Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
Mimiko
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 3:28 pm

Port trunking witj vlan tagged.

Sat May 20, 2017 3:41 pm

Hello.
On a CRS125-24G-1S-2HnD I've configured VLAN with port 24 as master (on switch) and VLAN trunk to other switch. It is working ok. I want to Trunk ports 23 and 24 for 2Gb to other switch and have tagged VLANs pass. I've created a trunk with:
/interface ethernet switch trunk> print
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid
# NAME MEMBER-PORTS
0 trunk-uplink ether24
ether23

Assigned tagged ports to trunk-uplink. And it is working.

/interface ethernet switch egress-vlan-tag> print
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, D - dynamic
# VLAN-ID TAGGED-PORTS
0 8 trunk-uplink
switch1-cpu
1 9 trunk-uplink
switch1-cpu
2 10 trunk-uplink
switch1-cpu
3 1 trunk-uplink
switch1-cpu
4 11 trunk-uplink
switch1-cpu
5 D 4095


But I've seen another option: Bonding.

What is the difference between bonding and port trunking? I know that in switches trunking is pairing ports to multiply speed between switches. And bonding is the same in unix systems. In case of RouterOS port trunking is working on switch chip and bonding on cpu? Is my trunking configuration correct from speed point of view?
 
Revelation
Member
Member
Posts: 338
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2015 5:59 am

Re: Port trunking witj vlan tagged.

Sun May 21, 2017 4:46 am


What is the difference between bonding and port trunking? I know that in switches trunking is pairing ports to multiply speed between switches. And bonding is the same in unix systems. In case of RouterOS port trunking is working on switch chip and bonding on cpu? Is my trunking configuration correct from speed point of view?
No, trunking is allowing multiple VLANs over a single interface. Bonding, ether-channel, port-channel, aggregation all refer to combining multiple physical interfaces into one logical interface.
 
Mimiko
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 3:28 pm

Re: Port trunking witj vlan tagged.

Mon May 22, 2017 8:21 am

No, trunking is allowing multiple VLANs over a single interface.
What is the difference between:
/interface ethernet switch trunk
/interface ethernet switch egress-vlan-tag
 
kamillo
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 5:44 pm

Re: Port trunking witj vlan tagged.

Mon May 22, 2017 10:22 am

Check mikrotik's wiki pages:

https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Interface/Bonding
https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:C ... s#Trunking
https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:C ... s#Trunking

You can use LACP but this will be without hardware support, only software. I'm not sue if CRS125 has powerful enough CPU to do that.
You can use other bonding modes
 
Mimiko
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 3:28 pm

Re: Port trunking witj vlan tagged.

Mon May 22, 2017 11:29 am

Thanks kamillo for answer.

I've alreade checked wiki before posting. It is ambiguous about bonding and trunking. On wiki CRS Trunking example link is shown that CRS uses Trunking and other RouterOS use bonding. But CRS also have Bonding option. So why in that example CRS and other RouterOS does not use bonding on both ends. So, technically bonding and trunking are the same thing done on different hardware level? Trunking is simple static bonding working on switch chip and bonding is working on CPU? Then Trunking have better speed.
 
kamillo
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 5:44 pm

Re: Port trunking witj vlan tagged.

Mon May 22, 2017 1:16 pm

Yes, this is how I understand that. Trunking will have better speed on CRS but no LACP. If you want LACP you need to use bonding but this is only supported in software.
As far as I know CRS switch chip is capable of handling LACP but this was never implemented in RouterOS.

It looks like LACP is supported in SwOS on some new switches:
What's new in v2.1:

*) added support for per port and ACL ingress rate limitation to CSS326 & CRS317;
*) [b]added support for LACP in CSS326 & CRS317[/b];
*) fixed CSS106 accessing over VLAN;
*) fixed CSS106 ACL rules that change VLANs;
*) added tx/rx rates per port to CSS106;
*) SNMP: added support for BRIDGE MIB;
*) SNMP: added support for GetBulkRequest;
I would assume they are talking about hardware support but I'm not 100% sure.
 
Revelation
Member
Member
Posts: 338
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2015 5:59 am

Re: Port trunking witj vlan tagged.

Mon May 22, 2017 3:42 pm

No, trunking is allowing multiple VLANs over a single interface.
What is the difference between:
/interface ethernet switch trunk
/interface ethernet switch egress-vlan-tag
The ethernet switch egress-vlan-tag command is for when you want to tag traffic leaving a particular interface with a specific VLAN tag.
 
Mimiko
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 3:28 pm

Re: Port trunking witj vlan tagged.

