Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
opensource
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2016 8:48 am

pptp routing

Sat Feb 20, 2016 8:58 am

Hello,

I am enjoying my new mikrotik router!

However I am trying to setup my pptp link for some days now but there is something missing. More specifically in my mikrotik I have the 10.0.0.0/24 network which uses the default pppoe as gateway this is working fine.

I also need the 192.168.9.0/24 network on eth5 to use pptp-out1 (192.168.3.243<->192.168.3.1=pptp server) as a gateway. The more I can get is to ping the remote PtP address (192.168.3.1) via pptp.
I have added a masquerade saying that all 192168.9.0 to be masqueraded using pptp as gateway.

Something is missing to route all 192.168.9.0/24 via pptp !!
 
kiaunel
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 7:59 pm
Location: Romania

Re: pptp routing

Sat Feb 20, 2016 1:25 pm

When you connect to your client do you get default route? there must be an option like "route all traffic to vpn server". Check that it is active. Also did not understant what is realy your pptp subnet. is 9.0/24 or 3.0/24? Anyway... Both subnets must be in masquerade assuming one is your lan and one is vpn subnet
 
User avatar
ZeroByte
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4051
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 6:08 pm

Re: pptp routing

Sat Feb 20, 2016 3:38 pm

If the server has a route to your LAN, then you won't need to use Masquerade. If it doesn't then you will....

On your end, add a static route:
/ip route add dst=192.168.9.0/24 gateway=pptp-out1
When given a spoon,
you should not cling to your fork.
The soup will get cold.
 
opensource
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2016 8:48 am

Re: pptp routing

Sat Feb 20, 2016 6:17 pm

Thank you for your replies!


both 10.0.0.0 and 192.168.9.0 are local LANs connected to my Mikrotik router

so 10.0.0.0 ---> MT eth2 ---> masq ---> pppoe (currenlty the default gateway) ---> internet runs ok!

and I also need

192.168.9.0 ---> MT eth5 ---> masq ----> pptp (default gateway for 192.168.9.0) ---> internet (not ok)
(when I dial pptp I receive the 192.168.3.234 address on the pptp interface with 192.168.3.1 the pptp server)

If I run pptp with the "add default gw" option then yes all traffic is routed via pptp

Regards.
 
kiaunel
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 7:59 pm
Location: Romania

Re: pptp routing

Sun Feb 21, 2016 9:10 am

If I run pptp with the "add default gw" option then yes all traffic is routed via pptp
Is what you wanted, right?
 
opensource
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2016 8:48 am

Re: pptp routing

Sun Feb 21, 2016 9:23 am

If I run pptp with the "add default gw" option then yes all traffic is routed via pptp
Is what you wanted, right?
No actually I need the 192.168.9.0 LAN packets to be routed via the pptp interface instead of the pppoe.

the 10.0.0.0 LAN should continue to work normally via the pppoe (and not the pptp)
 
kiaunel
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 7:59 pm
Location: Romania

Re: pptp routing

Sun Feb 21, 2016 9:31 am

so you need to reach 192.168.3.0 subnet from 192.168.9.0
ip route add dst-address=192.168.3.0/24 gateway=pptp-out1 
 
opensource
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2016 8:48 am

Re: pptp routing

Sun Feb 21, 2016 10:02 am

so you need to reach 192.168.3.0 subnet from 192.168.9.0
ip route add dst-address=192.168.3.0/24 gateway=pptp-out1 
Thanks kiaunel,

reaching 192.168.3.0 subnet is also fine

the problem is that 192.168.9.0 cannot reach the internet via pptp (via 192.168.3.1)

Regards!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 39 guests