Community discussions

 
anar1120
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2016 4:31 am

Cisco -> Mikrotik

Wed Sep 21, 2016 4:50 am

Hello!

I am newcomer to mikrotik equipments.
I need some help with creating BGP configuration on mikrotik CCR1036.

The current configuration on our cisco router is:

interface GigabitEthernet1/0/0.101
description Global Internet
encapsulation dot1Q 101
ip address XXX.XXX.XXX.186 255.255.255.252

router bgp XX50
no synchronization
bgp log-neighbor-changes
network XXX.XXX.48.0 mask 255.255.248.0
neighbor XXX.XXX.XXX.185 remote-as XX204

ip route XXX.XXX.48.0 255.255.248.0 Null0
 
User avatar
Splash
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 10:09 am
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa

Re: Cisco -> Mikrotik

Fri Sep 23, 2016 10:47 am

To set up BGP on a Mikrotik router, you would need to configure both an instance and a peer. Before continuing with the basic configuration, please make sure you have enabled the "routing" packaged within your routers packages list. If you are running IBGP, you can set a local loopback IP and use that for your RouterID or if its EBGP, you can use the IP attached to the interface connected to your BGP Peer.

1. Creating a BGP Instance
/routing bgp instance
add as=64512 client-to-client-reflection=no name=bgp1 redistribute-connected=yes redistribute-static=yes router-id=1.1.1.1
2. Creating a BGP Peer
/routing bgp peer
add name=peer1 remote-address=1.1.1.2 remote-as=64513 ttl=default
If you want to specify which routes are advertised, you can remove the "redistribute-connected=yes redistribute-static=yes" and specify the networks through the following configuration.

3. Networks
/routing bgp network
add network=192.168.0.0/24 synchronize=no
MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE, MTCTCE, MTCIPv6E, MTCUME
 
ewave
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 12:08 pm
Location: india

Re: Cisco -> Mikrotik

Sat Sep 24, 2016 12:44 pm

Please Suggest Me Which Device Batter For 10mBPS Leas Line Customer........

Thanks & Regarding
Naushad Ansari
E-Wave Techno Media Solution & Service's
 
User avatar
Splash
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 10:09 am
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa

Re: Cisco -> Mikrotik

Mon Sep 26, 2016 10:49 am

Please Suggest Me Which Device Batter For 10mBPS Leas Line Customer........

Thanks & Regarding
Naushad Ansari
E-Wave Techno Media Solution & Service's
I think you should create a new post with some more detail on what you are trying to do.
MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE, MTCTCE, MTCIPv6E, MTCUME
 
User avatar
ZeroByte
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4051
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 6:08 pm

Re: Cisco -> Mikrotik

Mon Sep 26, 2016 5:55 pm

[quote="Splash"]
1. Creating a BGP Instance
/routing bgp instance
add as=64512 client-to-client-reflection=no name=bgp1 redistribute-connected=yes redistribute-static=yes router-id=1.1.1.1
I strongly advise against using redistribution in a global BGP router.
OP obviously knows the correct way to originate routes by defining the network and nailing it up with a static null route.
There is no need to dump your ASN's internals into BGP and then filter them all back out again.

Of course there are times/situations where it is necessary, but I find that many people (including my past self) just turn on redistribution in a routing protocol as a lazy way to get everything dumped into the protocol. These people will not learn how the protocol is designed to work, and will inevitably do some bad practice things that they would not otherwise have done if they understood how the protocol works.
When given a spoon,
you should not cling to your fork.
The soup will get cold.
 
ewave
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 12:08 pm
Location: india

Re: Cisco -> Mikrotik

Tue Sep 27, 2016 10:40 pm

Dear Sir,
I Have Total 20MB Bandwidth.

Managment :
I Have 10 MB reserved for small plans (512Kbps/1Mbps/2Mbps/4Mbps)
Remaining 10MB which is I want to get used to the 8 And 10Mbps Broadband plan.

please suggest me how many 10MBPS customer easily run on 10 MB Bandwidth.
And i have many competitors so that you know about any device (like SXT/LHG) which is under $ 37.63 (2500 INR.) with best performance..

Thanks & Regarding
Naushad Ansari
E-Wave Techno Media Solution & Services
 
ewave
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 12:08 pm
Location: india

Re: Cisco -> Mikrotik

Thu Oct 20, 2016 2:59 pm

Dear Sir,
I Have 20 Mbps Bandwidth, Sir Please Tell Me How Many (4Mbps, 2Mbps, 6Mbps) Customer's able to run on this portal.

Equipment Details:
B.T.S. =>
Router--> Mikrotik RB850
Repeater--> Mikrotik OMNI

Access Point =>
SXT 5 Hnd
Repeater=> Mikrotik Metal
 
ewave
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 12:08 pm
Location: india

Re: Cisco -> Mikrotik

Thu Oct 20, 2016 3:12 pm

Hi,
i am starting my New WISP and have Setup Test Base Station and a Microtik CPE for testing.Which is working fine at the moment.
My next step is putting up a MAST for base sation (which is in prograss) and secure a leased line.
I have looked on the internet but i couldn't find the answer to my question. I need a tool to calculate the contention ratio for me.
So if i want to get 20 MB Leased Line. How many users i will be able to have on a given bandwidth e.g if 5MB or 8 MB per user. also if i change the contention ratio how much increase in number of users i will get.
I hope i have made my question clear but if you need more information please ask.

Thanks & Regarding
Naushad Ansari
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7604
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: Cisco -> Mikrotik

Thu Oct 20, 2016 3:33 pm

If you sell 10mbits to someone who uses it, you cannot sell the same again to anyone else. Otherwise they both will start to complain and will resign at contract. I can imagine you can sell it to 15 customers if you provide them 100mbits in total. But not in your case as you described.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests