Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
usman123
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 4:15 pm

Vlan Load Balancing

Wed Oct 26, 2016 12:19 pm

Hi

please help me configuration of vlan load balancing with cisco switch in Mikrotik.
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7602
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: Vlan Load Balancing

Wed Oct 26, 2016 1:11 pm

How?
 
usman123
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 4:15 pm

Re: Vlan Load Balancing

Thu Oct 27, 2016 12:00 pm

i am waiting expert answers.
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7602
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: Vlan Load Balancing

Thu Oct 27, 2016 12:10 pm

Do you believe that experts have a crystal ball? You have not asked any question, so what answer do you expect?
 
usman123
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 4:15 pm

Re: Vlan Load Balancing

Fri Oct 28, 2016 9:53 am

my question is that how to configure 10 wan load balancing using cisco switch with vlan in mikrotik.
 
usman123
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 4:15 pm

Re: Vlan Load Balancing

Fri Oct 28, 2016 9:54 am

in easy words how to configure vlan load balancing.
 
User avatar
blajah
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 224
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2015 8:58 pm
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Contact:

Re: Vlan Load Balancing

Fri Oct 28, 2016 10:24 am

Like Jarda has said, if you want to get answers, you need to explain what do you have :
*equipment
*configurations
*goal you are trying to reach

Imagine this:
I have problem with my car. I want to drive. Can you help me?
I have bigger routing table.
 
usman123
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 4:15 pm

Re: Vlan Load Balancing

Mon Oct 31, 2016 9:49 am

sorry for my incomplete question.actually i have one RB750 and one cisco switch 2960 also 10 wan adsl connection.i want to loadbalancing with cisco switch is it possible?because RB750 have five ports.how to do loadbalancing with cisco switch?
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7602
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: Vlan Load Balancing

Mon Oct 31, 2016 9:54 am

Use vlans.
 
usman123
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 4:15 pm

Re: Vlan Load Balancing

Mon Oct 31, 2016 10:29 am

how?
 
usman123
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 4:15 pm

Re: Vlan Load Balancing

Mon Oct 31, 2016 10:31 am

kidly guide me the configuration of vlans
 
User avatar
cdiedrich
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 939
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 2:03 pm
Location: Basel, Switzerland // Bremen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Vlan Load Balancing

Mon Oct 31, 2016 10:33 am

Creating vlans:
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Interface/VLAN

Use those as interfaces in your load balanciing setup like this:
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Improved_ ... e_Gateways

-Chris
Christopher Diedrich
MTCNA, MTCUME, MTCWE
Basel, Switzerland
Bremen, Germany

There are 10 types of people: Those who understand binary and those who don't.
There are two types of people: Those who can extrapolate from incomplete data
 
usman123
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 4:15 pm

Re: Vlan Load Balancing

Mon Oct 31, 2016 11:31 am

which scenerio is used in my case?inter vlan routing?
 
usman123
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 4:15 pm

Re: Vlan Load Balancing

Mon Oct 31, 2016 11:36 am

anyone have vlan loadbalancing script or configuration?
 
User avatar
cdiedrich
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 939
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 2:03 pm
Location: Basel, Switzerland // Bremen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Vlan Load Balancing

Mon Oct 31, 2016 11:43 am

No, you won't deal with inter-vlan routing.
Your scenario is "Load Balancing over Multiple Gateways" as soundly described in the second link I provided.
The only difference in your scenario is that the multiple gateways are not terminating on physical interfaces but on vlans.
Free your mind from "vlan load balancing" and just focus on multiple gateways. Replace every referenced interface with your appropriate vlan and it will work right away.
-Chris
Christopher Diedrich
MTCNA, MTCUME, MTCWE
Basel, Switzerland
Bremen, Germany

There are 10 types of people: Those who understand binary and those who don't.
There are two types of people: Those who can extrapolate from incomplete data
 
usman123
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 4:15 pm

Re: Vlan Load Balancing

Mon Oct 31, 2016 12:18 pm

please can you provide more detail as a example?
 
User avatar
cdiedrich
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 939
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 2:03 pm
Location: Basel, Switzerland // Bremen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Vlan Load Balancing

Mon Oct 31, 2016 12:26 pm

On your switch, create ten vlans, say 1011 - 1020.
Create an access port for each vlan where you plug in your DSL links accordingly.
Create a trunk port with all those vlans on it and connect it to your router.

On your router, create those ten vlans attached to the physical trunk port interface.
If necessary, create PPPoE-Clients on those vlans.
Assign the appropriate IP addresses or DHCP-clients to those either PPPoE-Clients or vlans.

Then go ahead with the load balancing manual referenced above and set interfaces accordingly.
-Chris
Christopher Diedrich
MTCNA, MTCUME, MTCWE
Basel, Switzerland
Bremen, Germany

There are 10 types of people: Those who understand binary and those who don't.
There are two types of people: Those who can extrapolate from incomplete data

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 53 guests