Community discussions

 
tedder
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 11:47 pm
Location: Portland OR USA
Contact:

new hAP ac, bricked it

Tue Jan 17, 2017 11:52 pm

I put the routeros-mipsbe-6.38.1.npk file on the root of my routerboard and rebooted it. Now it is bricked- in a continuous reboot loop.

I've tried holding the reset button for 1sec, 5sec, 10sec on boot. I think my only remaining option is netinstall, but I don't have a Windows machine anywhere. OSX only.

I do have another Mikrotik board. Can I do a netinstall from that? Do I have any other options aside from scrounging up a Windows box to do netinstall?
 
olkitu
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2016 7:04 pm

Re: new hAP ac, bricked it

Wed Jan 18, 2017 11:45 am

Netinstall fix that bootloop so i think you need find Windows computer... Or maybe you can run that on Virtualbox...
Network Specialist

Need know where is cellular tower? Try CellMapper to get know where is cellular tower:
https://www.cellmapper.net/map
 
Quared
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2013 8:29 am
Location: Central Europe

Re: new hAP ac, bricked it

Wed Jan 18, 2017 1:05 pm

Hello,

using current version of Virtualbox, setting up (for example) minimal feature version of Windows XP and enabling direct access to LAN port might be your best option.
Just choose your virtual network adapter to operate in mode 'network bridge' and select physical LAN Interface from dropdown list.
Running any version of Winbox and netinstall from VM should work properly then.

Hope that helps

greets
 
tedder
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 11:47 pm
Location: Portland OR USA
Contact:

Re: new hAP ac, bricked it

Wed Jan 18, 2017 10:15 pm

Thanks. I used those IE-windows images and Virtualbox. It didn't take too much to figure it out from there.

Glad Virtualbox is an option for MacOS/OSX.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests