Community discussions

rvdvalk
Topic Author

PPTP & Routing

Thu May 04, 2017 5:26 pm

Hello,

This is my first time working with Mikrotik hardware so sorry asking basic questions.

I've setup a PPTP connection between the office and "home office" using two hEX gateways.
PPTP VB.png
I have some difficulty connecting from the home network to the office.
If I ping from the Mikrotik device at home and I select PPTP interface I'm able to ping the office 192.168.2.x, but if I ping from my laptop (192.168.88.x) I'm not able to ping the 192.168.2.x network.
The pool used for the PPTP connections is 192.168.2.250-254

Anybody that knows what I'm missing?

Thanks in advance.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

matiaszon

Re: PPTP & Routing

Fri May 05, 2017 4:16 pm

Can you ping the private IP of your PPTP server (I guess it's 192.168.2.1?) using your laptop from home?

rvdvalk
Topic Author

Sat May 06, 2017 9:29 am

No I can't.

I can ping from the hEX at home to 192.168.2.1, not from my laptop.
I'm thinking about an routing error but can't seem to figure it out.

Revelation

Sat May 06, 2017 8:29 pm

You're going to have to provide configs for people to figure out what is going on. You simply haven't provided enough information.

When you copy and paste in your configs, change your WAN IPs to a private IP address.

idlemind
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Tue May 09, 2017 7:54 am

PPTP doesn't traverse a NAT gateway. If you need NAT traversal which your drawing indicates it does switch to a different technology like IPSec w/NAT-T enabled.

Good luck.

rvdvalk
Topic Author

Tue May 09, 2017 5:09 pm

This is the config.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

mikronsultiK
just joined

Wed May 10, 2017 1:25 am

No I can't.

add a NAT rule to masquerade all traffic going trough the PPTP link :
/ip firewall nat
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat disabled=no out-interface=pptp-out1