Community discussions

 
tiger4020
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 11:05 am

Tower 1 to Tower 2 transport data

Thu Feb 23, 2017 1:08 pm

Hello everyone,
I have Image

The radios at tower 1 are connected fine to tower 2. I get speeds of above 35Mbps. But the data being pulled at tower 2 when I connect the ptp to the AP's (via a switch) does not exceed 6Mbps.

Getting a lot of customer complains from clients connected to tower 2 AP's.

After studying my case it looks like I need a router at tower 2 instead of a switch.

Please guide me how do I go about this.

Thank you.
scenario.png
Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk
Last edited by tiger4020 on Thu Feb 23, 2017 1:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
IPANetEngineer
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1053
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 6:46 am
Location: Jackson, MS, USA
Contact:

Re: Tower 1 to Tower 2 transport data

Thu Feb 23, 2017 6:25 pm

Ideally you need a router at each tower and start with OSPF. BGP is really ideal in the long term as OSPF quickly becomes unmanageable for traffic engineering but you can get started with OSPF. because you are PPPoE based, you can use EoIP until you are comfortable enough to use VPLS over OSPF which is the best way.

Take a look at this example:

http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:OSPF-examples

And then build it virtually with CHR in GNS3 before you try to convert in production. We use GNS3 so much to validate networks for our consulting that we have entire servers dedicated to it so we can spin up dozens of routers if need be.

https://www.gns3.com/
Global - MikroTik Support & Consulting - English | Francais | Español | Portuguese +1 855-645-7684
https://iparchitechs.com/services/mikro ... l-support/ mikrotiksupport@iparchitechs.com
 
tiger4020
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 11:05 am

Re: Tower 1 to Tower 2 transport data

Thu Feb 23, 2017 6:30 pm

I tried OSPF but at the main router I won't see the tower 2 router under main router neighbor list.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1963
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: Tower 1 to Tower 2 transport data

Fri Feb 24, 2017 12:00 am

I'm pretty sure you have a wireless problem not bridge/routing problem.
 
tiger4020
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 11:05 am

Re: Tower 1 to Tower 2 transport data

Fri Feb 24, 2017 3:33 pm

It was a switch problem.. installed a new mikrotik in bridge mode.. Everything is back to normal.. but with the increasing number of users on tower 2 I need to setup OSPF.



Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1963
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: Tower 1 to Tower 2 transport data

Fri Feb 24, 2017 7:34 pm

But a mikrotik in bridge mode is like a software switch. Are you sure your switch wasn't a bad one?
 
tiger4020
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 11:05 am

Re: Tower 1 to Tower 2 transport data

Fri Feb 24, 2017 7:43 pm

I am sure it went bad..

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 28 guests