Community discussions

 
JanJoh
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2013 10:14 pm

wAP LTE and bridge?

Thu Oct 12, 2017 10:17 am

Hello!

I received a WAP LTE to replace a broken 4G modem.

The old setup was some old Huawei, connected to our RB2011UiAS-RM. The 2011 was set up as a pretty standard NAT/DHCP-appliance for the devices behind it. So far so good. The RB2011 got its WAN address from the Huawei. Simple as it gets.

BUT, my problem now is that I actually can not figure out how to set the wAP LTE up to bridge the connection so that the 2011 can use the public IP. I thought i could just create a bridge and attach the interfaces, but the LTE interface is not bridgeable it seem. So, right now i have set the wAP LTE up to do NAT but I would lite to move this functionality back to the 2011.

Soooo, could soneone shed some light... or better yet, a config for the wAP LTE?

Thanks!
 
User avatar
matiaszon
Member
Member
Posts: 305
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 9:26 am

Re: wAP LTE and bridge?

Sat Oct 14, 2017 1:08 pm

There is a new functionality in RouterOS 6.41rc that allows to "bridge" your LTE/4G modem with the device being connected to MikroTik with LTE modem. However, it doesn't work the way I thought in case of 4G USB modem, but maybe it is different in case of wAP LTE. You can try to do a passthriugh and see what happens.

Here is the manual: https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:I ... assthrough
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3426
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: wAP LTE and bridge?

Mon Oct 16, 2017 6:52 pm

Use the Passthrough feature like matiaszon mentioned - if your provider will give the public IP you will get that IP on the RB2011.
 
User avatar
matiaszon
Member
Member
Posts: 305
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 9:26 am

Re: wAP LTE and bridge?

Wed Oct 18, 2017 2:14 pm

Use the Passthrough feature like matiaszon mentioned - if your provider will give the public IP you will get that IP on the RB2011.
It should be the same on MikroTik device equiped with USB LTE modem, but it's not! Or am I missing something...?
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3426
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: wAP LTE and bridge?

Wed Oct 18, 2017 5:14 pm

each modem has different drivers and implementations. That is why some Huawei modems works in passthrough mode and some not.
 
User avatar
matiaszon
Member
Member
Posts: 305
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 9:26 am

Re: wAP LTE and bridge?

Wed Oct 18, 2017 7:58 pm

In previous published rc version of 6.41 (I think it was 6.41rc38) this E3372-153 didn't work at all. You informed via ticket, that you are aware about it, and next release candidate published will solve the problem. Then we got 6.41.rc44, problem solved, but not the way we wanted...

Is it going to work properly, or not?
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3426
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: wAP LTE and bridge?

Thu Oct 19, 2017 12:10 pm

In previous published rc version of 6.41 (I think it was 6.41rc38) this E3372-153 didn't work at all. You informed via ticket, that you are aware about it, and next release candidate published will solve the problem. Then we got 6.41.rc44, problem solved, but not the way we wanted...

Is it going to work properly, or not?
as I posted on the forum other posts we just pass the traffic from the modem to the passthrough interface.
 
User avatar
matiaszon
Member
Member
Posts: 305
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 9:26 am

Re: wAP LTE and bridge?

Thu Oct 19, 2017 12:45 pm

In previous published rc version of 6.41 (I think it was 6.41rc38) this E3372-153 didn't work at all. You informed via ticket, that you are aware about it, and next release candidate published will solve the problem. Then we got 6.41.rc44, problem solved, but not the way we wanted...

Is it going to work properly, or not?
as I posted on the forum other posts we just pass the traffic from the modem to the passthrough interface.
So I am right, and it does not make any sense in case of USB modems.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests