Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
miltont
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2015 3:58 am

Backup Link

Fri Sep 08, 2017 4:13 pm

Greetings
I wanted to know how can i make a backup route of all internet traffic on my mikrotik...
Currently i have a 3011 Router with ETH1 port fiber connection as my default connection and has a static public IP.
I want to use ETH9 port as backup(Failover) connection it has a cable modem connection with no Static Public Ip.

How can i achieve this?
 
Revelation
Member
Member
Posts: 338
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2015 5:59 am

Re: Backup Link

Mon Sep 11, 2017 4:24 am

You would set two static routes. First route will point to your first ISP and will be exactly what you use today. The second router will have a higher administrative distance, set it for say 150, and traffic will only follow the second route when the first one goes down.
 
User avatar
jspool
Member
Member
Posts: 419
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 4:06 am
Location: Oregon

Re: Backup Link

Mon Sep 11, 2017 5:22 am

Look at some of the WAN failover posts and tutorials. You should be able to use the search box on the upper right of this site to find many examples of this configuration. Obviously you would need to masquerade the traffic leaving eth 9. Bear in mind you may wish to clear connections from ip firewall connection tracking or adjust timeouts to minimize the delay when switching traffic from one WAN to another.
 
User avatar
aacable
Member
Member
Posts: 431
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 11:58 am
Location: ISLAMIC Republic of PAKISTAN
Contact:

Re: Backup Link

Mon Sep 11, 2017 1:21 pm

You would set two static routes. First route will point to your first ISP and will be exactly what you use today. The second router will have a higher administrative distance, set it for say 150, and traffic will only follow the second route when the first one goes down.
Primary Link distance = 1
Backup Link distance = 2

Let's say what will happen if the local primary ISP is reachable till there NOC, but having trouble from upstream provider ? the check gateway-ping will only ping then next hop that is either local Router (in case of dsl router) or ISP Gateway (in case of static ip or bridge mode) which will eventually always reachable , so the route will always be considered as UP. (even if the internet is actually Down)

It is recommended to configure an script that should run every mint or so via scheduler , that should check at least 2 internet hosts (that must always route via the primary link / you can do this in route section), if both hosts are unreachable then the primary link distance should be changed to 3 , so that all request should route via backup link & once the both or one internet hosts are reachable then the script should change the primary link distance back to 1
If you have single masquerade rule (without pointing the OUT interface) then you dont need any further additional rules.
_____________
Regard's

Syed Jahanzaib
Web: http://aacable.wordpress.com
Email: aacable [at] hotmail.com

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 33 guests