Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020

tailsnaf
just joined
Topic Author

Trouble with basic setup

Sat Jun 04, 2016 11:59 am

Hi,

I'm new to mikrotik products and I've found the initial setup for what I would have imagined a common/basic setup to be very difficult, and at times even 'buggy' in terms of how the HW/SW responded. If anyone here has any suggestions it would be greatly appreciated.

The ultimate goal is pretty simple - I have an internet connection I want to distribute to 2 end-points. The HW setup is:

Internet connection (via modem/Router) <-> SXT SA5 ac <-> 2x SXT lite5 ac <-> end-point router/computer.

Before I go putting the HW outside I wanted to test it / set it up to do this I had the following high-level plan:

1) Configure the SA5 to be an AP (ap-bridge with bridge between wlan, eth0)
This gets an IP from the internet modem/router. Is a DHCP server for the CPEs
2) Configure the lite5 to be a CPE (station, with bridge between wlan, eth0)
This gets and IP from the SA5.

While trying to set ths up, I found a few items that were pretty strange (perhaps bugs?)

1) Before starting I set my laptops lan port to be a static ip in the same range as the default IP of the devices - I set it to 192.168.88.100. Is this required?

1) Setting up the SA5 - connected the device directly to a laptop and logged in via the default IP with winbox
- Used the quick-settings to set it up as HomeAP, and filled in the boxes to be a fixed IP and be a DHCP server.
- immediately lost connection via winbox
- when searching for devices to connect to the MAC shows but the ip is 0.0.0.0 and not the fixed number
- why would the ip be 0.0.0.0 if I had set it as static?
- the quick-settings seem to NOT assign an IP to the bridge - is this a bug?

2) Connecting via MAC address did not always work (often received a timeout error). Had to reset to factory settings.