Mon May 22, 2017 3:43 pm

Thanks for reply. Now is more clear. Trunking is the way to go, as it can handle cable fault and load balancing as I've seen from field testing.

So when also working with VLANs on this trunk: /interface ethernet switch vlan
For each VLAN do I have to add each port (23 and 24) or the trunk-uplink?
The same question is for Egress VLAN Tag
 
Revelation
Member
Member
Posts: 338
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2015 5:59 am

Re: Port trunking witj vlan tagged.

Mon May 22, 2017 3:48 pm

Thanks for reply. Now is more clear. Trunking is the way to go, as it can handle cable fault and load balancing as I've seen from field testing.

So when also working with VLANs on this trunk: /interface ethernet switch vlan
For each VLAN do I have to add each port (23 and 24) or the trunk-uplink?
The same question is for Egress VLAN Tag
If the traffic is already being tagged, then no you do not. Typically traffic is tagged on the inbound port unless it is an attached device that is capable of VLAN tagging. You will have to "play around" to be sure.

Also, I learned something new. Mikrotik uses virtual Trunk interfaces for link aggregation. So my original post was not entirely accurate.

Where trunk1 is the virtual Trunk interface.
/interface ethernet
set ether6 master-port=ether2
set ether7 master-port=ether2
set ether8 master-port=ether2

/interface ethernet switch trunk
add name=trunk1 member-ports=ether6,ether7,ether8
 
Mimiko
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 3:28 pm

Re: Port trunking witj vlan tagged.

Mon May 22, 2017 3:54 pm

No, trunking is allowing multiple VLANs over a single interface.
You misunderstand the terms. VLAN trunking what you see in examples on the internet is technically incorrect. Even when configurring Egress VLAN Tag - there is no mention for "trunking" word. "Trunking" is combining multiple links into one to have more speed and/or balance. Yes, logically a link, which handle multiple tagged VLANs maybe named as a trunk. As for example PRI trunk. But its good to differenciate "Trunking" and "VLAN Trunking".
Mikrotik uses virtual Trunk interfaces for link aggregation.
I've already done that configuration. My question was using "trunk1" in /interface ethernet switch vlan
 
Mimiko
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 3:28 pm

Re: Port trunking witj vlan tagged.

Mon May 22, 2017 3:56 pm

/interface ethernet switch vlan
add ports=trunk-uplink,switch1-cpu vlan-id=11
add ports=trunk-uplink,switch1-cpu vlan-id=8
or
/interface ethernet switch vlan
add ports=ether24,ether23,switch1-cpu vlan-id=11
add ports=ether24,ether23,switch1-cpu vlan-id=8
 
Mimiko
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 3:28 pm

Re: Port trunking witj vlan tagged.

Mon May 22, 2017 4:53 pm

Some communication with mikrotik gave'd this result on difference between bondign and trunking:
CRS125 you can create bonding, but it will use large part of CPU. Notice that bonded links on CRS125 will work like fail-over feature, because there are only 1gbps link connection between switch and CPU:
Image

So, Trunking will have both load-balancing and fault-tolerance.
 
kamillo
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 5:44 pm

Re: Port trunking witj vlan tagged.

Mon May 22, 2017 4:54 pm

From what I remember both methods will work.

If you have interfaces without vlan in a trunk and you will configure the trunk with vlans, config will be propagated to individual interfaces.

The same goes other way around if you have vlans on individual interfaces and you added them to a trunk, trunk automatically will have relevant vlans configured.

At least this is how I remember.
 
Mimiko
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 3:28 pm

Re: Port trunking witj vlan tagged.

Tue May 23, 2017 9:15 am

With help from support, the right way to define is:
/interface ethernet switch vlan add ports=trunk-uplink,switch1-cpu vlan-id=11
 
kamillo
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 5:44 pm

Re: Port trunking witj vlan tagged.

Tue May 23, 2017 10:45 am

Thanks, for sharing. Good to know
 
Revelation
Member
Member
Posts: 338
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2015 5:59 am

Re: Port trunking witj vlan tagged.

Wed May 24, 2017 4:12 am

You misunderstand the terms. VLAN trunking what you see in examples on the internet is technically incorrect. Even when configurring Egress VLAN Tag - there is no mention for "trunking" word. "Trunking" is combining multiple links into one to have more speed and/or balance. Yes, logically a link, which handle multiple tagged VLANs maybe named as a trunk. As for example PRI trunk. But its good to differenciate "Trunking" and "VLAN Trunking".
Well no. Mikrotik uses different terminology than other vendors. I do this for a living, every other vendor equipment I work with - a trunk is a single physical interface with multiple VLANs.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jparis, solar77, wyre and 45 guests