Community discussions

 
a752412341
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 8:01 pm

DHCP stays in "Offered" state for 2 wireless devices - Logitech Squeezeboxes

Sun Sep 10, 2017 1:44 am

I have a setup like this. I have recently changed it. Before I had the SSIDs attached directly to bridges, rather than using access list rules to directly tag the traffic onto vlans, and I did not see this issue then.
MikrotikNetwork (5)(2).png
Most of my wired and wireless client devices drop on to vlan 52. This works fine with the exception of 2 Logitech Squeezeboxes. These 2 squeezeboxes say "offered" udner DHCP leases which then counts down from 30 seconds to 0. These 2 devices never get an IP address. If I set a static IP on the devices, then they work fine.

I can't see any difference between these Squeezeboxes and any other clients.

Static Lease entry for this device
add address=192.168.52.27 always-broadcast=yes comment=IOT-Media-Squeezebox-Office mac-address=00:04:20:1E:3F:F6 server=vlan52-Client-General
Here is an excerpt of the log. Ignore the 1st CCTV entry - that is a successful offer on another vlan. The entry for the squeezebox starts at 23:33:49. How can I troubleshoot this further?

Thanks!


23:33:45 caps,info 00:04:20:1E:3F:F6@2G-wAPac-Office-1 connected 
23:33:47 dhcp,debug,packet vlan63-IOT-CCTV received request with id 1029367826 from 0.0.0.0 
23:33:47 dhcp,debug,packet     ciaddr = 192.168.63.23 
23:33:47 dhcp,debug,packet     chaddr = 00:62:6E:55:EE:DF 
23:33:47 dhcp,debug,packet     Msg-Type = request 
23:33:47 dhcp,debug,packet     Client-Id = 01-00-62-6E-55-EE-DF 
23:33:47 dhcp,debug,packet     Max-DHCP-Message-Size = 576 
23:33:47 dhcp,debug,packet     Parameter-List = Subnet-Mask,Router,Domain-Server,Host-Name,Domain-Name,Broadcast-Address,NTP-Server 
23:33:47 dhcp,debug,packet     Class-Id = "udhcp 1.21.1" 
23:33:47 dhcp,debug,packet vlan63-IOT-CCTV sending ack with id 1029367826 to 255.255.255.255 
23:33:47 dhcp,debug,packet     ciaddr = 192.168.63.23 
23:33:47 dhcp,debug,packet     yiaddr = 192.168.63.23 
23:33:47 dhcp,debug,packet     siaddr = 192.168.63.254 
23:33:47 dhcp,debug,packet     chaddr = 00:62:6E:55:EE:DF 
23:33:47 dhcp,debug,packet     Msg-Type = ack 
23:33:47 dhcp,debug,packet     Server-Id = 192.168.63.254 
23:33:47 dhcp,debug,packet     Address-Time = 86400 
23:33:47 dhcp,debug,packet     Subnet-Mask = 255.255.255.0 
23:33:47 dhcp,debug,packet     Router = 192.168.63.254 
23:33:47 dhcp,debug,packet     Domain-Server = 192.168.63.254 
23:33:47 dhcp,debug,packet     Domain-Name = "lan" 
23:33:47 dhcp,debug,packet     NTP-Server = 192.168.63.254,178.79.155.116 
23:33:49 dhcp,debug,packet vlan52-Client-General received discover with id 2139507783 from 0.0.0.0 
23:33:49 dhcp,debug,packet     flags = broadcast 
23:33:49 dhcp,debug,packet     ciaddr = 0.0.0.0 
23:33:49 dhcp,debug,packet     chaddr = 00:04:20:1E:3F:F6 
23:33:49 dhcp,debug,packet     Msg-Type = discover 
23:33:49 dhcp,debug,packet     Host-Name = "Office" 
23:33:49 dhcp,debug,packet     Client-Id = 01-00-04-20-1E-3F-F6 
23:33:49 dhcp,debug,packet     Class-Id = "Logitech" 
23:33:49 dhcp,debug,packet     Parameter-List = Subnet-Mask,Router,Domain-Server 
23:33:49 dhcp,debug,packet vlan52-Client-General sending offer with id 2139507783 to 255.255.255.255 
23:33:49 dhcp,debug,packet     flags = broadcast 
23:33:49 dhcp,debug,packet     ciaddr = 0.0.0.0 
23:33:49 dhcp,debug,packet     yiaddr = 192.168.52.27 
23:33:49 dhcp,debug,packet     siaddr = 192.168.52.254 
23:33:49 dhcp,debug,packet     chaddr = 00:04:20:1E:3F:F6 
23:33:49 dhcp,debug,packet     Msg-Type = offer 
23:33:49 dhcp,debug,packet     Server-Id = 192.168.52.254 
23:33:49 dhcp,debug,packet     Address-Time = 86400 
23:33:49 dhcp,debug,packet     Subnet-Mask = 255.255.255.0 
23:33:49 dhcp,debug,packet     Router = 192.168.52.254 
23:33:49 dhcp,debug,packet     Domain-Server = 192.168.52.254 
23:33:50 dhcp,debug,packet vlan52-Client-General received discover with id 2641946330 from 0.0.0.0 
23:33:50 dhcp,debug,packet     secs = 1 
23:33:50 dhcp,debug,packet     flags = broadcast 
23:33:50 dhcp,debug,packet     ciaddr = 0.0.0.0 
23:33:50 dhcp,debug,packet     chaddr = 00:04:20:1E:3F:F6 
23:33:50 dhcp,debug,packet     Msg-Type = discover 
23:33:50 dhcp,debug,packet     Host-Name = "Office" 
23:33:50 dhcp,debug,packet     Client-Id = 01-00-04-20-1E-3F-F6 
23:33:50 dhcp,debug,packet     Class-Id = "Logitech" 
23:33:50 dhcp,debug,packet     Parameter-List = Subnet-Mask,Router,Domain-Server 
23:33:50 dhcp,debug,packet vlan52-Client-General sending offer with id 2641946330 to 255.255.255.255 
23:33:50 dhcp,debug,packet     flags = broadcast 
23:33:50 dhcp,debug,packet     ciaddr = 0.0.0.0 
23:33:50 dhcp,debug,packet     yiaddr = 192.168.52.27 
23:33:50 dhcp,debug,packet     siaddr = 192.168.52.254 
23:33:50 dhcp,debug,packet     chaddr = 00:04:20:1E:3F:F6 
23:33:50 dhcp,debug,packet     Msg-Type = offer 
23:33:50 dhcp,debug,packet     Server-Id = 192.168.52.254 
23:33:50 dhcp,debug,packet     Address-Time = 86400 
23:33:50 dhcp,debug,packet     Subnet-Mask = 255.255.255.0 
23:33:50 dhcp,debug,packet     Router = 192.168.52.254 
23:33:50 dhcp,debug,packet     Domain-Server = 192.168.52.254 
23:33:52 dhcp,debug,packet vlan52-Client-General received discover with id 435098706 from 0.0.0.0 
23:33:52 dhcp,debug,packet     secs = 3 
23:33:52 dhcp,debug,packet     flags = broadcast 
23:33:52 dhcp,debug,packet     ciaddr = 0.0.0.0 
23:33:52 dhcp,debug,packet     chaddr = 00:04:20:1E:3F:F6 
23:33:52 dhcp,debug,packet     Msg-Type = discover 
23:33:52 dhcp,debug,packet     Host-Name = "Office" 
23:33:52 dhcp,debug,packet     Client-Id = 01-00-04-20-1E-3F-F6 
23:33:52 dhcp,debug,packet     Class-Id = "Logitech" 
23:33:52 dhcp,debug,packet     Parameter-List = Subnet-Mask,Router,Domain-Server 
23:33:52 dhcp,debug,packet vlan52-Client-General sending offer with id 435098706 to 255.255.255.255 
23:33:52 dhcp,debug,packet     flags = broadcast 
23:33:52 dhcp,debug,packet     ciaddr = 0.0.0.0 
23:33:52 dhcp,debug,packet     yiaddr = 192.168.52.27 
23:33:52 dhcp,debug,packet     siaddr = 192.168.52.254 
23:33:52 dhcp,debug,packet     chaddr = 00:04:20:1E:3F:F6 
23:33:52 dhcp,debug,packet     Msg-Type = offer 
23:33:52 dhcp,debug,packet     Server-Id = 192.168.52.254 
23:33:52 dhcp,debug,packet     Address-Time = 86400 
23:33:52 dhcp,debug,packet     Subnet-Mask = 255.255.255.0 
23:33:52 dhcp,debug,packet     Router = 192.168.52.254 
23:33:52 dhcp,debug,packet     Domain-Server = 192.168.52.254 
23:33:56 dhcp,debug,packet vlan52-Client-General received discover with id 1638532878 from 0.0.0.0 
23:33:56 dhcp,debug,packet     secs = 7 
23:33:56 dhcp,debug,packet     flags = broadcast 
23:33:56 dhcp,debug,packet     ciaddr = 0.0.0.0 
23:33:56 dhcp,debug,packet     chaddr = 00:04:20:1E:3F:F6 
23:33:56 dhcp,debug,packet     Msg-Type = discover 
23:33:56 dhcp,debug,packet     Host-Name = "Office" 
23:33:56 dhcp,debug,packet     Client-Id = 01-00-04-20-1E-3F-F6 
23:33:56 dhcp,debug,packet     Class-Id = "Logitech" 
23:33:56 dhcp,debug,packet     Parameter-List = Subnet-Mask,Router,Domain-Server 
23:33:56 dhcp,warning vlan52-Client-General offering lease 192.168.52.27 for 00:04:20:1E:3F:F6 without success 
23:33:56 dhcp,debug,packet vlan52-Client-General sending offer with id 1638532878 to 255.255.255.255 
23:33:56 dhcp,debug,packet     flags = broadcast 
23:33:56 dhcp,debug,packet     ciaddr = 0.0.0.0 
23:33:56 dhcp,debug,packet     yiaddr = 192.168.52.27 
23:33:56 dhcp,debug,packet     siaddr = 192.168.52.254 
23:33:56 dhcp,debug,packet     chaddr = 00:04:20:1E:3F:F6 
23:33:56 dhcp,debug,packet     Msg-Type = offer 
23:33:56 dhcp,debug,packet     Server-Id = 192.168.52.254 
23:33:56 dhcp,debug,packet     Address-Time = 86400 
23:33:56 dhcp,debug,packet     Subnet-Mask = 255.255.255.0 
23:33:56 dhcp,debug,packet     Router = 192.168.52.254 
23:33:56 dhcp,debug,packet     Domain-Server = 192.168.52.254 
23:34:04 dhcp,debug,packet vlan52-Client-General received discover with id 1604883277 from 0.0.0.0 
23:34:04 dhcp,debug,packet     secs = 15 
23:34:04 dhcp,debug,packet     flags = broadcast 
23:34:04 dhcp,debug,packet     ciaddr = 0.0.0.0 
23:34:04 dhcp,debug,packet     chaddr = 00:04:20:1E:3F:F6 
23:34:04 dhcp,debug,packet     Msg-Type = discover 
23:34:04 dhcp,debug,packet     Host-Name = "Office" 
23:34:04 dhcp,debug,packet     Client-Id = 01-00-04-20-1E-3F-F6 
23:34:04 dhcp,debug,packet     Class-Id = "Logitech" 
23:34:04 dhcp,debug,packet     Parameter-List = Subnet-Mask,Router,Domain-Server 
23:34:04 dhcp,debug,packet vlan52-Client-General sending offer with id 1604883277 to 255.255.255.255 
23:34:04 dhcp,debug,packet     flags = broadcast 
23:34:04 dhcp,debug,packet     ciaddr = 0.0.0.0 
23:34:04 dhcp,debug,packet     yiaddr = 192.168.52.27 
23:34:04 dhcp,debug,packet     siaddr = 192.168.52.254 
23:34:04 dhcp,debug,packet     chaddr = 00:04:20:1E:3F:F6 
23:34:04 dhcp,debug,packet     Msg-Type = offer 
23:34:04 dhcp,debug,packet     Server-Id = 192.168.52.254 
23:34:04 dhcp,debug,packet     Address-Time = 86400 
23:34:04 dhcp,debug,packet     Subnet-Mask = 255.255.255.0 
23:34:04 dhcp,debug,packet     Router = 192.168.52.254 
23:34:04 dhcp,debug,packet     Domain-Server = 192.168.52.254 

DHCP config
/ip dhcp-server
add add-arp=yes address-pool=vlan51-Client-Admin always-broadcast=yes disabled=no interface=bridge-51-Client-Admin lease-time=1d name=vlan51-Client-Admin
add add-arp=yes address-pool=vlan52-Client-General always-broadcast=yes authoritative=after-2sec-delay disabled=no interface=bridge-52-Client-General lease-time=1d name=vlan52-Client-General
add add-arp=yes address-pool=vlan53-Client-Kids always-broadcast=yes disabled=no interface=bridge-53-Client-Kids lease-time=1d name=vlan53-Client-Kids
add add-arp=yes address-pool=vlan54-Client-Guest always-broadcast=yes disabled=no interface=bridge-54-Client-Guest lease-time=1d name=vlan54-Client-Guest
add add-arp=yes address-pool=vlan61-IOT-Media always-broadcast=yes disabled=no interface=bridge-61-IOT-Media lease-time=1d name=vlan61-IOT-Media
add add-arp=yes address-pool=vlan62-IOT-HA always-broadcast=yes disabled=no interface=bridge-62-IOT-HA lease-time=1d name=vlan62-IOT-HA
add add-arp=yes address-pool=vlan63-IOT-CCTV always-broadcast=yes disabled=no interface=bridge-63-IOT-CCTV lease-time=1d name=vlan63-IOT-CCTV
add address-pool=vlan71-Servers-General delay-threshold=10s disabled=no interface=bridge-71-Servers-General lease-time=1d name=vlan71-Servers-General
add add-arp=yes address-pool=vlan81-Servers-DMZ always-broadcast=yes disabled=no interface=bridge-81-Servers-DMZ lease-time=1d name=vlan81-Servers-DMZ
add add-arp=yes address-pool=vlan82-VOIP disabled=no interface=bridge-82-VOIP lease-time=1d name=vlan82-VOIP
add add-arp=yes address-pool=vlan99-Management always-broadcast=yes disabled=no interface=bridge-99-Management lease-time=1d name=vlan99-Management


Here's my interfaces export
[admin@hAPac-Main Router] /interface> export hide-sensitive 
# sep/09/2017 23:36:00 by RouterOS 6.40.2
# software id = NG1Y-BM7M
#
# model = RouterBOARD 962UiGS-5HacT2HnT
# serial number = 6F1206C86AC7
/interface bridge
add name=bridge-51-Client-Admin
add name=bridge-52-Client-General
add name=bridge-53-Client-Kids
add name=bridge-54-Client-Guest
add name=bridge-61-IOT-Media
add name=bridge-62-IOT-HA
add name=bridge-63-IOT-CCTV
add name=bridge-71-Servers-General
add name=bridge-81-Servers-DMZ
add name=bridge-82-VOIP
add name=bridge-99-Management
add name=bridge-vlans-LocalCAP
/interface ethernet
set [ find default-name=ether1 ] comment=LAN name=ether1-LAN
set [ find default-name=ether2 ] comment=RB951G l2mtu=1526 mtu=1508 name=ether2-WAN-RB951G
set [ find default-name=ether3 ] l2mtu=1526
set [ find default-name=ether4 ] master-port=ether1-LAN
set [ find default-name=ether5 ] master-port=ether1-LAN
/interface wireless
# managed by CAPsMAN
# channel: 2442/20-eC/gn(20dBm), SSID: wifi350, local forwarding
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] band=2ghz-b/g/n bridge-mode=disabled channel-width=20/40mhz-eC country="united kingdom" disabled=no frequency=auto mode=ap-bridge ssid=MikroTik wireless-protocol=802.11
# managed by CAPsMAN
# channel: 5200/20-eCee/ac(23dBm), SSID: wifi350, local forwarding
set [ find default-name=wlan2 ] disabled=no ssid=MikroTik
/interface vlan
add interface=bridge-vlans-LocalCAP name=vlan51-Client-Admin vlan-id=51
add interface=bridge-vlans-LocalCAP name=vlan52-Client-General vlan-id=52
add interface=bridge-vlans-LocalCAP name=vlan53-Client-Kids vlan-id=53
add interface=bridge-vlans-LocalCAP name=vlan54-Client-Guest vlan-id=54
add interface=bridge-vlans-LocalCAP name=vlan61-IOT-Media vlan-id=61
add interface=bridge-vlans-LocalCAP name=vlan62-IOT-HA vlan-id=62
add interface=bridge-vlans-LocalCAP name=vlan63-IOT-CCTV vlan-id=63
add interface=bridge-vlans-LocalCAP name=vlan71-Servers-General vlan-id=71
add interface=bridge-vlans-LocalCAP name=vlan81-Servers-DMZ vlan-id=81
add interface=bridge-vlans-LocalCAP name=vlan82-VOIP vlan-id=82
add interface=bridge-vlans-LocalCAP name=vlan99-Management vlan-id=99
/interface ethernet switch port
set 3 default-vlan-id=99 vlan-header=always-strip vlan-mode=secure
/interface list
add name=List-LAN
add name="List-All Client"
add name="List-All Servers"
add name="List-All Clients exc. Kids"
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] authentication-types=wpa2-psk eap-methods="" supplicant-identity=MikroTik
add authentication-types=wpa2-psk eap-methods="" mode=dynamic-keys name=temp2wifi350 supplicant-identity=MikroTik
add authentication-types=wpa2-psk eap-methods="" mode=dynamic-keys name=tempwifi350 supplicant-identity=MikroTik
add authentication-types=wpa2-psk eap-methods="" management-protection=allowed mode=dynamic-keys name=tempguest supplicant-identity=""
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge-51-Client-Admin interface=vlan51-Client-Admin
add bridge=bridge-52-Client-General interface=vlan52-Client-General
add bridge=bridge-53-Client-Kids interface=vlan53-Client-Kids
add bridge=bridge-54-Client-Guest interface=vlan54-Client-Guest
add bridge=bridge-61-IOT-Media interface=vlan61-IOT-Media
add bridge=bridge-62-IOT-HA interface=vlan62-IOT-HA
add bridge=bridge-63-IOT-CCTV interface=vlan63-IOT-CCTV
add bridge=bridge-71-Servers-General interface=vlan71-Servers-General
add bridge=bridge-81-Servers-DMZ interface=vlan81-Servers-DMZ
add bridge=bridge-82-VOIP interface=vlan82-VOIP
add bridge=bridge-99-Management interface=vlan99-Management
add bridge=bridge-vlans-LocalCAP interface=ether1-LAN
add bridge=bridge-82-VOIP interface=ether3
/interface list member
add interface=bridge-51-Client-Admin list=List-LAN
add interface=bridge-52-Client-General list=List-LAN
add interface=bridge-51-Client-Admin list="List-All Client"
add interface=bridge-52-Client-General list="List-All Client"
add interface=bridge-53-Client-Kids list="List-All Client"
add interface=bridge-54-Client-Guest list="List-All Client"
add interface=bridge-71-Servers-General list="List-All Servers"
add interface=bridge-81-Servers-DMZ list="List-All Servers"
/interface ovpn-server server
set certificate=myCa cipher=blowfish128,aes128,aes192,aes256 default-profile=OpenVPNprofile enabled=yes require-client-certificate=yes
/interface wireless cap
# 
set bridge=bridge-vlans-LocalCAP discovery-interfaces=bridge-99-Management enabled=yes interfaces=wlan1,wlan2

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
lambert
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 532
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 1:09 am

Re: DHCP stays in "Offered" state for 2 wireless devices - Logitech Squeezeboxes

Sun Sep 10, 2017 10:03 am

If you're using access-lists, to put things into VLANs, we may need to see the access-lists.

Other times I see things like this, I'm not using ACLs, it is due to packet loss from the router (dhcp server) and the client device. Sometimes it's wireless loss, sometimes it's a bad ethernet cable on the other side of a wireless link. That's my network, every client is on the other side of a wireless link.

Using a laptop and the same ACL as the squeezeboxes, in the same location, do you get a good lease? Of course it could come down to the wireless device in the squeezebox and how it interacts with the ACLs for some reason.

If this were wired, you could mirror the traffic and dump it to see if the packet is returning to the client device. Unfortunately, you're dealing with a blackbox wireless device. It's possible you can dump the wireless traffic, but I can't tell you how to do it.
 
a752412341
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 8:01 pm

Re: DHCP stays in "Offered" state for 2 wireless devices - Logitech Squeezeboxes

Sun Sep 10, 2017 1:40 pm

Thanks Lambert.

I've plugged one of them directly into the router (hAP-AC) and joined that port (ether4) to the "Servers" bridge which is the same subnet containing the Logitech Media Server.

I still have the same issue, so that excludes wireless.

I can see the DHCP requests coming in, but I can't see anything in the log showing an offer going back out?
11:35:55 dhcp,debug,packet vlan71-Servers-General received discover with id 666527576 from 0.0.0.0 
11:35:55 dhcp,debug,packet     ciaddr = 0.0.0.0 
11:35:55 dhcp,debug,packet     chaddr = 00:04:20:26:98:36 
11:35:55 dhcp,debug,packet     Msg-Type = discover 
11:35:55 dhcp,debug,packet     Client-Id = 01-00-04-20-26-98-36 
11:35:55 dhcp,debug,packet     Max-DHCP-Message-Size = 576 
11:35:55 dhcp,debug,packet     Parameter-List = Subnet-Mask,Router,Domain-Server,Host-Name,Domain-Name,Broadcast-Address,NTP-Server 
11:35:55 dhcp,debug,packet     Class-Id = "udhcp 1.18.2" 
11:35:55 dhcp,debug,packet     Host-Name = "SqueezeboxRadio" 
11:35:59 dhcp,debug,packet vlan71-Servers-General received discover with id 666527576 from 0.0.0.0 
11:35:59 dhcp,debug,packet     ciaddr = 0.0.0.0 
11:35:59 dhcp,debug,packet     chaddr = 00:04:20:26:98:36 
11:35:59 dhcp,debug,packet     Msg-Type = discover 
11:35:59 dhcp,debug,packet     Client-Id = 01-00-04-20-26-98-36 
11:35:59 dhcp,debug,packet     Max-DHCP-Message-Size = 576 
11:35:59 dhcp,debug,packet     Parameter-List = Subnet-Mask,Router,Domain-Server,Host-Name,Domain-Name,Broadcast-Address,NTP-Server 
11:35:59 dhcp,debug,packet     Class-Id = "udhcp 1.18.2" 
11:35:59 dhcp,debug,packet     Host-Name = "SqueezeboxRadio" 
11:36:02 dhcp,debug,packet vlan71-Servers-General received discover with id 666527576 from 0.0.0.0 
11:36:02 dhcp,debug,packet     ciaddr = 0.0.0.0 
11:36:02 dhcp,debug,packet     chaddr = 00:04:20:26:98:36 
11:36:02 dhcp,debug,packet     Msg-Type = discover 
11:36:02 dhcp,debug,packet     Client-Id = 01-00-04-20-26-98-36 
11:36:02 dhcp,debug,packet     Max-DHCP-Message-Size = 576 
11:36:02 dhcp,debug,packet     Parameter-List = Subnet-Mask,Router,Domain-Server,Host-Name,Domain-Name,Broadcast-Address,NTP-Server 
11:36:02 dhcp,debug,packet     Class-Id = "udhcp 1.18.2" 
11:36:02 dhcp,debug,packet     Host-Name = "SqueezeboxRadio" 
 
lambert
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 532
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 1:09 am

Re: DHCP stays in "Offered" state for 2 wireless devices - Logitech Squeezeboxes

Mon Sep 11, 2017 4:19 am

You didn't show us your access-list which puts the device into the correct VLAN.

