Community discussions

 
taundertaker773
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 1:32 pm

Mikrotik 6.34.1 Check updates fail

Tue Feb 16, 2016 2:44 pm

Good day this is a new build which i did on my own however i'm receiving this error: Could not resolve dns name when i try to update the server or any packages ?

Also the hotspot i can login on the page but won't connect to internet ?
 
User avatar
osquetar
just joined
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 5:26 pm
Location: Barcelona
Contact:

Re: Mikrotik 6.34.1 Check updates fail

Mon Mar 21, 2016 9:58 am

Same here!
 
User avatar
macgaiver
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1691
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 5:57 pm
Location: Sol III, Sol system, Sector 001, Alpha Quadrant

Re: Mikrotik 6.34.1 Check updates fail

Mon Mar 21, 2016 10:35 am

Then you both have issues with your DNS configuration, make sure that you can resolve upgrade.mikrotik.com
With great knowledge comes great responsibility, because of ability to recognize id... incompetent people much faster.
 
User avatar
Uqbar
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 11:56 am
Contact:

Re: Mikrotik 6.34.1 Check updates fail

Thu Mar 24, 2016 8:09 pm

How can I test from within the Mikrotik whether I can resolv upgrade.mikrotik.com?
It's clearly not working!
So the real question is how can I troubleshoot it?
I can resolv from lan, but not from the router itself.
There's never a stupid question. But often stupid answers.
And, yes I do used search engines. This is why I am here.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 23731
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Mikrotik 6.34.1 Check updates fail

Sat Mar 26, 2016 7:49 pm

ping upgrade.mikrotik.com from RouterOS terminal and from your Windows PC. Compare results and post here
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
Uqbar
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 11:56 am
Contact:

Re: Mikrotik 6.34.1 Check updates fail

Sat Mar 26, 2016 8:45 pm

From "PC":
support@server:/home/support > ping -c 5 upgrade.mikrotik.com
PING d355q2xs8kb5oj.cloudfront.net (54.192.131.180) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from server-54-192-131-180.ams50.r.cloudfront.net (54.192.131.180): icmp_req=1 ttl=53 time=44.1 ms
64 bytes from server-54-192-131-180.ams50.r.cloudfront.net (54.192.131.180): icmp_req=2 ttl=53 time=47.3 ms
64 bytes from server-54-192-131-180.ams50.r.cloudfront.net (54.192.131.180): icmp_req=3 ttl=53 time=43.9 ms
64 bytes from server-54-192-131-180.ams50.r.cloudfront.net (54.192.131.180): icmp_req=4 ttl=53 time=47.4 ms
64 bytes from server-54-192-131-180.ams50.r.cloudfront.net (54.192.131.180): icmp_req=5 ttl=53 time=47.3 ms

--- d355q2xs8kb5oj.cloudfront.net ping statistics ---
5 packets transmitted, 5 received, 0% packet loss, time 4006ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 43.948/46.048/47.461/1.658 ms
From Mikrotik:
[admin@NA2] > ping upgrade.mikrotik.com
invalid value for argument address:
    invalid value of mac-address, mac address required
    invalid value for argument ipv6-address
    while resolving ip-address: could not get answer from dns server
The router is the only machine that cannot resolve anything.
Useless to say that:
1. From within the router tools-->traceroute works as expected;
2. The router has proper configuration for DNSes (4: 2xGoogle and 2xOpenDNS);
3. From the LAN everything works fine.
Last edited by Uqbar on Sun Dec 02, 2018 4:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
There's never a stupid question. But often stupid answers.
And, yes I do used search engines. This is why I am here.
 
shankuo
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 6:51 am

Re: Mikrotik 6.34.1 Check updates fail

Thu Apr 07, 2016 6:08 am

same problem but more error messages. "ERROR: Could not resolve DNS name" and "ERROR: Bad HTTP response"

The Ping test received replies from the host upgrade.mikrotik.com.
MikrotikUpgrade1.PNG
After the ERROR: Could not resolve DNS name the next error message "ERROR: Bad HTTP response"
Mikrotikupgrade2.PNG
What MikroTik utilities tools do I use to troubleshoot this problem and to upgrade the firmware?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 23731
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Mikrotik 6.34.1 Check updates fail

Thu Apr 07, 2016 9:41 am

terminal uses router DNS server, Winbox uses PC OS (Linux / OSX in your case) DNS server. Check if you configured the same DNS server address in "IP DNS" menu, just like you have in your PC OS.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 23731
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Mikrotik 6.34.1 Check updates fail

