Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
pitrson
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2016 4:19 pm

RB2011UAS-2HnD-IN - switch + wifi AP

Thu Feb 18, 2016 4:30 pm

Hello guys,

just received my first MikroTik (used ofc) RB2011UAS-2HnD-IN. As I have only ADSL2+ link at home still I still need to have old ADSL router connected.

I've bought MikroTik to:
* extend wifi signal
* gigabit LAN
* learn something :)

So the connection is:

internet <-->ADSL_router <--> RB2011UAS-2HnD-IN <--> clients

So far I plan to:
* disable WiFi on ADSL router (easy through web)
* create a switch from RB2011UAS-2HnD-IN
* use WiFi only on MikroTik

Would you please advise what would be the best/most performance efficient way ? I know that the default config is:
two switch groups bridged (ether2-ether10, wlan1 if present)

Does this mean that I just need to connect adsl router to ETH1 in mikrotik, configure WiFi and it's done? What about the DHCP ? I don't want to have any unnecessary settings set when I don't need them. The ROS should be 6.34 if I recall it correctly.

Thanks ! :)
 
some
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 2:30 pm

Re: RB2011UAS-2HnD-IN - switch + wifi AP

Thu Feb 18, 2016 7:47 pm

Hello,

Im a newbe, but I can suggest:

- do not disable wi-fi an ADSL+ router - if somebody came to your company/house can connect to it and to internet, whithout to your network. Your network stay isolated.
- assign a port for connecting to ADSL+ router, f.e. ether1., this isolated your network, later if you need something like NAT etc. you can do it. Everythink is configuration.
- do switch with the ports you need, maybe all, except the ether1 that is destinated to WAN - ADSL+.
- do a bridge between wlan1 and this switch.
- do a ip pool adresses for a DHCP.
- assign a DHCP for a this pool over the bridge interface (it cover all - wi-fi and LAN).

Regards.
 
kiaunel
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 7:59 pm
Location: Romania

Thu Feb 18, 2016 8:56 pm

Or, to avoid double nat make ADSL bridge, connect with mikrotik directly to internet and if you want guests in separate network make an virtual ap with an separate dhcp server and firewall to avoid guest subnet to talk with your subnet.

Sent from my Lenovo K50-t5 using Tapatalk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 29 guests