannot reset with the username. I have to first print and the reset-counters with the number. The problem with that is that I have more that 900 usernames!!

Is there way to reset all the users at once?

Posted: Sun Jul 02, 2006 6:12 am
by airstream
I cannot reset with the username. I have to first print and the reset-counters with the number. The problem with that is that I have more that 900 usernames!!

Is there way to reset all the users at once?
Indeed this has me stumped as well, i have migrated our whole customer database to the usermanager but having to reset all the counters individually is not really the answer.

Is there a command to reset all the counters?

Geoff

Posted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 2:59 pm
by uldis
we will think about it.
For now, you can use find command to reset the users counters.

Posted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 7:10 am
by polokus
we will think about it.
For now, you can use find command to reset the users counters.
i'm using script like this
/tool user-manager user find username=test
/tool user-manager user reset-counters test

but it won't work :(
when i paste in console terminal it works
is it not possible to reset the user counter via script and the run by scheduler?
i'm using 2.9.28

Thanks

Posted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 7:24 am
by Reefbum
I have tried to find differant ways to get all the accounts to reset automaticaly at a set time but so far have not been able to do it.

For this reason we cannot use MT userman.

It would be nice to see MT add this function in the userman to allow us the ability to reset all the user counts at a time we put in.

Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 10:53 am
by uldis
I have tried to find differant ways to get all the accounts to reset automaticaly at a set time but so far have not been able to do it.

For this reason we cannot use MT userman.

It would be nice to see MT add this function in the userman to allow us the ability to reset all the user counts at a time we put in.
we will try to update the usermanager with such feature in future.
For now we will try to add a command in the web, where you can select users and you could reset their counters.

Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 11:02 am
by dolf
Uldis that will be nice.

Something else that will be great is to set a up and download cap were user can be cut off if he goes over his limits.

Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 11:16 am
by uldis
Uldis that will be nice.

Something else that will be great is to set a up and download cap were user can be cut off if he goes over his limits.
this is already in the to do list.

Posted: Tue Aug 22, 2006 11:29 pm
by savagedavid
polokus have you tried something like:
/tool user-manager user reset-counter [find subscriber="your logon name"]
Where you replace "your logon name" with the name you use to log into user manager. This should reset all the counters for users you have added.

Posted: Wed Aug 23, 2006 3:51 am
by airstream
Hi all, the latest release of the Usermanager 2.9.29 has the function in the administrative web console to reset selected users counters.

Top marks Uldis/Mikrotik team thanks for listening to our requests.

Geoff

Posted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 9:47 pm
by Giepie
Hi all, the latest release of the Usermanager 2.9.29 has the function in the administrative web console to reset selected users counters.

Top marks Uldis/Mikrotik team thanks for listening to our requests.

Geoff
It also has the function to select all users. You'll see an extra check box right above the first user's checkbox.

Posted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 9:52 pm
by Giepie
Uldis that will be nice.

Something else that will be great is to set a up and download cap were user can be cut off if he goes over his limits.
Is there any way to cap an user by up and download traffic combined? IE, if a user uploads 1GB and downloads 5GB, the total will be 6GB. It would be nice to give a user eg 5GB limit, which will be the total traffic limit, whether it being up or download.

It would really be nice if one could customize some of these things a bit more, but UM is GREAT for a BETA product!

---
some useless info!
One of our local suppliers here in SA arranged a Quad Bike day for some of their selected customers. I drove one place behind Dolf, he REALLY ROCKS ON A QUAD!! We had a day of eating sand, forgetting about all our wireless probs, EVEN UM! Sorry UM!
Now, back to reality!
---

Posted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 9:10 am
by sergejs
Giepie, asked feature will be implemented in the upcoming version of the RouterOS, it could limit total traffic (upload+download). 'transfer-limit' should be used to achieve this.

Re: How do I reset users?

Posted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 12:59 am
by plam40
Well my question is : How do i reset the prepaid time .

Let me explain , let's asume I got a user who is on the folowing tariff plan :

30 days up time , 3 GB Download , 3GB Upload

I set the limit in the usermanager and after the first week the user has hit the limit . Then he/she comes to me and asks me to renew his voucher . Then what I do is go to userman reset the counters and extend that users voucher with another one which makes now the user to have alltoghether like 30 + 23 = 50 days uptime available ! with another 3GB of download limit ! We go on lets asume same user has reached the limit again for another 7 days and now he comes and wants to change his tarrif plan to unlimited download ....
What can I do ... The only way to make this possible is to delete the user and create it again .

Please MT put an option for prepaid time reset !
Thanks in advance!

Re:

Posted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 12:49 am
by Jrslick22
Hi all, the latest release of the Usermanager 2.9.29 has the function in the administrative web console to reset selected users counters.

Top marks Uldis/Mikrotik team thanks for listening to our requests.

Geoff
I cant seem to find the reset counters button within the console, i see the select all box now just no option to reset counters?

cheers.