Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
MyTik7000
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2020 1:55 pm

Moving Wan Port - 2 Bridges

Fri May 07, 2021 5:32 am

Hoping I can make myself clear on this one, first the attached diagram is super quick and is there to make it easier to understand my setup. At the moment, on my mikrotik I have two bridges.

Bridge 1 includes ports 2-5 and connect to the router. All these are in the same subnet.
Bridge 2 includes port 7-10 and WLAN and connects directly to the firewall and goes out to the internet.
I have moved the "WAN" port to port 6 because I can. I want Bridge 2 traffic to go out ethernet 6 to get to the internet.

At the moment this works, but in order for me to do this I had to add ethernet 6 to bridge 2 to allow communication to the internet. Should I have to add ethernet 6 to allow internet traffic for bridge 2? If not, can someone just tell me the components that are needed to allow this to function correctly.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7325
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: Moving Wan Port - 2 Bridges

Sat May 08, 2021 6:44 pm

Very confusing, do you have two routers one being used simply as a firewall.
Is it.
ISP --------->Router as a firewall---------------->MT Router------------------> Devices??

If so is your intention NOT to use firewall rules on MT router?
If so is it your intention to DO or not TO DO double NAT?
Is the second MT router acting as a router, really only acting as a switch??

In other words, best to concentrate on one mind, and one bridge! ;-)
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
MTUNA Certified, by the Ascerbic Llama!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 48 guests