Page 1 of 1

Upgrading network

Posted: Tue Jul 25, 2017 2:39 am
by miltont
Greetings
Current network needs to be bigger
I need little help, i need to upgrade from a 192.168.1.0/24 network to a 192.168.1.0/22
So i can have 192.168.2.0/24 and 192.168.3.0/24 networks for additional virtual machines and physical machines
I wanted this networks scopes for DHCP Leases..
Default Gateway 192.168.1.1
DNS: 192.168.1.6 & 192.168.1.70

I currently have 1 Router only, just changing the subnet mask on interfaces to 255.255.252.0
on all network devices should do it? or there should be other stuff in consideration??

Re: Upgrading network

Posted: Tue Jul 25, 2017 1:20 pm
by cdiedrich
Indeed that should be basically it.
Don't forget to adjust your IP pool to the appropriate size - first usable address is 192.168.0.1, last usable is 192.168.3.254.
Mask out a range for static addresses.

As you seem to have a clear plan of which range to be used for which type of node - do you really need a single subnet of that size?
I always like segmenting networks...
You might consider a server subnet, a printer subnet, a dhcp-served client/workstation subnet...
Could this bean option?

-Chris

Re: Upgrading network

Posted: Tue Jul 25, 2017 4:09 pm
by miltont
yes, thats whats planned, using 192.168.1.x subnet for servers
192.168.2.x subnet for Pcs and virtual Pcs/Servers and 192.168.3.x subent for Wifi and other devices.
thanks

Re: Upgrading network

Posted: Tue Jul 25, 2017 4:13 pm
by cdiedrich
So you now like to add networks, not expanding your existing from /24 to /22, right?
This would need a DHCP-server per network and a router IP address per network.
-Chris

Re: Upgrading network

Posted: Tue Jul 25, 2017 4:32 pm
by miltont
i thought i could use my current router 192.168.1.1 to do all routing from networks 192.168.2.x & 192.168.3.x
with just setting the subnet mask to /22

I was going to change on the router local network interface from 192.168.1.1/24 to 192.168.1.1/22

Also going to change the Ip/Subnet on the current dhcp server from 192.168.1.6/24 to 192.168.1.6/22
Adding a new scope from 192.168.2.1 to 192.168.3.254 with a subnet mask of 255.255.252.0 with dhcp options 192.168.1.1 as router(gateway) and 192.168.1.3 & 192.168.1.70
as dns servers.

Also changing on the 2 DNS Servers there subnet mask settings from 255.255.255.0 to 255.255.252.0


This wont do the job????

Re: Upgrading network

Posted: Tue Jul 25, 2017 4:34 pm
by cdiedrich
It surely would.
But I was asking if you really want to stretch your network to this size of a L2 domain.
-Chris

Re: Upgrading network

Posted: Tue Jul 25, 2017 4:37 pm
by miltont
yes its needed.


So i wont need to add routers or a router to route the traffic from those 2 Networks 192.168.2.x and 192.168.3.x ??

Or it should be sufficient just adding manually or to the dhcp options my router 192.168.1.1 ???

Re: Upgrading network

Posted: Tue Jul 25, 2017 4:42 pm
by cdiedrich
In that case, just adjust the subnet mask accordingly on every device in the network (don't forget to to adjust it in dhcp-server/networks as well) and you're done.
No need for more DHCP servers or stuff like that.
Just to be precise: 192.168.0.0 - 192.168.3.255 will not be four networks but one single (where 192.168.0.0 will be the network address and 192.168.3.255 the broadcast address) . This is why you won't need any routers.
-Chris