Community discussions

 
scinex
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 3:48 pm

Link up master port

Wed Dec 09, 2015 3:57 pm

RB951UI v6.33.3 Firmware 3.24

ether2 - is master port for ether3,4,5.
ether2 is NOT connected.
When i connect link to ether3, 4 or 5, ether2 is upping to 10M, half duplex.

04:06:26 interface,info ether3 link down
04:06:27 interface,info ether2 link down
04:06:28 interface,info ether3 link up (speed 100M, full duplex)
04:06:29 interface,info ether2 link up (speed 10M, half duplex)
04:08:23 interface,info ether3 link down
04:08:24 interface,info ether2 link down
04:08:25 interface,info ether4 link up (speed 100M, full duplex)
04:08:26 interface,info ether2 link up (speed 10M, half duplex)
04:11:30 interface,info ether4 link down
04:11:31 interface,info ether2 link down
04:11:32 interface,info ether5 link up (speed 100M, full duplex)
04:11:33 interface,info ether2 link up (speed 10M, half duplex)

Is it normally work or it's hardware failure?
 
plisken
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2425
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 12:24 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Link up master port

Thu Dec 10, 2015 6:50 pm

The network cables are not broken?
Which devices are associated with it?
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1743
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: Link up master port

Thu Dec 10, 2015 7:02 pm

using eth2 as a master port and eth3 eth4 eth5 as slaves mine do the same but works ok
 
scinex
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 3:48 pm

Re: Link up master port

Thu Dec 10, 2015 7:22 pm

mine do the same but works ok
But it is not clear. It is not clear visualy on the led there is a link at the port or not.
 
plisken
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2425
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 12:24 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Link up master port

Fri Dec 11, 2015 9:07 am

Connect a network cable on the questtionable interface.
Connect the network cable to a computer.
Ping from the computer to an IP-adres on the router.
Are there interruptions?
So not, maby a bug in RouterOs
 
scinex
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 3:48 pm

Re: Link up master port

Fri Dec 11, 2015 9:25 am

Connect a network cable on the questtionable interface.
PING ok, all work ok.
But IMHO it is incorrect, when cable is not conneted and link on port is up.
If it is a bug, how i can ask this to Mikrotik support?
 
plisken
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2425
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 12:24 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Link up master port

Fri Dec 11, 2015 11:16 am

Login with winbox

On the main window click on "make supout.rif
Look to "files" in the main window
drag and drop the file "supout.rif to your PC

Mail Mikrotik to support@mikrotik.com and attache the file
 
scinex
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 3:48 pm

Re: Link up master port

Fri Dec 11, 2015 11:23 am

Mail Mikrotik to support@mikrotik.com and attache the file
Done.
 
plisken
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2425
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 12:24 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Link up master port

Fri Dec 11, 2015 12:04 pm

Goodluck
 
scinex
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 3:48 pm

Re: Link up master port

Fri Dec 11, 2015 12:29 pm

Hello,

The lit port LED is a cosmetic issue on a Fast Ethernet switch chip due to
"Running" state of the master-port when a link of its slave-port turns on.

It is planned to address this master-port LED imperfection along with other switch
chip changes in RouterOS v7.

Regards,
Thx for all.
Haven't questions anymore.
 
CrazyCooler
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2017 12:46 pm

Re: Link up master port

Thu Aug 10, 2017 12:51 pm

Hello! Check ethernet port on PC or Notebook. One non-working port on a computer or laptop can cause all ports on the router to reboot. A non-working port can be checked by an exception method.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 24 guests