Community discussions

MikroTik App

Blueresto
just joined
Topic Author

Forward Ports for OpenVPN

Sun Nov 06, 2016 9:31 am

I've installed OpenVPN on a Raspberry Pi. I've set up the following nat rule on my RB to allow traffic in:
/ip firewall nat add chain=dstnat dst-port=1194 action=dst-nat protocol=udp to-address=10.0.0.3 to-port=1194
I can see this rule increment when I attempt to connect, but the connection eventually fails. I've also attempted to specify the in-interface so that I didn't leave the rule too broad, but then I don't see the rule increment.

This is frustrating because I've read a ton of posts on these boards and most of them are easily solved by pointing out a typo in the /ip firewall command, or having something backwards. As far as I can tell I've got everything set up correctly.

I will admit that I'm relatively new to both RB products and OpenVPN, so I'm certain I've overlooked something.

pukkita
Trainer
Trainer

Re: Forward Ports for OpenVPN

Sun Nov 06, 2016 11:04 am

Can you post the firewall filter rules?
/ip firewall filter export

mpreissner

Mon Nov 07, 2016 1:32 pm

You need 2 rules to properly port forward. You already have the NAT rule, but now you need a filter rule in the FORWARD chain. Use this...assuming your inbound interface is ether1:
/ip firewall filter add chain=forward dst-port=1194 protocol=udp dst-address=10.0.0.3 in-interface=ether1 action=accept

proximus
Member Candidate
Member Candidate

Mon Nov 07, 2016 2:56 pm

A couple of thoughts:

1) Since you are not translating ports, you do not need the "to-port=1194"

2) I'm forwarding to an internal OpenVPN server and it works fine without any other additional forward chain firewall rules. But, if all else fails, give it a shot.

I work with just this (using tcp)
/ip firewall nat
add action=dst-nat chain=dstnat comment=OpenVPN dst-port=1194 in-interface=ether1-gateway log-prefix=openvpn \
    protocol=tcp to-addresses=192.168.1.56