Community discussions

 
Freiraum
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 6:55 pm

Not able to setup equal ports

Tue Jul 12, 2016 7:02 pm

Hey!

I'm really new to RouterOS! I've configured a lot of W-Lan AP but never had so many options!

I'm trying to configure an AP/Switch for a LAN. I'm in event business and want to use some Routerboard 951 for building a control lan for my mixers, controller, iPad,....
I'm really unable to configure the ports and the wlan as equal ports. I don't need Internet connection, firewall,....

Could someone explain me how to do this? Winbox is installed and I'm able to connect ;-)

Thnx a lot!
 
User avatar
cdiedrich
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 926
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 2:03 pm
Location: Basel, Switzerland // Bremen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Not able to setup equal ports

Wed Jul 13, 2016 2:14 pm

Hey Freiraum,

what do you mean with "equal ports"?
For getting qualified help, I'd suggest you post the output of /export compact here so we can have a look at your config.

Cheers from another events business guy,
-Chris
Christopher Diedrich
MTCNA, MTCUME, MTCWE
Basel, Switzerland
Bremen, Germany

There are 10 types of people: Those who understand binary and those who don't.
There are two types of people: Those who can extrapolate from incomplete data
 
User avatar
nickshore
Member
Member
Posts: 473
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 4:14 pm
Location: Suffolk, UK.
Contact:

Re: Not able to setup equal ports

Wed Jul 13, 2016 4:11 pm

Assuming no config: (you can get to this by going to System - Reset-Configuration and selecting no default config)

Go to interfaces -> ethernet, and set the master port on each of ether2-ether5 to ether1

Go to Bridge
add a bridge

Go to Bridge -> Ports
add ether1 and wlan1 into the bridge

Go to wireless - make a security profile using dynamic keys.

Go to wireless interface, set wlan1 to be ap bridge,, set the frequency, channel width, SSID, and choose the security profile.

If you wish to manage the RB by IP then go to IP - DHCP Client, add a client on the bridge which you created earlier.



Hope that helps
Nick
Nick Shore MTCNA MTCWE MTCRE MTCINE MTCTCE
LinITX.com - MultiThread Consultants
Get your MikroTik RBs and Training: http://linitx.com/brand/mikrotik
Official UK MikroTik Distributor
IRC chan: #routerboard on irc.z.je (IPv4 and IPv6)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 35 guests