Community discussions

 
lvnona
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 2:40 am

Wifi for home

Sat Sep 12, 2015 9:38 pm

Hi!
Need your help folks!
I have currently: RB2011UiAS-RM + Ubiquity 8 & 5 switches + Ubiquity AP AC 2.4/5Ghz

I have 3 floor house with around 11 long + 6 wide meter dimensions.
Everything works awesome but I would love to have full control from one interface!

And I was thinking to replace my Ubiquity AP for Mikrotik AP.

I need AC 2.4 and 5Ghz AP - which one would you recommend and how many AP do I need for best coverage and performance?

I saw your website HOME & OFFICE Wireless - has only 2.4Ghz - why there is no 5Ghz?

Thanks,
Norm
 
lvnona
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 2:40 am

Re: Wifi for home

Mon Sep 14, 2015 11:32 pm

anybody?
 
lvnona
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 2:40 am

Re: Wifi for home

Sat Sep 26, 2015 9:01 am

???
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7604
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Sat Sep 26, 2015 10:26 am

You are right. There is no such prebuild device you want made by mikrotik. You can build your own or wait unknown time till mikrotik starts production of that.
 
lvnona
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 2:40 am

Re: Wifi for home

Fri Oct 30, 2015 6:02 pm

Thanks buddy!
End it up to get second Ubiquity AP and super happy with router and wifi in house!
Now I need to figure out how properly setup Simple Queues, because they seems dont work correctly!
 
efaden
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1711
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 1:55 am
Location: New York, USA

Sat Oct 31, 2015 12:55 am

I used netmetal 5 with a 2ghz card as dual band access points. Crs as my router. Works perfectly

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1743
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re:

Sat Oct 31, 2015 2:16 am

I used netmetal 5 with a 2ghz card as dual band access points. Crs as my router. Works perfectly

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

what antennas and pigtails you used??
 
efaden
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1711
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 1:55 am
Location: New York, USA

Re: Wifi for home

Sat Oct 31, 2015 2:53 am

Just some ducks.
 
websunil007
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2015 5:11 pm
Location: Nepal
Contact:

Re: Wifi for home

Sat Oct 31, 2015 1:18 pm

I had also same query. Thanks Got it here. Great people!
 
lvnona
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 2:40 am

Re:

Fri Nov 06, 2015 12:52 am

I used netmetal 5 with a 2ghz card as dual band access points. Crs as my router. Works perfectly

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
Great but I was thinking outdoor antennas are build more powerful and not friendly to be close to them.
Are you not going to start loosing your hairs from radio amplified power or magnet waves ? ;) ;)
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1743
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: Re:

Fri Nov 06, 2015 1:27 am

I used netmetal 5 with a 2ghz card as dual band access points. Crs as my router. Works perfectly

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
Great but I was thinking outdoor antennas are build more powerful and not friendly to be close to them.
Are you not going to start loosing your hairs from radio amplified power or magnet waves ? ;) ;)

its a matter of lowering tx power thats all
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1743
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re:

Fri Nov 06, 2015 1:27 am

I used netmetal 5 with a 2ghz card as dual band access points. Crs as my router. Works perfectly

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

what about performance??
 
efaden
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1711
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 1:55 am
Location: New York, USA

Re: Wifi for home

Fri Nov 06, 2015 2:23 am

Never really tested it.... at least 500 mbps... more than my internet so it isn't an issue.
 
lvnona
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 2:40 am

Re: Wifi for home

Fri Nov 06, 2015 2:51 am

Never really tested it.... at least 500 mbps... more than my internet so it isn't an issue.
Awesome ;)

Can you guys help me with that topic:
http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=101936

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 42 guests