Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
edwardc
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2021 12:22 pm

Advice on initial configuration

Wed Jun 23, 2021 1:15 pm

Hello,

I'm a first-time MikroTik user and has just bought a hap ac3 to replace an old wifi router. The router is connected to an ONT provided by my ISP. However, I wasn't able to successfully configure the router from my laptop (running Ubuntu 20.04.2) following the instructions in https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:I ... figuration and https://help.mikrotik.com/docs/display/ ... figuration. The following setting is mostly the default configuration (with password set up for account and wifi access).

Any advice on the setting is very much appreciated!

Edward
# jan/02/1970 00:02:32 by RouterOS 6.47.10
# software id = ZZ0K-JU6F
#
# model = RBD53iG-5HacD2HnD
/interface bridge
add admin-mac=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX auto-mac=no comment=defconf name=bridge
/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] band=2ghz-b/g/n channel-width=20/40mhz-XX \
    disabled=no distance=indoors frequency=auto installation=indoor mode=\
    ap-bridge ssid=MikroTik wireless-protocol=802.11
set [ find default-name=wlan2 ] band=5ghz-a/n/ac channel-width=\
    20/40/80mhz-XXXX disabled=no distance=indoors frequency=auto \
    installation=indoor mode=ap-bridge ssid=MikroTik \
    wireless-protocol=802.11
/interface list
add comment=defconf name=WAN
add comment=defconf name=LAN
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] authentication-types=wpa-psk,wpa2-psk mode=\
    dynamic-keys supplicant-identity=MikroTik wpa-pre-shared-key=foo123 \
    wpa2-pre-shared-key=foo123
/ip pool
add name=dhcp ranges=192.168.88.10-192.168.88.254
/ip dhcp-server
add address-pool=dhcp disabled=no interface=bridge name=defconf
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether2
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether3
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether4
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether5
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=wlan1
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=wlan2
/ip neighbor discovery-settings
set discover-interface-list=LAN
/interface list member
add comment=defconf interface=bridge list=LAN
add comment=defconf interface=ether1 list=WAN
/ip address
add address=192.168.88.1/24 comment=defconf interface=ether2 network=\
    192.168.88.0
/ip dhcp-client
add comment=defconf disabled=no interface=ether1
/ip dhcp-server network
add address=192.168.88.0/24 comment=defconf gateway=192.168.88.1
/ip dns
set allow-remote-requests=yes
/ip dns static
add address=192.168.88.1 comment=defconf name=router.lan
/ip firewall filter
add action=accept chain=input comment=\
    "defconf: accept established,related,untracked" connection-state=\
    established,related,untracked
add action=drop chain=input comment="defconf: drop invalid" connection-state=\
    invalid
add action=accept chain=input comment="defconf: accept ICMP" protocol=icmp
add action=accept chain=input comment=\
    "defconf: accept to local loopback (for CAPsMAN)" dst-address=127.0.0.1
add action=drop chain=input comment="defconf: drop all not coming from LAN" \
    in-interface-list=!LAN
add action=accept chain=forward comment="defconf: accept in ipsec policy" \
    ipsec-policy=in,ipsec
add action=accept chain=forward comment="defconf: accept out ipsec policy" \
    ipsec-policy=out,ipsec
add action=fasttrack-connection chain=forward comment="defconf: fasttrack" \
    connection-state=established,related
add action=accept chain=forward comment=\
    "defconf: accept established,related, untracked" connection-state=\
    established,related,untracked
add action=drop chain=forward comment="defconf: drop invalid" \
    connection-state=invalid
add action=drop chain=forward comment=\
    "defconf: drop all from WAN not DSTNATed" connection-nat-state=!dstnat \
    connection-state=new in-interface-list=WAN
/ip firewall nat
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat comment="defconf: masquerade" \
    ipsec-policy=out,none out-interface-list=WAN
/tool mac-server
set allowed-interface-list=LAN
/tool mac-server mac-winbox
set allowed-interface-list=LAN
 
User avatar
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7844
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: Advice on initial configuration

Wed Jun 23, 2021 2:21 pm

Hmm
Since the bridge is running the show change this
/ip address
add address=192.168.88.1/24 comment=defconf interface=ether2 network=\
192.168.88.0

To this
/ip address
add address=192.168.88.1/24 comment=defconf interface=bridge network=\
192.168.88.0
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
MTUNA Certified, by the Ascerbic Llama!
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4804
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Capalbio, Tuscany, Italy

Re: Advice on initial configuration

Wed Jun 23, 2021 4:44 pm

paste this withouth think twice on terminal without omitting { and }
{
/interface bridge
set bridge admin-mac=[/int eth get [find default-name=ether2] orig-mac-address] protocol-mode=none
/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] band=2ghz-g/n
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] authentication-types=wpa2-psk wpa-pre-shared-key="" eap-methods=passthrough
/ip address
set [find where address=192.168.88.1/24] interface=bridge
}
 
edwardc
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2021 12:22 pm

Re: Advice on initial configuration

Thu Jun 24, 2021 9:09 am

Thanks anav and rextended for your advice. I tried both suggestions but still not successful. The following is my revised configuration based on rextended's advice.

