Community discussions

 
joke
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 11:35 pm

hAP ac slow Ethernet Internet performance

Sat Mar 12, 2016 11:45 pm

Hi!

I'm having Internet performance issues using Ethernet connections on hAP ac. Transfer speeds vary (from 0,05x to 0,5x my ISP connection speed). However, if I connect the same computer via WiFi, everything is fine, I will get full speed of my VDSL connection.

If I use a different router (Apple Airport Extreme), both wired and WiFi connection have full speed access.

Do you have any suggestions? Config is pretty much the default one, this is my first MikroTik router and I only changed admin and WiFi passwords.
 
joke
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 11:35 pm

Re: hAP ac slow Ethernet Internet performance

Wed Mar 16, 2016 1:00 pm

After trying different computers and devices, I'm still having the same problem. Some devices are even not able to maintain a workable wired Internet connection (they connect, get IP address from DHCP, local connections work, but Internet completely fails / randomly). However, wireless on the same devices works perfectly.

I have tried restoring to default config, lowering MTU values from defaults, but nothing helped.

It's pretty frustrating when a supposedly faster and more reliable connection is quite the opposite :-(
 
User avatar
pukkita
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 2982
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:09 am
Location: Spain

Re: hAP ac slow Ethernet Internet performance

Wed Mar 16, 2016 5:18 pm

Which ROS version? Firmware version?

Post an export of your configuration, to do so, open a New terminal from Winbox and issue
/export hide-sensitive 
and post it here.

Additionaly, look at your log, do you see any warnings or errors?
Simplicity is the Ultimate Sophistication - Da Vinci
Getting the most out of this forum
 
joke
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 11:35 pm

Re: hAP ac slow Ethernet Internet performance

Wed Mar 16, 2016 8:21 pm

Initially I've used 6.34.3 and after experiencing problems downgraded to 6.32.4. Firmware is 3.30 and logs contain nothing useful, just wireless connect and disconnect messages and dhcp info that follows my tests.

The config follows (I've xxxed private information):
# mar/16/2016 19:08:08 by RouterOS 6.32.4
# software id = HLZN-SXA6
#
/interface bridge
add admin-mac=E4:8D:8C:xx:xx:xx auto-mac=no comment=defconf name=bridge
/interface ethernet
set [ find default-name=ether2 ] name=ether2-master
set [ find default-name=ether3 ] master-port=ether2-master
set [ find default-name=ether4 ] master-port=ether2-master
set [ find default-name=ether5 ] master-port=ether2-master poe-out=off
/interface pppoe-client
add add-default-route=yes disabled=no interface=ether1 name=pppoe-out1 use-peer-dns=yes user=xxx@htnet-dsl
/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] band=2ghz-b/g/n channel-width=20/40mhz-Ce country=croatia disabled=no distance=indoors frequency=auto mode=ap-bridge ssid=xxx wireless-protocol=802.11
set [ find default-name=wlan2 ] band=5ghz-a/n/ac channel-width=20/40mhz-Ce country=croatia disabled=no distance=indoors frequency=auto mode=ap-bridge ssid=xxx wireless-protocol=802.11
/ip neighbor discovery
set ether1 discover=no
set bridge comment=defconf
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] authentication-types=wpa-psk,wpa2-psk mode=dynamic-keys
/ip hotspot profile
set [ find default=yes ] html-directory=flash/hotspot
/ip pool
add name=dhcp ranges=10.0.0.200-10.0.0.249
/ip dhcp-server
add address-pool=dhcp disabled=no interface=bridge name=defconf
/system logging action
set 1 disk-file-name=flash/log
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=ether2-master
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=sfp1
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=wlan1
add bridge=bridge comment=defconf interface=wlan2
/ip address
add address=10.0.0.1/24 comment=defconf interface=ether2-master network=10.0.0.0
/ip dhcp-client
add comment=defconf dhcp-options=hostname,clientid interface=ether1
/ip dhcp-server network
add address=10.0.0.0/24 comment=defconf gateway=10.0.0.1 netmask=24
/ip dns
set allow-remote-requests=yes
/ip dns static
add address=10.0.0.1 name=router
/ip firewall filter
add action=fasttrack-connection chain=forward comment="defconf: fasttrack" connection-state=established,related
add chain=forward comment="defconf: accept established,related" connection-state=established,related
add action=drop chain=forward comment="defconf: drop invalid" connection-state=invalid
add action=drop chain=forward comment="defconf:  drop all from WAN not DSTNATed" connection-nat-state=!dstnat connection-state=new in-interface=ether1
add chain=input protocol=icmp
add chain=input connection-state=established
add chain=input connection-state=related
add action=drop chain=input in-interface=pppoe-out1
/ip firewall nat
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat comment="defconf: masquerade" out-interface=pppoe-out1
/ip hotspot user
add comment="counters and limits for trial users" name=default-trial
/system clock
set time-zone-name=Europe/Zagreb
/system leds
set 1 interface=wlan2
/system routerboard settings
set cpu-frequency=720MHz protected-routerboot=disabled
/tool mac-server
set [ find default=yes ] disabled=yes
add interface=bridge
/tool mac-server mac-winbox
set [ find default=yes ] disabled=yes
add interface=bridge
 
User avatar
pukkita
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 2982
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:09 am
Location: Spain

Re: hAP ac slow Ethernet Internet performance

Thu Mar 17, 2016 9:47 am

You should assign the ip address to the "highest" level logical L2 device, so instead of
/ip address
add address=10.0.0.1/24 comment=defconf interface=ether2-master network=10.0.0.0
should be
/ip address
add address=10.0.0.1/24 comment=defconf interface=bridge network=10.0.0.0
Does the instability go away?

I'd go with latest 6.35rc if yours is a three figure fiber connection, noticed latest 6.35.29 made a noticeable difference for pppoe fastpath performance.
Last edited by pukkita on Thu Mar 17, 2016 10:05 am, edited 5 times in total.
Simplicity is the Ultimate Sophistication - Da Vinci
Getting the most out of this forum
 
User avatar
macgaiver
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1721
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 5:57 pm
Location: Sol III, Sol system, Sector 001, Alpha Quadrant

Re: hAP ac slow Ethernet Internet performance

Thu Mar 17, 2016 9:51 am

pppoe fastpath was introduced in 6.35rc - upgrade to latest 6.35rc.
With great knowledge comes great responsibility, because of ability to recognize id... incompetent people much faster.
 
joke
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 11:35 pm

Re: hAP ac slow Ethernet Internet performance

Thu Mar 17, 2016 10:46 am

You should assign the ip address to the "highest" level logical L2 device, so instead of
/ip address
add address=10.0.0.1/24 comment=defconf interface=ether2-master network=10.0.0.0
should be
/ip address
add address=10.0.0.1/24 comment=defconf interface=bridge network=10.0.0.0
Does the instability go away?

I'd go with latest 6.35rc if yours is a three figure fiber connection, noticed latest 6.35.29 made a noticeable difference for pppoe fastpath performance.
IP was set by Quick Set, I had no influence on the "level". Tried your suggestion, but no improvement.

It's a 30Mb/s VDSL2, unfortunately not three figures fiber :-) However, after upgrading to 6.35rc30 and running a dozen speedtests, average download speed over Ethernet is about 20Mb/s, much better than the previous average of 10. Still sometimes about 7-8 Mb/s, but much better.

The frustrating part is that after switching to wireless, I'll consistently get the full 30Mb/s and that was the situation since the beginning, with all versions of RouterOS I tried.

Wireless works great. Wired, not really.

I'll leave it running like this to see if the complete connection failures over Ethernet will appear again.

Thanks!
 
User avatar
pukkita
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 2982
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:09 am
Location: Spain

Re: hAP ac slow Ethernet Internet performance

Thu Mar 17, 2016 10:53 am

Did you reboot after changing that? also any switch if there's any in the middle (to renew its arp table)

Its odd, any routerboard can cope with 30Mbps, thought your line would be 300Mbps or similar.

Can you post
/interface print detail
/interface ethernet print detail
Simplicity is the Ultimate Sophistication - Da Vinci
Getting the most out of this forum
 
joke
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 11:35 pm

Re: hAP ac slow Ethernet Internet performance

Thu Mar 17, 2016 12:17 pm

Did you reboot after changing that? also any switch if there's any in the middle (to renew its arp table)

Its odd, any routerboard can cope with 30Mbps, thought your line would be 300Mbps or similar.

Can you post
/interface print detail
/interface ethernet print detail
Sure, I did reboot evertyhing, a lot of times in the last 10 days :-)

What's interesting, when I go through the web interface, it says "Rate 1Gbps", and here it says speed is 100M. Computers also say they have connected with 1Gbps.
/interface print detail
Flags: D - dynamic, X - disabled, R - running, S - slave 
 0  R  name="ether1" default-name="ether1" type="ether" mtu=1500 actual-mtu=1500 l2mtu=1598 max-l2mtu=4074 mac-address=E4:8D:8C:50:C9:1E fast-path=yes last-link-up-time=mar/17/2016 09:10:59 link-downs=0 

 1  RS name="ether2-master" default-name="ether2" type="ether" mtu=1500 actual-mtu=1500 l2mtu=1598 max-l2mtu=4074 mac-address=E4:8D:8C:50:C9:1F fast-path=yes last-link-up-time=mar/17/2016 09:11:00 link-downs=0 

 2  RS name="ether3" default-name="ether3" type="ether" mtu=1500 actual-mtu=1500 l2mtu=1598 max-l2mtu=4074 mac-address=E4:8D:8C:50:C9:20 fast-path=yes last-link-up-time=mar/17/2016 09:11:00 link-downs=0 

 3   S name="ether4" default-name="ether4" type="ether" mtu=1500 actual-mtu=1500 l2mtu=1598 max-l2mtu=4074 mac-address=E4:8D:8C:50:C9:21 fast-path=yes link-downs=0 

 4  RS name="ether5" default-name="ether5" type="ether" mtu=1500 actual-mtu=1500 l2mtu=1598 max-l2mtu=4074 mac-address=E4:8D:8C:50:C9:22 fast-path=yes last-link-up-time=mar/17/2016 11:02:48 link-downs=0 

 5   S name="sfp1" default-name="sfp1" type="ether" mtu=1500 actual-mtu=1500 l2mtu=1600 max-l2mtu=4076 mac-address=E4:8D:8C:50:C9:23 fast-path=yes link-downs=0 

 6   S name="wlan1" default-name="wlan1" type="wlan" mtu=1500 actual-mtu=1500 l2mtu=1600 max-l2mtu=2290 mac-address=E4:8D:8C:50:C9:25 fast-path=yes last-link-down-time=mar/17/2016 11:03:52 last-link-up-time=mar/17/2016 09:52:19 link-downs=2 

 7  RS name="wlan2" default-name="wlan2" type="wlan" mtu=1500 actual-mtu=1500 l2mtu=1600 max-l2mtu=2290 mac-address=E4:8D:8C:50:C9:24 fast-path=yes last-link-up-time=mar/17/2016 09:11:12 link-downs=0 

 8  R  ;;; defconf
       name="bridge" type="bridge" mtu=auto actual-mtu=1500 l2mtu=1598 mac-address=E4:8D:8C:50:C9:1F fast-path=yes last-link-up-time=mar/17/2016 09:10:57 link-downs=0 

 9  R  name="pppoe-out1" type="pppoe-out" mtu=1480 actual-mtu=1480 fast-path=yes last-link-up-time=mar/17/2016 09:11:00 link-downs=0 

/interface ethernet print detail
Flags: X - disabled, R - running, S - slave 
 0 R  name="ether1" default-name="ether1" mtu=1500 l2mtu=1598 mac-address=E4:8D:8C:50:C9:1E orig-mac-address=E4:8D:8C:50:C9:1E arp=enabled auto-negotiation=yes advertise=10M-half,10M-full,100M-half,100M-full,1000M-half,1000M-full full-duplex=yes tx-flow-control=off 
      rx-flow-control=off speed=100Mbps master-port=none bandwidth=unlimited/unlimited switch=switch1 poe-out=auto-on poe-priority=10 

 1 RS name="ether2-master" default-name="ether2" mtu=1500 l2mtu=1598 mac-address=E4:8D:8C:50:C9:1F orig-mac-address=E4:8D:8C:50:C9:1F arp=enabled auto-negotiation=yes advertise=10M-half,10M-full,100M-half,100M-full,1000M-half,1000M-full full-duplex=yes 
      tx-flow-control=off rx-flow-control=off speed=100Mbps master-port=none bandwidth=unlimited/unlimited switch=switch1 poe-out=auto-on poe-priority=10 

 2 RS name="ether3" default-name="ether3" mtu=1500 l2mtu=1598 mac-address=E4:8D:8C:50:C9:20 orig-mac-address=E4:8D:8C:50:C9:20 arp=enabled auto-negotiation=yes advertise=10M-half,10M-full,100M-half,100M-full,1000M-half,1000M-full full-duplex=yes tx-flow-control=off 
      rx-flow-control=off speed=100Mbps master-port=ether2-master bandwidth=unlimited/unlimited switch=switch1 poe-out=auto-on poe-priority=10 

 3  S name="ether4" default-name="ether4" mtu=1500 l2mtu=1598 mac-address=E4:8D:8C:50:C9:21 orig-mac-address=E4:8D:8C:50:C9:21 arp=enabled auto-negotiation=yes advertise=10M-half,10M-full,100M-half,100M-full,1000M-half,1000M-full full-duplex=yes tx-flow-control=off 
      rx-flow-control=off speed=100Mbps master-port=ether2-master bandwidth=unlimited/unlimited switch=switch1 poe-out=auto-on poe-priority=10 

 4 RS name="ether5" default-name="ether5" mtu=1500 l2mtu=1598 mac-address=E4:8D:8C:50:C9:22 orig-mac-address=E4:8D:8C:50:C9:22 arp=enabled auto-negotiation=yes advertise=10M-half,10M-full,100M-half,100M-full,1000M-half,1000M-full full-duplex=yes tx-flow-control=off 
      rx-flow-control=off speed=100Mbps master-port=ether2-master bandwidth=unlimited/unlimited switch=switch1 poe-out=off poe-priority=10 

 5  S name="sfp1" default-name="sfp1" mtu=1500 l2mtu=1600 mac-address=E4:8D:8C:50:C9:23 orig-mac-address=E4:8D:8C:50:C9:23 arp=enabled auto-negotiation=yes advertise=10M-half,10M-full,100M-half,100M-full,1000M-half,1000M-full full-duplex=yes tx-flow-control=off 
      rx-flow-control=off speed=1Gbps master-port=none bandwidth=unlimited/unlimited poe-out=auto-on poe-priority=10 sfp-rate-select=high
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24206
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: hAP ac slow Ethernet Internet performance

Thu Mar 17, 2016 12:19 pm

and here it says speed is 100M.
that is a setting that is being ignored, because you have "Auto Negotiation" on. You can ignore this value
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
joke
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 11:35 pm

Re: hAP ac slow Ethernet Internet performance

Thu Mar 17, 2016 12:30 pm

and here it says speed is 100M.
that is a setting that is being ignored, because you have "Auto Negotiation" on. You can ignore this value
Then it must be something else.

In the mean time, I've been trying to stream Internet radio with a streaming speaker. Over Ethernet, stuttering and dropouts every few minutes.

Since switching it to wireless, no problems for 30 minutes.

I'm not noticing any problems with LAN traffic over Ethernet, only Internet stuff. Maybe the next step should be thoroughly testing local stuff, if this is some hardware problem?
 
User avatar
pukkita
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 2982
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:09 am
Location: Spain

Re: hAP ac slow Ethernet Internet performance

Thu Mar 17, 2016 3:58 pm

A this point I think its worth to try a netinstall (http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Netinstall), save another export to your PC first, this time omiting hide-sensitive parameter.

I'd advise to install 6.35.30

Once the router is netinstalled, import the .rsc export back; to do it you may either import it, or simply copy and paste its contents (CLI commands) onto a New Terminal.

This process re-formats the NAND and re-installs ROS, guaranteeing a "sane" state to begin with.

Where are the ethernet network devices wired to? All directly to the Hap? Or there is any additional switch?
Simplicity is the Ultimate Sophistication - Da Vinci
Getting the most out of this forum
 
joke
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 11:35 pm

Re: hAP ac slow Ethernet Internet performance

Thu Mar 17, 2016 8:37 pm

A this point I think its worth to try a netinstall (http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Netinstall), save another export to your PC first, this time omiting hide-sensitive parameter.

I'd advise to install 6.35.30

Once the router is netinstalled, import the .rsc export back; to do it you may either import it, or simply copy and paste its contents (CLI commands) onto a New Terminal.

This process re-formats the NAND and re-installs ROS, guaranteeing a "sane" state to begin with.

Where are the ethernet network devices wired to? All directly to the Hap? Or there is any additional switch?
OK, I'll try the netinstall, there's nothing to lose :-)

But this is a brand new hAP ac. Straight from the box, Quick Set and nothing but problems with "wired" and everything works perfectly with wireless connections.

I do have a 16-port switch, but at the moment it's not connected to hAP, I tried to eliminate all "foreign elements".

I already installed 6.35.30 and I'm now getting about 15-20 Mbps almost every time I test it. But if I use a wireless connection on the same computer, I get 30 Mbps EVERY time. Sooo frustrating :-)

I would even live with the lower speed if it worked consistently. But streaming and downloading stutters.

If wireless was giving me the same problems, I would look for MTU issues or something, but switching to wireless, evertyhing is great. Switching to the old router with wired connections, again, everything works great.

Maybe it's an issue with compatibility with my ISP's router (used in bridged mode), but then, why wireless works perfectly?

In my opionion, it's either problematic hardware or something stupid in the configuration that no one notices :-(
 
User avatar
pukkita
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 2982
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:09 am
Location: Spain

Re: hAP ac slow Ethernet Internet performance

Thu Mar 17, 2016 9:12 pm

I can't see anything odd in the config apart from what I said about asigning the ip over the bridge and not over a port belonging to it.

Two more suggestions: look in switch and make sure "switch all ports" is disabled. Retry.

Try making out ether3-5 standalone interfaces (remove ether2 as their master port) and add them to the bridge to see if it makes a difference.
Simplicity is the Ultimate Sophistication - Da Vinci
Getting the most out of this forum
 
joke
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 11:35 pm

Re: hAP ac slow Ethernet Internet performance

Thu Mar 17, 2016 10:59 pm

I can't see anything odd in the config apart from what I said about asigning the ip over the bridge and not over a port belonging to it.

Two more suggestions: look in switch and make sure "switch all ports" is disabled. Retry.

Try making out ether3-5 standalone interfaces (remove ether2 as their master port) and add them to the bridge to see if it makes a difference.
Tried it, no go :-(

I'll do the netinstall next. But for that I'll need to dig up an old Windows laptop, I'm all Macs for years :-)
 
joke
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 11:35 pm

Re: hAP ac slow Ethernet Internet performance

Sun Mar 20, 2016 12:59 am

I can't see anything odd in the config apart from what I said about asigning the ip over the bridge and not over a port belonging to it.

Two more suggestions: look in switch and make sure "switch all ports" is disabled. Retry.

Try making out ether3-5 standalone interfaces (remove ether2 as their master port) and add them to the bridge to see if it makes a difference.
Tried it, no go :-(

I'll do the netinstall next. But for that I'll need to dig up an old Windows laptop, I'm all Macs for years :-)
1. Netinstalled 6.35rc33
2. Connected only one computer
3. Entered PPPoE credentials

Still having the same problems. Wireless Internet OK, wired Internet slower and "stuttering". This time with almost no changes from the default config...

This MikroTik experience is definitely not good, I'm running out of options :-(
 
User avatar
pukkita
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 2982
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:09 am
Location: Spain

Re: hAP ac slow Ethernet Internet performance

Sun Mar 20, 2016 11:23 am

Do you see MSS clamping rules in ip > firewall > mangle?

Do you see newer firmware available in System > Routerboard?

So using the ports in a bridge instead of assigning them master-ports didn't make a difference?

I'd generate a supout while streaming is sttutering, and email mikrotik support attaching it, explaining the situation or linking to this post.
Simplicity is the Ultimate Sophistication - Da Vinci
Getting the most out of this forum
 
scampbell
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 457
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 5:20 am
Location: Wellington, NZ
Contact:

Re: hAP ac slow Ethernet Internet performance

Mon Apr 11, 2016 7:30 am

It is sometimes worth disabling RSTP on the bridge as well...... for whatever reason I have noticed RSTP sometimes incorrectly disables ethernet ports on the newer versions of RoS.

I've not been able to "pin" this down but by disabling it when I am getting ethernet issues the performance has been better.

Anyone else noticed this ?
MTCNA, MTCWE, MTCRE, MTCTCE, MTCSE, MTCINE, Trainer
___________________
Mikrotik Distributor - New Zealand
http://www.campbell.co.nz
 
wiopt
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 1:34 pm

Re: hAP ac slow Ethernet Internet performance

Wed Apr 13, 2016 1:38 pm

I have the same problem.
excellent wireless performance, but slow internet download with ethernet ports.
Installed 6.35rc49, nothing changed.
I use default config.
 
Laurens
just joined
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 1:53 pm

Re: hAP ac slow Ethernet Internet performance

Wed Jul 06, 2016 10:58 am

I'm also suffering from the same. LAN performance is okay, but all traffic over WAN interface (eth1) is terrible. I sometimes cannot even connect through winbox on that interface because of the high packet loss/low bandwidth. It'd be nice if Mikrotik takes a position into whether this is hardware / software / unknown. I have a few more Hap ACs in pre-order but holding off on that till more details are known. It's a great device...if it works.
 
coylh
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2011 12:11 am

Re: hAP ac slow Ethernet Internet performance

Thu Jul 07, 2016 2:18 am

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests