Community discussions

 
maedo
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2015 1:08 pm

CCR 1036 routing performance between local 10. and 192. subnet

Sun Nov 27, 2016 12:13 pm

Hello,
this is my situation: Subnet 192.x.x.x and Subnet 10.x.x.x connected via one Switch to a CCR 1036. The switch is connected with 2 ethernet connections to port 5 and port 6 from my CCR 1036. The internet gateway is realized through a CCR1036.

When I run iperf between 2 different subnets the maximal reached performance is 200MBit/s, running iperf between hosts from the same subnet the performance is about 900-1000MBit/s

So I assume that I did something wrong on the router but I have no idea what, Based on the Wiki is is possible to add multiple addresses on one Interface without VLAN.
The setup is simple, one interface for the WAN and 2 ethernet interfaces connected to the same switch.

# NAME TYPE ACTUAL-MTU L2MTU MAX-L2MTU MAC-ADDRESS
0 R WAN ether 1472 1580 10222 E4:8D:8C:10:E9:04
4 R ether5 ether 1500 1580 10222 E4:8D:8C:10:E9:08
5 R ether6 ether 1500 1580 10222 E4:8D:8C:10:E9:09

12 chain=srcnat action=masquerade src-address=10.230.96.0/24 dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 out-interface=WAN log=no log-prefix=""
16 chain=srcnat action=masquerade src-address=192.168.115.0/24 dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 out-interface=WAN log=yes log-prefix=""

0 ;;; public_IP_03
x.x.x.254/29 x.x.x.248 WAN
4 10.230.96.1/24 10.230.96.0 ether5
5 192.168.115.1/24 192.168.115.0 ether6

Suggestions are welcome
Maedo
 
User avatar
BlackVS
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 171
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 7:00 pm
Contact:

Re: CCR 1036 routing performance between local 10. and 192. subnet

Sun Nov 27, 2016 2:33 pm

Subnet 192.x.x.x and Subnet 10.x.x.x connected via one Switch to a CCR 1036.
VLANs or just L2 switch?
The switch is connected with 2 ethernet connections to port 5 and port 6 from my CCR 1036.
Why do you use 2 Ethernet connections from one switch? It is in any case wrong (except some special cases)...

In the case of VLANs use one trunk connections.
If you use no VLANs when you probably have problem with L2 looping - switch and router both may block/limit connection for such case....
I.e. use two switches - for each LAN subnet own one, in such case each switch can be connected separately to router.
Or use VLANs + trunk connection...
 
maedo
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2015 1:08 pm

Re: CCR 1036 routing performance between local 10. and 192. subnet

Sun Nov 27, 2016 8:13 pm

Hello and Thanks,

Netgear L2/L3 switch but only used to perform L2 switching without VLAN
I will replace the wrong copper connection and will run iperf again

bb
Maedo
 
maedo
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2015 1:08 pm

Re: CCR 1036 routing performance between local 10. and 192. subnet

Mon Nov 28, 2016 8:17 pm

Hello,

I have still the same issue. The performance between routed subnet are round about 120MBit/s. Do I have to work with mangle rules for routing?

kind regards
Maedo
 
tr00g33k
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 84
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2015 3:58 pm

Re: CCR 1036 routing performance between local 10. and 192. subnet

Tue Nov 29, 2016 6:16 pm

So you unpluged one of the cables and did what ? Plug it into another switch ? Please draw as what setup you have right now.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 19 guests