Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
dougy
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2016 5:32 am

IPTV

Mon Oct 24, 2016 3:47 am

I'm switching out my Asus RT-N66U (running Asuswrt-Merlin) for an RB3011. I've found how to set most everything but am baffled by IPTV. In the LAN settings of the Asus there is an IPTV tab where I can set the ISP profile, the VLAN ID, the PRIO and enabling the multicast routing. Any help would be appreciated.
 
olkitu
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2016 7:04 pm

Re: IPTV

Mon Oct 24, 2016 10:58 pm

Try this: https://www.taisto.org/RouterOS_IPTV/en

I maked this manual for Sonera IPTV, working...
Network Specialist

Need know where is cellular tower? Try CellMapper to get know where is cellular tower:
https://www.cellmapper.net/map
 
dougy
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2016 5:32 am

Re: IPTV

Tue Oct 25, 2016 12:16 am

Thanks for the info, unfortunately the linked page asks me to "install multicast-6.24rc4-mipsbe.npk into the RouterOS operating system RouterOS#P.C3.A4ivitt.C3.A4minen following these instructions" which is a Finnish page that doesn't translate. Does that second page just tell me now to install the npk?
 
User avatar
jenechka
newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 4:30 pm
Location: Russian Federation, Siberia

Re: IPTV

Sat Oct 29, 2016 4:37 pm

I'm switching out my Asus RT-N66U (running Asuswrt-Merlin) for an RB3011. I've found how to set most everything but am baffled by IPTV. In the LAN settings of the Asus there is an IPTV tab where I can set the ISP profile, the VLAN ID, the PRIO and enabling the multicast routing. Any help would be appreciated.
router os 6 not supported iptv

even if you set up according to the instructions, the router creates an excessive load on the network, channel and a processor, as a result of the connection is lost, hope to version 7 this defect, there is the same if you put the IPTV set-top box to the router
 
mleonidov
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 10:21 am

Re: IPTV

Sat Oct 29, 2016 7:38 pm

http://www.technotrade.com.ua/Articles/ ... krotik.php
Hap AC excellent work with IPTV and not freeze internet even Wi-Fi
 
User avatar
docmarius
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1225
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 12:04 pm
Location: Timisoara, Romania
Contact:

Re: IPTV

Sat Oct 29, 2016 9:19 pm

even if you set up according to the instructions, the router creates an excessive load on the network, channel and a processor, as a result of the connection is lost, hope to version 7 this defect, there is the same if you put the IPTV set-top box to the router
Routing power does not come for free. Get a more powerful one and it will work. Just don't expect miracles from a sub-$50 device. And probably v7 will not solve anything for the same hardware.
Torturing CCR1009-7G-1C-1S+, RB450G, RB750GL, RB951G-2HnD, RB960PGS, RB260GSP, OmniTIK 5HnD and NetMetal 922UAGS-5HPacD + R11e-5HnD in my home network.
 
User avatar
jenechka
newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 4:30 pm
Location: Russian Federation, Siberia

Re: IPTV

Sun Oct 30, 2016 3:42 am

Routing power does not come for free. Get a more powerful one and it will work. Just don't expect miracles from a sub-$50 device. And probably v7 will not solve anything for the same hardware.
Sales there are many routers to $ 30, which perfectly IPTV broadcast, so the price does not mean a great performance, I am able to spend $ 500, and if the device is fully fulfill my requirements, please visit the forum carefully, in version 7 will be a complete IPTV support
 
User avatar
docmarius
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1225
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 12:04 pm
Location: Timisoara, Romania
Contact:

Re: IPTV

Sun Oct 30, 2016 8:52 am

... in version 7 will be a complete IPTV support
We have to see v7 first. For the moment it is a kind of unicorn, probably available in the next decade.
Until then, the only option to discipline IPTV on a MT is CPU based, so the low end models don't cut it (I was referring to MT low cost routers only in the prev. post).
Torturing CCR1009-7G-1C-1S+, RB450G, RB750GL, RB951G-2HnD, RB960PGS, RB260GSP, OmniTIK 5HnD and NetMetal 922UAGS-5HPacD + R11e-5HnD in my home network.
 
olkitu
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2016 7:04 pm

Re: IPTV

Sat Nov 19, 2016 12:22 am

Thanks for the info, unfortunately the linked page asks me to "install multicast-6.24rc4-mipsbe.npk into the RouterOS operating system RouterOS#P.C3.A4ivitt.C3.A4minen following these instructions" which is a Finnish page that doesn't translate. Does that second page just tell me now to install the npk?
Oh, seems not translated... So just download package from http://www.mikrotik.com/download (Included in Extra packages). So download Extra package and extract that. You get multicast package, so drag and drop to winbox or use SSH. Put that to /root on Mikrotik and then reboot. Package will installed and now you see IGMP proxy under /routing

On my network IPTV working well with Mikrotik ARM and HAP AC wireless ok. IPTV need 5-10Mbps (10Mbps if HD).
Network Specialist

Need know where is cellular tower? Try CellMapper to get know where is cellular tower:
https://www.cellmapper.net/map

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Kazbek and 42 guests