Community discussions

 
shivansps
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 1:18 am

2nd gateway as failover AND mark routing?

Mon Oct 02, 2017 7:10 pm

Ok right now i have a:

ISP 1: DHCP client running on ether1, with distance 1, and ive added a routing filter to enable check gateway.
ISP 2: PPPoE client running on ether5 with distance 3.

So far so good, the failover is working, but i want a certain ip to run ONLY on ISP 2.
I could add a mark routing to the PPPoE client and add a mangle rule to force that ip to use the 2nd gateway, that works but adding mark route to the 2nd gateway seems to disable the failover because all other ips do not switch to the 2nd gateway after the first one is down.

Any ideas?
 
shivansps
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 1:18 am

Re: 2nd gateway as failover AND mark routing?

Mon Oct 02, 2017 7:40 pm

nevermind, ive already figured it out, ive added a static route that uses "PPPoE-ISP2" as the gateway, and that is one using mark routing.
 
AnupamPradhan
newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 2:44 pm

Re: 2nd gateway as failover AND mark routing?

Mon Oct 02, 2017 8:04 pm

Hi shivansps,

I have the same requirement for failover. Can you please share how you did the failover ?
 
shivansps
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 1:18 am

Re: 2nd gateway as failover AND mark routing?

Tue Oct 03, 2017 1:56 am

For ISP 1:
A DHCP client running on ether1 port, enable "add default route" and set a distance of 2.

For ISP 2:
A PPPoE Client running on ether5 port (by default is set as slave port, so remember to set Master port to "none" in its interface first), enable "add default route" and set a distance of 4.

Now open a terminal
/routing filter
add chain=dynamic-in distance=2 set-check-gateway=ping set-distance=1
Thats petty much it.

If you want to add load balance as well as the wiki indicates you will also need to do this so both ISP gateway will have a check gateway enabled on them.
/routing filter
add chain=dynamic-in distance=4 set-check-gateway=ping set-distance=3
 
arafat586
just joined
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 7:33 am
Location: Dhaka, Bangladesh
Contact:

Re: 2nd gateway as failover AND mark routing?

Mon Oct 16, 2017 9:01 am

Failover configuration step by step here is the tutorial https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6k76D-cLE1o

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 29 guests