Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
gazingbazooka
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2020 7:10 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Pasting into Terminal on Webfig

Tue May 12, 2020 5:05 pm

Not sure if I'm missing something obvious but on a Mac I cannot paste into Webfig Terminal. This is pushing me to SSH more and more but it's just convenient sometimes. What gives?
 
yottabit
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 181
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 5:56 am

Re: Pasting into Terminal on Webfig

Sat Aug 01, 2020 6:01 pm

Same. I'm using Chrome and selecting Paste from the Chrome menu doesn't work. It works fine in the webpage fields of webfig of course, but just not in the Webfig Terminal.
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4472
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: Pasting into Terminal on Webfig

Sat Aug 01, 2020 6:13 pm

Same in FF on windows.
BR,
Metod
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6794
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Pasting into Terminal on Webfig

Sat Aug 01, 2020 6:55 pm

You would not want to paste in the terminal in webfig!
When it would work, it would "expand" the commands as soon as it sees a match with the possible commands/options, and then the remainder of the text in your paste buffer is still appended to the command, resulting in a syntax error.
So that is not useful at all.
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4472
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: Pasting into Terminal on Webfig

Sat Aug 01, 2020 7:21 pm

Disclaimer: I don't use terminal from webfig ... why would I when I've got ssh ...

But anyways: I find the auto-expand feature in webfig terminal disturbing rather than useful. I don't know if terminal from winbox does the same (IIRC it doesn't) but ssh definitely doesn't - which brings some confusion to user experience.
BR,
Metod
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 6794
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: Pasting into Terminal on Webfig

Sat Aug 01, 2020 9:58 pm

I fully agree with that! I often paste config fragments in normal terminal sessions (telnet/ssh) as a quick way to copy standard setup, and I was extremely confused with the behavior of the webfig terminal at first, then decided to no longer use it.
 
nescafe2002
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 674
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 12:46 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Pasting into Terminal on Webfig

Sun Aug 02, 2020 12:06 am

Auto-completion is also called HotLock mode.

https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:C ... tLock_Mode

This mode is available in Winbox, ssh and webfig and frequently accidentally activated using the hotkey ctrl-v.

They should've really chosen another hotkey, or just remove the feature completely.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], erlinden, mixig, pe1chl, RobertsN, tdw and 67 guests