Community discussions

 
User avatar
lapsio
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 470
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 5:19 pm

"voided" factory settings

Wed Mar 23, 2016 3:59 pm

Hello. About 2 days ago I've bricked RB2011 by firewall drop all. I bricked it dozen of times at the beginning but typically procedure was simple - factory reset, load backup settings. However this time after reset router remained "bricked".

Well i didn't brick it for quite a long time recently, like almost 2 years so there's a lot of changes in config since old resets. Anyways - it didn't load expected default config this time. Repeating process few times gave the same results. Luckily it has LCD so i decided to check what's going on aaaand... config was completely blank. Like null, nothing, zero. No IPs/subnets on any port, even switch ports were not set to use any master port, everything as generic as it can be. I used LCD to set up IP and netmask on one port and logged in. There were no rules. Completely. For anything. Of course backups were still present on storage so I loaded most recent one but the problem is that it's quite inconvenient.

How can i set or fix this default config to actually reset router to some working settings, not brick it just in different way? :lol:
MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7602
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Wed Mar 23, 2016 5:21 pm

The winbox allows you to login via mac address. There is no problem to configure totally cleared device. No need for ip addresses at all.
 
tr00g33k
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 84
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2015 3:58 pm

Re: "voided" factory settings

Thu Mar 24, 2016 7:48 am

When you reset router:
/system reset-configuration no-defaults=no

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: canvcol and 24 guests