Thu Apr 07, 2016 9:51 am

add "dns,debug" to your log, and make a supout.rif file, email to us, we will check debug logs
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
shankuo
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 6:51 am

Re: Mikrotik 6.34.1 Check updates fail

Sun Apr 10, 2016 7:24 am

add "dns,debug" to your log, and make a supout.rif file, email to us, we will check debug logs
I tried update firmware today without any changes to the DNS setting either on the PC and MikroTik router both error message did not appear but new error message appears "ERROR: Missing wireless-6.34.4-mipsebe.npk". I have enclosed the file directory where there is a wireless-6.34.4-mipsebe.npk but zero file length.
MikrotikUpgrade3.png
File wireless-6.34.4-mipsebe.npk file length is ZERO.
MikrotikUpgrade4.png
As per your request, the supout.rif was created and send to support via Mikrotik support website.
mikrotikUpgradeDNSLog.PNG

Update 13th April 2016

Problem solved, error message "wireless-6.34-mipsebe.npk file" did not appear after the router reboot and the "wireless-6.34-mipsebe.npk file size remains as ZERO.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by shankuo on Wed Apr 13, 2016 10:55 am, edited 1 time in total.
 
flynno
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 8:11 pm

Re: Mikrotik 6.34.1 Check updates fail

Sun Apr 10, 2016 8:11 pm

Download package and upload to router solves the problem.

Add google dns 8.8.8.8 & 8.8.4.4
 
User avatar
cszolee79
just joined
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 6:28 pm

Re: Mikrotik 6.34.1 Check updates fail

Thu Jun 30, 2016 9:36 pm

Same problem here, tried with only 8.8.8.8 and many different free DNS servers, but the router did not see upgrade.mikrotik.com. ROS 6.33 / 6.35. This is my home router, UPC cable net behind their UBEE cable modem.
Client PC connected to the router, using the same DNS servers can ping the upgrade server. Other Mikrotik routers at other ISPs can upgrade without problem.

Added static entry in IP/DNS for upgrade.mikrotik.com 52.85.184.245 and now works perfectly.
Sometimes things just happen with no explanation :)
One... Hundred... BILLION DOLLARS!
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4918
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Mikrotik 6.34.1 Check updates fail

Thu Jun 30, 2016 10:12 pm

I had such problems when there was a link with less than 1500 bytes MTU further down the path.
The server hosting the updates does not process ICMP "must fragment but DF set" replies correctly.
When the router has a mangle rule to clamp the MSS to a lower value, it works OK.
 
User avatar
Uqbar
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 11:56 am
Contact:

Re: Mikrotik 6.34.1 Check updates fail

Fri Jul 01, 2016 11:31 am

Added static entry in IP/DNS for upgrade.mikrotik.com 52.85.184.245 and now works perfectly.
Sometimes things just happen with no explanation :)
That indeed works!
But I cannot accept that "it just happened"!
Something in the resover path was wrong, and was wrong only there.
I have 7 of these routers, 6 upgraded gracefully and one resufed to do so until the "DNS trick".
There must be an explaination.
There's never a stupid question. But often stupid answers.
And, yes I do used search engines. This is why I am here.
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4918
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Mikrotik 6.34.1 Check updates fail

Fri Jul 01, 2016 1:08 pm

I tried updating a RB750 this morning and it took quite some time before it displayed the changelog.
So I guess that part of the update servers are down or otherwise malfunctioning.
 
taundertaker773
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 1:32 pm

Re: Mikrotik 6.34.1 Check updates fail

Fri Jul 15, 2016 7:18 pm

I had to Disable "Drop ICMP From Outside" and Bang! It worked Thanks Alot for all your feedbacks
 
Kincaidc
just joined
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2016 10:28 pm

Re: Mikrotik 6.34.1 Check updates fail

Thu Aug 25, 2016 11:20 pm

Guys just login into the routerboard with winbox. under quick set at the top left put 192.168.1.1 for your router ip and then open a cmd prompt in windows on your machine and type nslookup dns. Put that DNS address in the DNS address of the router in winbox and click the Static IP setting and apply. this will resolve your DNS issues
 
hardtik
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2017 11:00 pm

Re: Mikrotik 6.34.1 Check updates fail

Wed Sep 13, 2017 12:25 pm

I have disabled firewall rule disabling incoming connection from L2TP (ISP-provider). After that update works... After update I have enabled the rule back.
 
Den4ik
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 11:30 am

Re: Mikrotik 6.34.1 Check updates fail

Thu Oct 26, 2017 11:33 am

Just add static name in your IP->DNS
upgrade.mikrotik.com 13.33.44.253
 
mikedefieslife
just joined
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 1:12 pm

Re: Mikrotik 6.34.1 Check updates fail

Wed Feb 14, 2018 12:52 pm

Similar issue here.

I added the static DNS line, and can now ping upgrade.mikrotik.com from within the router, but checking for updates times out
 
User avatar
Uqbar
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 11:56 am
Contact:

Re: Mikrotik 6.34.1 Check updates fail

Wed Feb 14, 2018 1:08 pm

Maybe I am wrong, but this issue is going too far.
Adding an entry into the /etc/hosts file to fix a DNS issue sounds like childish to me.
I understand this is among the rarest issues with this otherwise marvelous product, but there needs to be a reason and, of course, a solution.
Is there any logging we can enable to the "update check" process so we can provide useful data for debugging?
If not, please, add one in the next release and I'll be happy to apply it on my 8 Mikrotik boxes to help.
There's never a stupid question. But often stupid answers.
And, yes I do used search engines. This is why I am here.
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4918
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Mikrotik 6.34.1 Check updates fail

Wed Feb 14, 2018 1:49 pm

Please read back further above, it does not have to be a DNS issue but it can be a path MTU issue as well.
What is the error message you get?
 
User avatar
DimitriDm
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 3:53 pm
Location: Milan
Contact:

Re: Mikrotik 6.34.1 Check updates fail

Tue Apr 10, 2018 9:50 pm

Hello, i have the some problem, i have configured my routerboard from default mode and on my pc i have network access with dhcp, i have updated dns to google default, and i have tried to add a static redirect to mikrotik ip dns but On the routerboard still dont have internet.
Can you help?
Dm
 
User avatar
Uqbar
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 11:56 am
Contact:

Re: Mikrotik 6.34.1 Check updates fail

Wed Apr 11, 2018 11:27 am

Hello, i have the some problem, i have configured my routerboard from default mode and on my pc i have network access with dhcp, i have updated dns to google default, and i have tried to add a static redirect to mikrotik ip dns but On the routerboard still dont have internet.
Can you help?
viewtopic.php?p=642434#p624968

Be warned: it's a workaround, not a solution!
There's never a stupid question. But often stupid answers.
And, yes I do used search engines. This is why I am here.
 
jmbrnt
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 11:22 am

Re: Mikrotik 6.34.1 Check updates fail

Tue Apr 24, 2018 11:26 am

I had this rather weird issue as well - but mine was self inflicted. Somewhere along the line I must have thought I was clever and added a static DNS entry with a poorly formed regex. It was something like [*esxi*] to point things to my home esxi server.. I don't know what I was trying to achieve - however the troubleshooting suggested in this thread helped me.

Using the web-based terminal, I did

put [resolve google.com]
(shows the internal IP of my esxi box!)


/ip dns static
print

Then saw the static DNS entry I had, so i removed it (using GUI) and things updated as expected.
 
marmachine
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2018 12:32 am

Re: Mikrotik 6.34.1 Check updates fail

Sat Aug 18, 2018 12:33 am

I've found the cause in the wrong DNS settings.
Using Google's DNS server solved it for me.
Enter the next in your terminal:
/ip dns set allow-remote-requests=yes cache-max-ttl=1d cache-size=2048KiB max-udp-packet-size=4096 servers=8.8.8.8,8.8.4.4
 
User avatar
Uqbar
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 11:56 am
Contact:

Re: Mikrotik 6.34.1 Check updates fail

Sat Aug 18, 2018 3:09 pm

I've found the cause in the wrong DNS settings.
Using Google's DNS server solved it for me.
Enter the next in your terminal:
/ip dns set allow-remote-requests=yes cache-max-ttl=1d cache-size=2048KiB max-udp-packet-size=4096 servers=8.8.8.8,8.8.4.4
Do you think Google DNSes have better answers?
I don't understand how your "fix" is related to the problem.
There's never a stupid question. But often stupid answers.
And, yes I do used search engines. This is why I am here.
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4918
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Mikrotik 6.34.1 Check updates fail

Sat Nov 10, 2018 3:16 pm

I would not advise setting a static address, especially one not tracable to MikroTik.
As I see that advise mainly/only from 1-time posters, let's assume they have bad intentions and ignore them.
 
