Community discussions

 
shivansps
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 1:18 am

"Connection Closed" with a Hotspot setup using another gateway, and gateway failover

Fri Sep 22, 2017 1:42 am

Hi,
Ill start explain my setup.

ether-1: Fiber modem on bridge mode, it gets ip from a dhcp client.
ether2-4 : Lan (192.168.0.0), 192.168.0.1 is the router IP.
ether5: ADSL modem, in router mode, it has DHCP server disabled and a static ip of 192.168.0.2.
wlan1: bridged with ether ports.
there is a default bridge, and the ether ports are also in default configuration. Ether 2 master, the others slaves.

So, on any pc on my lan can change gateway manually to 192.168.0.2 and use the 2nd internet instead, thats OK.

I want to setup a 2nd SSID to use it as a hotspot, using the 192.168.0.2 gateway ONLY, and unable to see any pcs on the 192.168.0.0 network, only the router and the gateway so i added a virtual AP called wlan2, a ip pool of 192.168.5.1 to 192.168.5.1, a dhcp server running on wlan2 interface that sets 192.168.0.2 and 8.8.8.8 as dns, and 192.168.0.2 as the gateway. And added a hotspot running on wlan2.

I can connect, login OK, im unable to see any pcs on the 192.168.0.x network, thats OK, client gets the configuration correctly, with 192.168.0.2 as the gateway... It also says "internet access" on the clients, but, as soon as i try to open a web page i get a "Connection Closed", i think im missing some rule to route hotspot clients to get internet access from the 192.168.0.2 gateway.

The 2nd thing ill like to do is set the 192.168.0.2 gateway as a failover for my main internet.

As it is right now the ADSL modem/router on 192.168.0.2 will still take care of NAT using the 2nd internet connection, im thinking about setting it on bridge mode, but that whould mean on top of everything else that already been said i whould need to run PPPoE on ether 5 interface and set up the NAT for it as well. I have no idea of how to do that.
 
shivansps
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 1:18 am

Re: "Connection Closed" with a Hotspot setup using another gateway, and gateway failover

Sat Sep 23, 2017 5:24 am

Image

Ok that is what i want to do, ive trying but have no success so far.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests