Community discussions

 
lutfilailaina
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 12:07 pm

HELP - Share With Hostname

Thu Feb 23, 2017 12:21 pm

anyone help me, i can't access share folder with hostname. but if i access with ip, there are no problem. i use RB750
i have tology like this :
Port 1 : ISP - DHCP Client
Port 2 : LAN for 1st floor and 2nd floor - 192.168.1.0/25
Port 3 : LAN for 3rd floor and 4rd floor - 192.168.1.129/25

I get trouble with share folder if i access with computer name.

ex. from 1st floor ping to 3rd floor with IP and i access with \\xxx.xxx.xxx.xx no problem, but if i can't ping with comp name \\CompName and i can't acces it


Somebody can help me.

Thank's Before
 
erlinden
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 1:59 pm

Re: HELP - Share With Hostname

Thu Feb 23, 2017 2:32 pm

Can you post an ipconfig /all. Perhaps clients don't resolve names with the RB750 but instead are using your ISP (or Googles) DNS servers.
 
User avatar
soonwai
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 163
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 10:50 pm
Location: Kuala Lumpur

Re: HELP - Share With Hostname

Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:53 pm

What are you using for DNS server?
 
janus20
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2016 10:31 am
Location: Pitesti, Romania

Re: HELP - Share With Hostname

Thu Feb 23, 2017 11:40 pm

Hi,

Are all pc/laptop from 1st-4rd floor into the same WORKGROUP/DOMAIN ?

kind regards,
 
lutfilailaina
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 12:07 pm

Re: HELP - Share With Hostname

Fri Feb 24, 2017 5:50 am

Hi,

Are all pc/laptop from 1st-4rd floor into the same WORKGROUP/DOMAIN ?

kind regards,
all pc set into same WORKGROUP, but not in a DOMAIN
 
lutfilailaina
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 12:07 pm

Re: HELP - Share With Hostname

Fri Feb 24, 2017 5:52 am

What are you using for DNS server?
i use Google DNS, but i enable for "Allow Remote Requests"
 
erlinden
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 1:59 pm

Re: HELP - Share With Hostname

Fri Feb 24, 2017 10:22 am

Do you think Google knows about your (internal) hostnames? Well actually...they might :)

Make sure the RB750 is used as the only DNS server on your clients. This way only non-internal hosts are revolved by public DNS servers.
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4798
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: HELP - Share With Hostname

Fri Feb 24, 2017 5:30 pm

What kind of hostname / computer name we're talking about? Is it:

a) Something registered in DNS. If all your computers use router as DNS resolver, you could have e.g. pc1.my.lan with address 192.168.1.50 in "/ip dns static" and you'd use \\pc1.my.lan to access it.
b) Just a name, not registered anywhere. You're using just \\pc1, which always worked fine in same LAN.

If the answer is a), then it should work. If it's b), then it can't just work by itself. You'd need to either set static DNS entries as described in a), or you'd need to have WINS server and let all computers register their names there.
People who quote full posts should be spanked with ethernet cable. Some exceptions for multi-topic threads may apply.
 
User avatar
null31
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 177
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 6:07 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: HELP - Share With Hostname

Sat Feb 25, 2017 6:58 pm

You can try do this to add static dns with the hostname and ip to connect in shares.
> https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Setting_ ... DHCP_lease

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 38 guests