Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
gauravrishi1for3
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2016 3:19 pm

how to reset dynadish 5?

Tue Mar 08, 2016 3:21 pm

:( :(
 
kiaunel
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 7:59 pm
Location: Romania

Re: how to reset dynadish 5?

Sat Mar 12, 2016 10:40 pm

From the manual :
Buttons and Jumpers
RouterBOOT reset button (RESET, front panel) has three functions:
• Hold this button during boot time until LED light starts flashing, release the button to reset
RouterOS configuration (total 5 seconds)
• Keep holding for 5 more seconds, LED turns solid, release now to turn on CAPs mode (total 10
seconds)
• Or Keep holding the button for 5 more seconds until until LED turns off, then release it to make the
RouterBOARD look for Netinstall servers (total 15 seconds)
 
n21roadie
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1896
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 10:36 pm
Location: Limerick,Ireland

Re: how to reset dynadish 5?

Mon Mar 14, 2016 4:08 pm

From experience each routerboard has a slightly different reset procedure and can be a challenge to find which works?
Confusion can happen when instructions are given as "...release reset button when led starts flashing.." Which LED! there is more just one on any board,

With this unit the manual has incorrect timing ? to reset - apply power and release after two seconds as any longer will stop the unit going into reset mode

We all have noticed that the boot up times varies with each model due to CPU ... So simply having generic instructions of hold reset for 3 seconds may not apply to some routers,

However what is common on each board is LED's but they all flash the same color,
Perhaps one LED could perform a visual indication of start up cycle status, and rather use say a green LED use a tri-color LED and use the different colors (or a flashing color ) as marker points for reset, netinstall, etc...

For example at start up
(1) blinking green,
(2) then blinking blue for two seconds =release reset for reset
(3) And then Blinking Red for two seconds = release reset for netinstall

I am sure other functions could be activated by having the each color ON and not blinking,

I hope Mikrotik will make note of this as a future product suggestion!
N21roadie,
Network 100% MT for Now?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 31 guests