User avatar
Uqbar
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 11:56 am
Contact:

Re: Mikrotik 6.34.1 Check updates fail

Sat Nov 10, 2018 3:27 pm

I would not advise setting a static address, especially one not tracable to MikroTik.
As I see that advise mainly/only from 1-time posters, let's assume they have bad intentions and ignore them.
I fully agree.
I'd like mikrotik to investigate and fix.
There's never a stupid question. But often stupid answers.
And, yes I do used search engines. This is why I am here.
 
pml
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2018 10:43 am

Re: Mikrotik 6.34.1 Check updates fail

Sun Dec 02, 2018 10:56 am

Hi

I had the following rule in /ip firewall filter
;;; defconf; drop all not coming from LAN
chain=input action=drop in-interface-list=!LAN
Where LAN was defined as my LAN addresses.

Temporarily disabling this rule fixed it, and allowed me to update. I just enabled it again after.

Note that the above rule was as per the wiki for a secure firewall, I think it may also be in the default set.
 
User avatar
Uqbar
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 11:56 am
Contact:

Re: Mikrotik 6.34.1 Check updates fail

Sun Dec 02, 2018 2:12 pm

Hi

I had the following rule in /ip firewall filter
;;; defconf; drop all not coming from LAN
chain=input action=drop in-interface-list=!LAN
Where LAN was defined as my LAN addresses.

Temporarily disabling this rule fixed it, and allowed me to update. I just enabled it again after.

Note that the above rule was as per the wiki for a secure firewall, I think it may also be in the default set.
That's a totally different issue.
In the case this topic is about, the router can access the internet but cannot check against Mikrotik sites for upgrades.
There's never a stupid question. But often stupid answers.
And, yes I do used search engines. This is why I am here.
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4918
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Mikrotik 6.34.1 Check updates fail

Sun Dec 02, 2018 4:20 pm

Hi

I had the following rule in /ip firewall filter
;;; defconf; drop all not coming from LAN
chain=input action=drop in-interface-list=!LAN
Where LAN was defined as my LAN addresses.

Temporarily disabling this rule fixed it, and allowed me to update. I just enabled it again after.

Note that the above rule was as per the wiki for a secure firewall, I think it may also be in the default set.
That rule is OK to have, but there should also be a rule above that which allows "established" and "related" traffic.
When you delete that, you will have problems.
 
terryw
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2018 5:03 am

Re: Mikrotik 6.34.1 Check updates fail

Mon Dec 24, 2018 5:05 am

I have the same issue after I upgraded 6.43.8. None of the recommendations resolved my issue.
 
balkyny
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2019 6:56 am

Re: Mikrotik 6.34.1 Check updates fail

Fri Jan 11, 2019 6:59 am

Hi


I have the same problem.

The problem was that blocking rules in firewall were at the very top.
I moved it lower without disabling, and everything started to work :)
 
User avatar
Uqbar
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 11:56 am
Contact:

Re: Mikrotik 6.34.1 Check updates fail

Fri Jan 11, 2019 4:18 pm

Hi


I have the same problem.

The problem was that blocking rules in firewall were at the very top.
I moved it lower without disabling, and everything started to work :)
I think there actually are two different types of problem here.
One is user-created, the other one is (could be?) a bug.

If the user blocks the DNS traffic (UDP:53, TCP:53) or the HTTP traffic to/from the update server (IP:185.53.178.9), then it's clear the update won't work.
There's no solution other that making finer grane firewall rules in order to let the router use the DNS for upgrade.mikrotik.com and let the router pull the needed files from there.
If it was just the DNS to be blocked, adding the entry into the hosts file "just fixed the feature"(tm) by bypassing the DNS altogether.

The "other case" is a different story.
There was no firewall filtering, just the "masquerading NAT" to let the packets reach the internet and the answers come back.
Sometimes adding a hosts file entry solved. Some other times, it didn't.
That's in my opinion a real software bug that needs further investigation.

I admit I have no clue on which one holds true.
My suspicion goes to the latter case.
There's never a stupid question. But often stupid answers.
And, yes I do used search engines. This is why I am here.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Allie1990, bammer, BartoszP and 18 guests