Community discussions

 
Lex1020
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 4:07 pm

Second Mikrotik IP address

Fri Jun 02, 2017 2:41 am

I have 2 Mikrotiks hAP AC sitting behind my ISP modem.

It goes Modem -> Mikrotik -> Mikrotik

The first mikrotik took on the address of 192.168.88.1 (like it's supposed to) but when I plugged the second Mikrotik in I don't know what it's IP address became. I couldn't connect to it with Winbox even using MAC connection. I eventually solved this by plugging the second mikrotik directly into the modem, getting its address (192.168.0.3) from there, logging in via the web interface and configuring it to be 192.168.88.100. After that I was able to find it when I reconnect it to the first Mikrotik.

My question is two fold.
First why did this happen where I couldn't connect to the second mikrotik?

Second what IP address does a second Mikrotik take when NAT behind a mikrotik?

I eventually want to get some more devices but I'd like a easier set up.

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk
 
User avatar
matiaszon
Member
Member
Posts: 305
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 9:26 am

Re: Second Mikrotik IP address

Fri Jun 02, 2017 1:54 pm

Wiat a second, I will get my crystal ball fixed and get back to you shortly...

1. First of all, what is the firewall of your network? Is it modem, that assigns 192.168.0.0/24 addresses or is the one of your MikroTiks?
2. Do you have public IP assigned to modem, or MikroTik?
3. What do you mean by "first MikroTik" and "second MikroTik"? Your scheme doesn't show anything.
4. How we can answer your questions, while you haven't shown us configs of your both MikroTiks?
/export hide-sensitive
 
Lex1020
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 4:07 pm

Re: RE: Re: Second Mikrotik IP address

Fri Jun 02, 2017 2:37 pm

Wiat a second, I will get my crystal ball fixed and get back to you shortly...

1. First of all, what is the firewall of your network? Is it modem, that assigns 192.168.0.0/24 addresses or is the one of your MikroTiks?
2. Do you have public IP assigned to modem, or MikroTik?
3. What do you mean by "first MikroTik" and "second MikroTik"? Your scheme doesn't show anything.
4. How we can answer your questions, while you haven't shown us configs of your both MikroTiks?
/export hide-sensitive
1. Modem
2. Modem
3. It's listed but here it is again. My ISP modem is WAN 192.168.0.1 my first Mikrotik is connected to it 192.168.0.2 (192.168.88.1) my second mikrotik is connected to my first mikrotik (NOT MODEM) 192.168.88.2
4. Why would I post the configuration? It's working now so i don't have the problem anymore.

The question was simple. hAP AC takes the ip of 192.168.88.1 when NATd. What ip will a second hAP AC take if 192.168.88.1 is already taken?

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk
 
User avatar
matiaszon
Member
Member
Posts: 305
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 9:26 am

Re: Second Mikrotik IP address

Fri Jun 02, 2017 4:20 pm

Was trying to help you understand the issue, but it seems you are too arrogant. What was the purpose of your post anyway, if you "don't have problems anymore"?
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7604
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: Second Mikrotik IP address

Fri Jun 02, 2017 5:26 pm

Actually there is a problem of triple nat (or dual at least, depending on where you put what wire)... And next mikrotik devices in default config could start to malfunction due to routing problems. But if it does not matter...
This is not about mikrotik but about general networking knowledge and network design.
 
Lex1020
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 4:07 pm

Re: RE: Re: Second Mikrotik IP address

Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:42 pm

Was trying to help you understand the issue, but it seems you are too arrogant. What was the purpose of your post anyway, if you "don't have problems anymore"?
You came off arrogant to start with. I'm just reciprocating.

The purpose, for the third time, is to find out what IP address a second mikrotik takes if the first one uses the default 192.168.88.1. Since you have to configure the hAP AC before it can be used you have to have an IP to connect to it to configure it.

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk
 
Lex1020
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 4:07 pm

Re: RE: Re: Second Mikrotik IP address

Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:52 pm

Actually there is a problem of triple nat (or dual at least, depending on where you put what wire)... And next mikrotik devices in default config could start to malfunction due to routing problems. But if it does not matter...
This is not about mikrotik but about general networking knowledge and network design.
It is double NAT, but it has to be. My ISPs modem is configured to VLSN on a CIDR 31 so it only dishes 3 IPs. And it's Coax which the hAPs don't support.

Only the first Mikrotik NATs.

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk
 
Lex1020
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 4:07 pm

Re: RE: Re: Second Mikrotik IP address

Fri Jun 02, 2017 8:06 pm

Actually there is a problem of triple nat (or dual at least, depending on where you put what wire)... And next mikrotik devices in default config could start to malfunction due to routing problems. But if it does not matter...
This is not about mikrotik but about general networking knowledge and network design.
I ISP wants me to pay monthly for their router/modem combo. When I refused they gave me this modem that only allowed 2 IPs (3 including itself).

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7604
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: Second Mikrotik IP address

Sat Jun 03, 2017 3:44 pm

Let the modem operate in transparent bridge mode and do the rest in your own router as you wish. If there are any obstacles from the isp, change the provider...
 
Lex1020
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 4:07 pm

Re: RE: Re: Second Mikrotik IP address

Sat Jun 03, 2017 3:51 pm

Let the modem operate in transparent bridge mode and do the rest in your own router as you wish. If there are any obstacles from the isp, change the provider...
That's a good idea. I hadn't thought of trying that. But wouldn't that place the modem in the DMZ?

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7604
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: Second Mikrotik IP address

Sat Jun 03, 2017 7:37 pm

Do not care about the modem. It is a supplier's device out of your network. Just let it have different network address than your network range and it will be accessible from the internal network by the outbound masquerade nat rule.
 
Lex1020
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 4:07 pm

Re: RE: Re: Second Mikrotik IP address

Sat Jun 03, 2017 7:38 pm

Do not care about the modem. It is a supplier's device out of your network. Just let it have different network address than your network range and it will be accessible from the internal network by the outbound masquerade nat rule.
Ok. Thanks.

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk
 
User avatar
matiaszon
Member
Member
Posts: 305
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 9:26 am

Re: RE: Re: Second Mikrotik IP address

Sun Jun 04, 2017 10:02 pm

Was trying to help you understand the issue, but it seems you are too arrogant. What was the purpose of your post anyway, if you "don't have problems anymore"?
You came off arrogant to start with. I'm just reciprocating.

The purpose, for the third time, is to find out what IP address a second mikrotik takes if the first one uses the default 192.168.88.1. Since you have to configure the hAP AC before it can be used you have to have an IP to connect to it to configure it.

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk
If I would have finished only with the "crystal ball" sentence, I would agree with you.
Nevermind.
Hope the problem is solved anyway.
 
User avatar
k6ccc
Member
Member
Posts: 480
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 12:01 am
Location: Glendora, CA, USA (near Los Angeles)

Re: RE: Re: Second Mikrotik IP address

Sun Jun 04, 2017 11:40 pm

The purpose, for the third time, is to find out what IP address a second mikrotik takes if the first one uses the default 192.168.88.1. Since you have to configure the hAP AC before it can be used you have to have an IP to connect to it to configure it.
192.168.88.1

As far as I know, when using the factory default config, every Mikrotik router defaults to DHCP client on one port (what would normally be the WAN port), and 192.168.88.1 on the LAN port(s). It has no way of knowing that it is downstream of another router.
RB750Gr3, RB750r2, CRS326-24G-2S (in SwitchOS), CSS326-24G-2S, CSS106-5G-1S, RB260GS
Not sure if I beat them in submission, or they beat me into submission


Jim
 
Lex1020
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 4:07 pm

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Second Mikrotik IP address

Mon Jun 05, 2017 12:19 am

The purpose, for the third time, is to find out what IP address a second mikrotik takes if the first one uses the default 192.168.88.1. Since you have to configure the hAP AC before it can be used you have to have an IP to connect to it to configure it.
192.168.88.1

As far as I know, when using the factory default config, every Mikrotik router defaults to DHCP client on one port (what would normally be the WAN port), and 192.168.88.1 on the LAN port(s). It has no way of knowing that it is downstream of another router.
Thank you. That's essentially what my question way. I know they default to .88.1 so I was wondering if it defaults to a different IP if there's already a 192.168.88.1

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot] and 27 guests