Another thought:

Do all static leases have the always-broadcast=yes option? It is not a default option so could be something which is "different".
add address=192.168.52.27 always-broadcast=yes comment=IOT-Media-Squeezebox-Office mac-address=00:04:20:1E:3F:F6 server=vlan52-Client-General
That's not the lease for the MAC you're testing with and showing us log entries. You may want to show us the lease entry for this MAC address so that we can know that it is actually as described.
 
a752412341
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 8:01 pm

Re: DHCP stays in "Offered" state for 2 wireless devices - Logitech Squeezeboxes

Mon Sep 11, 2017 12:00 pm

Hi Lambert,

Here is the current access list. BUT, this Squeezebox Radio device is now on wired ethernet, so the access list is not relevant.
/caps-man access-list
add action=accept comment=OfficeSqueezebox disabled=yes mac-address=00:04:20:1E:3F:F6 ssid-regexp="" vlan-id=71 vlan-mode=use-tag
add action=accept comment="Playroom Squeezebox" disabled=yes mac-address=00:04:20:1E:3F:5A ssid-regexp="" vlan-id=71 vlan-mode=use-tag
add comment="Kitchen Squeezebox" disabled=yes mac-address=00:04:20:26:98:36 ssid-regexp="" vlan-id=71 vlan-mode=use-tag
add action=accept comment="Kids Tablet 1" disabled=no mac-address=D8:50:E6:2E:0A:9E ssid-regexp="" vlan-id=53 vlan-mode=use-tag
add action=accept comment="Kids Tablet 2" disabled=no mac-address=AC:22:0B:A0:EE:10 ssid-regexp="" vlan-id=53 vlan-mode=use-tag
add action=accept comment="Lenovo Laptop" disabled=yes mac-address=24:77:03:D3:B9:CC ssid-regexp="" vlan-id=99 vlan-mode=use-tag
add action=accept disabled=no interface=all signal-range=-75..120 ssid-regexp=""
add action=reject disabled=no interface=all signal-range=-120..-90 ssid-regexp=""
Looking through the log I have one other device that is behaving the same way, it is another Logitech device a Harmony Hub, and it is on Wireless.

