Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
mbfound
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2014 1:18 pm
Location: South Africa

951Ui-2HnD Wireless Speed

Tue Oct 06, 2015 11:21 pm

Hi all,

Can someone tell me the theoretical speed the 951 is capable of? I always get 72Mbps when I connect to mine.

I know it's got 2 antennas (chain0 and chain1) so shouldn't it atleast do 150mbps?

Did I screw up my config somewhere?

TIA
Mb

/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] adaptive-noise-immunity=ap-and-client-mode \
ampdu-priorities=0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7 band=2ghz-onlyn basic-rates-a/g=\
6Mbps,36Mbps,48Mbps,54Mbps basic-rates-b=1Mbps,11Mbps channel-width=\
20/40mhz-eC country="south africa" disabled=no distance=indoors \
frequency=2442 frequency-mode=regulatory-domain mode=ap-bridge \
preamble-mode=short ssid="OrbWeb M" supported-rates-a/g=\
6Mbps,36Mbps,48Mbps,54Mbps supported-rates-b=1Mbps,11Mbps tx-power=14 \
tx-power-mode=all-rates-fixed wireless-protocol=802.11
 
JB172
Member
Member
Posts: 306
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2015 3:12 pm
Location: AWMN

Re: 951Ui-2HnD Wireless Speed

Wed Oct 07, 2015 12:13 am

I have the following configuration in my RB951Ui-2HnD and my laptop connected at 270/300Mbps

/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] ampdu-priorities=0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7 band=\
2ghz-b/g/n channel-width=20/40mhz-Ce disabled=no distance=indoors \
frequency=2452 frequency-mode=superchannel l2mtu=1600 mode=ap-bridge \
security-profile=profile1 ssid="Wind WiFi 4DB154" wmm-support=enabled \
wps-mode=disabled
 
deanMKD1
Member
Member
Posts: 351
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2014 12:06 am
Location: Macedonia
Contact:

Re: 951Ui-2HnD Wireless Speed

Wed Oct 07, 2015 12:42 am

This is mine Wireless Configuration:
[admin@MikroTik] /interface wireless> print
Flags: X - disabled, R - running 
 0  R name="wlan1" mtu=1500 mac-address=4C:5E:0C:BC:XX:XX arp=enabled 
      interface-type=Atheros AR9300 mode=ap-bridge ssid="MikroTik" 
      frequency=2472 band=2ghz-onlyn channel-width=20mhz scan-list=default 
      wireless-protocol=802.11 wds-mode=disabled wds-default-bridge=none 
      wds-ignore-ssid=no bridge-mode=enabled default-authentication=yes 
      default-forwarding=yes default-ap-tx-limit=0 default-client-tx-limit=0 
      hide-ssid=no security-profile=default compression=no 
and have set additional

Image

With this configuration give me full ISP speed, but when look in my network connection Speed usually is ~78 mb. I think that is because i m distanceed from router between walls in my house so that lower my network connection speed. SOmethimes i see there 135 mb but that is only for 2-3 seconds, and after that goes down.
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1747
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: 951Ui-2HnD Wireless Speed

Wed Oct 07, 2015 12:59 am

keep in mind that RB951Ui has fast ethernet ports only, that limits the possible throughput to 100mbit

please differentiate throughput (real traffic speed) from wireless data-rate (theoretical link rate)

to see data-rate (link rate) of 300mbit / s you need:
use dual chain on radio
dual spatial stream client
40mhz channel
good signal level -60dmb or better
low tx power 5-17 dbm
clean spectrum without interference

at 300mbit/second data-rate (link rate) the normal throughput depends of ccq and compatibility between client and ap

its hard to obtain more than 50mbps sustained throughput from an ap
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1964
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: 951Ui-2HnD Wireless Speed

Wed Oct 07, 2015 2:08 am

its hard to obtain more than 50mbps sustained throughput from an ap
keep in mind that RB951Ui has fast ethernet ports only, that limits the possible throughput to 100mbit
Really? :D

http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=78872
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1747
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: 951Ui-2HnD Wireless Speed

Wed Oct 07, 2015 4:33 am

its hard to obtain more than 50mbps sustained throughput from an ap
keep in mind that RB951Ui has fast ethernet ports only, that limits the possible throughput to 100mbit
Really? :D

http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=78872
really, in mi experience with many clients (30 or more) 15mbps its a common throughput, specially taking in count in my country most smartphones are 1 spatial stream and 20mhz only, and of course crowded spectrum

please dont misunderstand me.

i dont want to discourage you, i hope you succeed getting better results

i only try to share my experience because if your conditions are like mine maybe its good to know how high to go with your expectations.
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7604
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Wed Oct 07, 2015 5:12 am

Inhouse notebook connection to home Ap is something different than 30 distant clients in outdoor. I am getting 100mbits sustain load over wifi when limited by ethernet. When gigabit is used then 180mbits of sustain flow over wifi is very common when used 2x2 mimo 802.11n. Nothing unusual.
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1747
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re:

Wed Oct 07, 2015 5:41 am

Inhouse notebook connection to home Ap is something different than 30 distant clients in outdoor. I am getting 100mbits sustain load over wifi when limited by ethernet. When gigabit is used then 180mbits of sustain flow over wifi is very common when used 2x2 mimo 802.11n. Nothing unusual.

then i have some kind of problem mi results are indoor setups using laptops tablets and smartphones

doing some test with laptop 2x2 intel 7260 nic on rb951g the max speed reached was 110 mbit but in lab conditions at 300mbit data rate and 95% ccq
test.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
mbfound
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2014 1:18 pm
Location: South Africa

Re: 951Ui-2HnD Wireless Speed

Mon Oct 12, 2015 11:46 am

Hi guys

Finally sorted it, it wasn't an issue with the 951 but with both my devices. My phone doesn't want to use 40mhz for some reason and my tablet was set to 20mhz by default.

Had to copy some files over for my mother this week and I basically saturated the 100mbps ethernet port so everything is a-ok :)

Thanks for the help though, broadened my knowledge a bit.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 38 guests