Edward
# jan/02/1970 00:26:36 by RouterOS 6.47.10
# software id = ZZ0K-JU6F
#
# model = RBD53iG-5HacD2HnD
/interface bridge
add admin-mac=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX auto-mac=no comment=defconf name=bridge \
    protocol-mode=none
/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] band=2ghz-g/n channel-width=20/40mhz-XX \
    disabled=no distance=indoors frequency=auto installation=indoor mode=\
    ap-bridge ssid=MikroTik-2 wireless-protocol=802.11
set [ find default-name=wlan2 ] band=5ghz-a/n/ac channel-width=\
    20/40/80mhz-XXXX disabled=no distance=indoors frequency=auto \
    installation=indoor mode=ap-bridge ssid=MikroTik-5 \
    wireless-protocol=802.11
/interface list
add comment=defconf name=WAN
add comment=defconf name=LAN
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] authentication-types=wpa2-psk mode=dynamic-keys \
    supplicant-identity=MikroTik wpa2-pre-shared-key=foo123
/ip pool
add name=default-dhcp ranges=192.168.88.10-192.168.88.254
/ip dhcp-server
add address-pool=default-dhcp disabled=no interface=bridge name=defconf
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether2
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether3
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether4
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether5
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=wlan1
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=wlan2
/ip neighbor discovery-settings
set discover-interface-list=LAN
/interface list member
add comment=defconf interface=bridge list=LAN
add comment=defconf interface=ether1 list=WAN
/ip address
add address=192.168.88.1/24 comment=defconf interface=bridge network=\
    192.168.88.0
/ip dhcp-client
add comment=defconf disabled=no interface=ether1
/ip dhcp-server network
add address=192.168.88.0/24 comment=defconf gateway=192.168.88.1
/ip dns
set allow-remote-requests=yes
/ip dns static
add address=192.168.88.1 comment=defconf name=router.lan
/ip firewall filter
add action=accept chain=input comment=\
    "defconf: accept established,related,untracked" connection-state=\
    established,related,untracked
add action=drop chain=input comment="defconf: drop invalid" connection-state=\
    invalid
add action=accept chain=input comment="defconf: accept ICMP" protocol=icmp
add action=accept chain=input comment=\
    "defconf: accept to local loopback (for CAPsMAN)" dst-address=127.0.0.1
add action=drop chain=input comment="defconf: drop all not coming from LAN" \
    in-interface-list=!LAN
add action=accept chain=forward comment="defconf: accept in ipsec policy" \
    ipsec-policy=in,ipsec
add action=accept chain=forward comment="defconf: accept out ipsec policy" \
    ipsec-policy=out,ipsec
add action=fasttrack-connection chain=forward comment="defconf: fasttrack" \
    connection-state=established,related
add action=accept chain=forward comment=\
    "defconf: accept established,related, untracked" connection-state=\
    established,related,untracked
add action=drop chain=forward comment="defconf: drop invalid" \
    connection-state=invalid
add action=drop chain=forward comment=\
    "defconf: drop all from WAN not DSTNATed" connection-nat-state=!dstnat \
    connection-state=new in-interface-list=WAN
/ip firewall nat
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat comment="defconf: masquerade" \
    ipsec-policy=out,none out-interface-list=WAN
/tool mac-server
set allowed-interface-list=LAN
/tool mac-server mac-winbox
set allowed-interface-list=LAN
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4804
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Capalbio, Tuscany, Italy

Re: Advice on initial configuration

Thu Jun 24, 2021 9:55 am

All suppose the ont is connected to ether1,
right?

Print the result of this command o the forum:
 :ping 1.1.1.1

Print the result of this command o the forum:
 /ip dhcp-client print

if is missing DNS
paste this on terminal:
/ip dns
set servers=1.1.1.1,8.8.8.8

Another thing:
if the hAP must be a simpler Access Point without any routing function because the ONT already assign IP,
write this here and I make a script to convert the unnecessary routing functions with simple AP
 
edwardc
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2021 12:22 pm

Re: Advice on initial configuration

Fri Jun 25, 2021 1:40 pm

It turns out that my ISP uses vlan tagging which I wasn't intially aware as I've been using the ISP-supplied router so far :-( After adding the vlan tagging, my router is finaly working :-)
Here's my working configuration. Appreciate all the helpful comments received!

Edward
# model = RBD53iG-5HacD2HnD
/interface bridge
add admin-mac=MM:MM:MM:MM:MM:MM auto-mac=no comment=defconf name=bridge
/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] band=2ghz-g/n channel-width=20/40mhz-XX \
    disabled=no distance=indoors frequency=auto installation=indoor mode=\
    ap-bridge ssid=Merlin2 wireless-protocol=802.11
set [ find default-name=wlan2 ] band=5ghz-a/n/ac channel-width=\
    20/40/80mhz-XXXX disabled=no distance=indoors frequency=auto \
    installation=indoor mode=ap-bridge ssid=Merlin5 wireless-protocol=802.11
/interface vlan
add interface=ether1 name=vlan10 vlan-id=10
/interface list
add comment=defconf name=WAN
add comment=defconf name=LAN
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] authentication-types=wpa2-psk mode=dynamic-keys \
    supplicant-identity=MikroTik wpa2-pre-shared-key=foo123
/ip pool
add name=default-dhcp ranges=192.168.88.10-192.168.88.254
/ip dhcp-server
add address-pool=default-dhcp disabled=no interface=bridge name=defconf
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether2
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether3
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether4
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether5
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=wlan1
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=wlan2
/ip neighbor discovery-settings
set discover-interface-list=LAN
/interface list member
add comment=defconf interface=bridge list=LAN
add comment=defconf interface=ether1 list=WAN
/ip address
add address=192.168.88.1/24 comment=defconf interface=bridge network=\
    192.168.88.0
/ip dhcp-client
add comment=defconf disabled=no interface=ether1
add disabled=no interface=vlan10
/ip dhcp-server network
add address=192.168.88.0/24 comment=defconf gateway=192.168.88.1
/ip dns
set allow-remote-requests=yes
/ip dns static
add address=192.168.88.1 comment=defconf name=router.lan
/ip firewall filter
add action=accept chain=input comment=\
    "defconf: accept established,related,untracked" connection-state=\
    established,related,untracked
add action=drop chain=input comment="defconf: drop invalid" connection-state=\
    invalid
add action=accept chain=input comment="defconf: accept ICMP" protocol=icmp
add action=accept chain=input comment=\
    "defconf: accept to local loopback (for CAPsMAN)" dst-address=127.0.0.1
add action=drop chain=input comment="defconf: drop all not coming from LAN" \
    in-interface-list=!LAN
add action=accept chain=forward comment="defconf: accept in ipsec policy" \
    ipsec-policy=in,ipsec
add action=accept chain=forward comment="defconf: accept out ipsec policy" \
    ipsec-policy=out,ipsec
add action=fasttrack-connection chain=forward comment="defconf: fasttrack" \
    connection-state=established,related
add action=accept chain=forward comment=\
    "defconf: accept established,related, untracked" connection-state=\
    established,related,untracked
add action=drop chain=forward comment="defconf: drop invalid" \
    connection-state=invalid
add action=drop chain=forward comment=\
    "defconf: drop all from WAN not DSTNATed" connection-nat-state=!dstnat \
    connection-state=new in-interface-list=WAN
/ip firewall nat
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat out-interface=vlan10 ipsec-policy=out,none 
/tool mac-server
set allowed-interface-list=LAN
/tool mac-server mac-winbox
set allowed-interface-list=LAN
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4804
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Capalbio, Tuscany, Italy

Re: Advice on initial configuration

Fri Jun 25, 2021 2:02 pm

final touch, paste this:
{
/interface list member
add interface=vlan10 list=WAN
/ip dhcp-client
remove [find where interface=ether1]
}
Last edited by rextended on Fri Jun 25, 2021 6:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7844
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: Advice on initial configuration

Fri Jun 25, 2021 4:59 pm

perfecto!! now its a masterpiece!
I'd rather manage rats than software. Follow my advice at your own risk! (Sob & mkx forced me to write that!)
MTUNA Certified, by the Ascerbic Llama!
 
edwardc
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2021 12:22 pm

Re: Advice on initial configuration

Sat Jun 26, 2021 5:25 am

Got it, thanks again!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 33 guests