Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
homerwsmith
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 147
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2011 3:01 am
Location: Ithaca, NY
Contact:

Interfaces out of order!

Thu Nov 03, 2016 9:04 am

What is the relationship between a hard port like ether1 on the front of the 1100RB and the ether name in the
show interfaces button in winbox.

Normally I plug a wire into etherX on the front of the box, and etherX shows it is running in the display.

Today I uploaded a slighly older backup from another box onto a box running 6.37.1

Suddenly hard port 1 was ether10 and everything was scrambled, as the IP assignments, that were on display ether10
showed up on hard port ether1

How can this even happen and can I correct it without have to hand configure the second box from scratch?

Thank you for your attention and efforts,

Homer W Smith
CEO Lightlink Internet
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7602
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: Interfaces out of order!

Sat Nov 05, 2016 8:54 am

Backups are only and only for the same device running the same ros version.

Make full reset without defaults and put the latest working exported config via import procedure back.
 
User avatar
BartoszP
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1769
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 1:13 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Interfaces out of order!

Sat Nov 05, 2016 10:02 am

What is the relationship between a hard port like ether1 on the front of the 1100RB and the ether name in the
show interfaces button in winbox.....
You can change the name of interface as you wish so there could be no relation between real port and its name in the configuration.
Real admins use real keyboards.
 
User avatar
che
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:04 pm

Re: Interfaces out of order!

Sat Nov 05, 2016 4:56 pm

It is a common "feature", since MikroTik staff stated many times that bakcups are intended for the same boards.

What you can do if you want to avoid wiping complete confinguration is reset each interface mac address, then go to Interfaces and open Ethernet tab, sort them by mac address and rename them accordingly.
 
User avatar
homerwsmith
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 147
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2011 3:01 am
Location: Ithaca, NY
Contact:

Re: Interfaces out of order!

Wed Nov 09, 2016 5:43 am

Thank you all for your answers.

I find however the situation to be difficult in a real world scenario.

We have a number of RB1100's out in the wild, installed at various time that are left to run until they fail.
General policy is not to fix what ain't broke, and so we do not upgrade as upgrades are available, lest something break
irretrievably.

We also have RB1100's in house as backups for when one in the field dies, like from lightning.

We have nightly config backups on our the remote routers which are ftp'd back to
a central server.

Usually the OS 6.x versions of the backup routers in house are different from the routers in the field, the house routers
are newer for example and come with newer firmware.

So if one dies in the field, we take its last backup, stick it on one in the house, and it fails because what? Not the same
OS 6.x version? Sorry that is a real big problem.

Is this because the RB1100's are different or because the various versions of OS6.x are different?

If the RB's are identical machines, but with different OS versions, would this be a problem?

Since router boards are changing all the time, what dependable solution do I have to quickly
replace a field router with a LARGE complicated config as fast as possible?

Thanks for your time,

Homer

CEO Lightlink Internet
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7602
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: Interfaces out of order!

Wed Nov 09, 2016 6:18 am

Have you ever heard of export and import commands? Even there are differences between the versions but you can easily adapt the script before the import accordingly to the actual syntax.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 72 guests