Here is logging showing both devices.
09:52:47 dhcp,debug,packet vlan71-Servers-General received discover with id 3180450137 from 0.0.0.0 
09:52:47 dhcp,debug,packet     ciaddr = 0.0.0.0 
09:52:47 dhcp,debug,packet     chaddr = 00:04:20:26:98:36 
09:52:47 dhcp,debug,packet     Msg-Type = discover 
09:52:47 dhcp,debug,packet     Client-Id = 01-00-04-20-26-98-36 
09:52:47 dhcp,debug,packet     Max-DHCP-Message-Size = 576 
09:52:47 dhcp,debug,packet     Parameter-List = Subnet-Mask,Router,Domain-Server,Host-Name,Domain-Name,Broadcast-Address,NTP-Server 
09:52:47 dhcp,debug,packet     Class-Id = "udhcp 1.18.2" 
09:52:47 dhcp,debug,packet     Host-Name = "SqueezeboxRadio" 
09:52:51 dhcp,debug,packet vlan71-Servers-General received discover with id 3180450137 from 0.0.0.0 
09:52:51 dhcp,debug,packet     ciaddr = 0.0.0.0 
09:52:51 dhcp,debug,packet     chaddr = 00:04:20:26:98:36 
09:52:51 dhcp,debug,packet     Msg-Type = discover 
09:52:51 dhcp,debug,packet     Client-Id = 01-00-04-20-26-98-36 
09:52:51 dhcp,debug,packet     Max-DHCP-Message-Size = 576 
09:52:51 dhcp,debug,packet     Parameter-List = Subnet-Mask,Router,Domain-Server,Host-Name,Domain-Name,Broadcast-Address,NTP-Server 
09:52:51 dhcp,debug,packet     Class-Id = "udhcp 1.18.2" 
09:52:51 dhcp,debug,packet     Host-Name = "SqueezeboxRadio" 
09:52:54 dhcp,debug,packet vlan71-Servers-General received discover with id 3180450137 from 0.0.0.0 
09:52:54 dhcp,debug,packet     ciaddr = 0.0.0.0 
09:52:54 dhcp,debug,packet     chaddr = 00:04:20:26:98:36 
09:52:54 dhcp,debug,packet     Msg-Type = discover 
09:52:54 dhcp,debug,packet     Client-Id = 01-00-04-20-26-98-36 
09:52:54 dhcp,debug,packet     Max-DHCP-Message-Size = 576 
09:52:54 dhcp,debug,packet     Parameter-List = Subnet-Mask,Router,Domain-Server,Host-Name,Domain-Name,Broadcast-Address,NTP-Server 
09:52:54 dhcp,debug,packet     Class-Id = "udhcp 1.18.2" 
09:52:54 dhcp,debug,packet     Host-Name = "SqueezeboxRadio" 
09:52:59 dhcp,debug,packet vlan71-Servers-General received discover with id 750643056 from 0.0.0.0 
09:52:59 dhcp,debug,packet     ciaddr = 0.0.0.0 
09:52:59 dhcp,debug,packet     chaddr = 00:04:20:F5:FE:C4 
09:52:59 dhcp,debug,packet     Msg-Type = discover 
09:52:59 dhcp,debug,packet     Client-Id = 01-00-04-20-F5-FE-C4 
09:52:59 dhcp,debug,packet     Host-Name = "HarmonyHub" 
09:52:59 dhcp,debug,packet     Class-Id = "udhcp 1.13.4" 
09:52:59 dhcp,debug,packet     Address-Request = 192.168.52.198 
09:52:59 dhcp,debug,packet     Max-DHCP-Message-Size = 576 
09:52:59 dhcp,debug,packet     Parameter-List = Subnet-Mask,Router,Domain-Server,Host-Name,Domain-Name,Broadcast-Address,NTP-Server 
09:53:01 dhcp,debug,packet vlan71-Servers-General received discover with id 750643056 from 0.0.0.0 
09:53:01 dhcp,debug,packet     ciaddr = 0.0.0.0 
09:53:01 dhcp,debug,packet     chaddr = 00:04:20:F5:FE:C4 
09:53:01 dhcp,debug,packet     Msg-Type = discover 
09:53:01 dhcp,debug,packet     Client-Id = 01-00-04-20-F5-FE-C4 
09:53:01 dhcp,debug,packet     Host-Name = "HarmonyHub" 
09:53:01 dhcp,debug,packet     Class-Id = "udhcp 1.13.4" 
09:53:01 dhcp,debug,packet     Address-Request = 192.168.52.198 
09:53:01 dhcp,debug,packet     Max-DHCP-Message-Size = 576 
09:53:01 dhcp,debug,packet     Parameter-List = Subnet-Mask,Router,Domain-Server,Host-Name,Domain-Name,Broadcast-Address,NTP-Server 
Here are the static leases for both these devices. Apologies for the incorrect details above. I've tried with these disabled also, so that they should just get an address from the pool. These static leases have always braodcast "yes"
add address=192.168.71.4 always-broadcast=yes client-id=1:0:4:20:f5:fe:c4 comment="Client-General-Harmony Hub" mac-address=00:04:20:F5:FE:C4 server=vlan71-Servers-General
add address=192.168.71.23 always-broadcast=yes client-id=1:0:4:20:26:98:36 comment=IOT-Media-Squeezebox-Kitchen disabled=yes mac-address=00:04:20:26:98:36 server=vlan71-Servers-General
Should I be seeing response entries in the log, where the DHCP server offers an address? Thanks.
 
a752412341
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 8:01 pm

Re: DHCP stays in "Offered" state for 2 wireless devices - Logitech Squeezeboxes

Tue Sep 12, 2017 12:16 pm

Bump - Anyone have any pointers? Thanks!
 
a752412341
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 8:01 pm

Re: DHCP stays in "Offered" state for 2 wireless devices - Logitech Squeezeboxes

Wed Sep 13, 2017 1:00 am

Update.

I exported my complete config and installed it on a hAP-lite for testing.
Same behaviour - no DHCP offered on Bridge71
I changed the DHCP server on Bridge71 to another instance. Success. Squeeezebox received an IP.
So then I deleted the original DHCP server on Bridge 71 and recreated it. Success. Squeezebox received an IP.

I then switched back to my main router and deleted and recreated the DHCP server on the bridge for vlan71. Success.

Not entirely sure what the issue was, It must be config related, as the issue persisted across to a new device. I'll check through the backup files another day.
 
lambert
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 532
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 1:09 am

Re: DHCP stays in "Offered" state for 2 wireless devices - Logitech Squeezeboxes

Wed Sep 13, 2017 7:22 am

Now it would be fun to export the working config and compare it detail for detail with the non-working config to find what the root cause was. :-)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 48 guests