Page 1 of 1

Connectivity 2 IP different range

Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2017 10:55 am
by aarango
Hi,

I would like to configure 2 different subnet and that they have connectivity. I explain:

Port 2 Mikrotik -> Switch with 30 laptop (range 192.168.100.0/24)
Port 5 Mikrotik -> 1 mail server with IP different (192.168.1.20 for example)

I want both ports to have connectivity to each other. If I from 192.168.100.23 for example do ping to 192.168.1.20 I can access.

Will I need some extra config? Vlan? Accept traffic from firewall?

Thanks.

Re: Connectivity 2 IP different range

Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2017 1:20 pm
by msatter
Try again after changing the subnets to /16.

Re: Connectivity 2 IP different range

Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2017 2:10 pm
by tr00g33k
You can assingn IP on port 2: 192.168.100.1/24
assing IP on port 5: 192.168.1.1/24
ip address add interface=Eth2 address=192.168.100.1/24
ip address add interface=Eth5 address=192.168.1.1/24
Than create firewall rules:
ip fire fil add chain=forward src-address=192.168.1.0/24 dst-address=192.168.100.0/24 action=accept
ip fire fil add chain=forward src-address=192.168.100.0/24 dst-address=192.168.1.0/24 action=accept

Re: Connectivity 2 IP different range

Posted: Wed Feb 08, 2017 8:08 am
by aarango
Thanks. I will do it in this days, I was a little busy, sorry.

Re: Connectivity 2 IP different range

Posted: Wed Feb 08, 2017 8:22 am
by dgnevans
Dont change it to a /16 that is not required. Do as tr00g33k says. You probably will not need the firewall rules. Just make sure the gateway on the devices behind the routers are the routers ip for the corresponding subnet

ie mail server
ip 192.168.1.20
subnet 255.255.255.0
gateway 192.168.1.1

Re: Connectivity 2 IP different range

Posted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 8:15 pm
by lowbytes
First of all thanks for this thread !
I´ve successfully added a mikrotik router between my 2 Networks
But i do have a 2nd problem

1st Network DSL Line 6 Mbit - Fritzbox 7490 Net 192.168.232.0/24 - Router ip 192.168.232.123
Mikrotik connected by ethernet1 with ip 192.168.232.250

2nd Network Cable Line 120 Mbit - Fritzbox 6490 Net 192.168.123.0/24 - Router ip 192.168.123.1
Mikrotik connected by ethernet2 with ip 192.168.123.250

DHCP Server on 1st Netwotk ist disabled - a static route is set to each fritzbox ( 192.168.232.0 255.255.255.0 via 192.168.123.250 and 192.168.123.0 255.255.255.0 via 192.168.232.250)
i can fully access all clients from the 1st network to the 2nd and retour! So for this case everything is fine!

Now my problem ...... Network 1 is also connected to an external net by vpn Tunnel - the remote network address is 192.168.178.0/24
The vpn is a connection via DSL Internet to another Fritzbox
Is it possible to change my configuration that i can also access the 192.168.178.0 net from a client within the 192.168.123.0 Net ?

Sorry for bad gramma - my native language is german!

Regards Mikel

Re: Connectivity 2 IP different range

Posted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 9:40 pm
by dgnevans
If all the networks connect on the same router that the vpn to the remote network connects then this is possible by either configuring static routes on either side of vpn or configuring ospf or similar routing protocol on both sides of vpn to advertise the networks connected.

Re: Connectivity 2 IP different range

Posted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 10:03 pm
by lowbytes
The VPN is established by the Fritzbox at Net 1 - all local clients in Network1 can access all clients at the remote network
that means all members of net 1 192.168.232.0 are able to communicate with all members of net 192.168.178.0 (Remote Network)
All members of net2 192.168.123.0 can communicate with all members of net1 192.168.232.0
The configuration of the mikrotek is exactly as tr00g33k wrote - so the configuration as described is 100% okay
there´s no need for ability to acces Net1 or Net2 from the VPN Remote net - its only much more comfortable to direct access the Remote net from Net2
Of course ich can access the Remote net by enabling vpn client software on my Mac - which is connected to net2 - but it drives me crazy not fixing this small issue........

Any suggestion???

Re: Connectivity 2 IP different range

Posted: Fri Feb 10, 2017 5:28 pm
by lowbytes
Hi all
Success
That simple - adding a static Route 192.168.178.0/24 via 192.168.232.123 did the job!
THAT EASY!

Regards Mikel