Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
limaunion
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 5:51 pm

Need some help with a network design

Wed Oct 25, 2017 5:30 pm

Hi! I plan to implement the design shown in the attached diagram. This is a hotel with many distributed access points and 4 different Internet links (this is because the available bandwidth is not enough), thus 4 x 50Mbps links are required.

I plan to create 4 different network segments with 4 vlans, and partition 2 Mikrotik RB750Gr3 in order to route thru them. They should be able to provide dhcp and dns services. Also some devices should be able to reach 'server#1' in vlan40, so I'll be using static routes in this case.

Network details:
subnet: 192.168.1.0/24, default gw 192.168.1.1, vlan10
subnet: 192.168.2.0/24, default gw 192.168.2.1, vlan20
subnet: 192.168.3.0/24, default gw 192.168.3.1, vlan30
subnet: 192.168.4.0/24, default gw 192.168.4.1, vlan40

Is this feasible? can be the Mikrotik partitioned in this way? any documentation about this? please let me know you opinion.
Thanks so much!
ndesign.gif
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
BartoszP
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1720
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 1:13 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Need some help with a network design

Wed Oct 25, 2017 5:39 pm

It is possible even with one Mikrotik.
Real admins use real keyboards.
 
limaunion
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 5:51 pm

Re: Need some help with a network design

Wed Oct 25, 2017 6:20 pm

It is possible even with one Mikrotik.
Thanks for your confirmation.

Could you give me any other detail or link for this kind of setup? do I need to create a trunk for each VLAN in the Mikrotik? you say that's even possible with one Mikrotik, but not with the RB750 right (5 ports)? AFAIK I need 8 ports in total (4 LAN + 4 WAN)

TIA
 
Paternot
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 607
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 4:01 am
Location: Niterói / Brazil

Re: Need some help with a network design

Wed Oct 25, 2017 6:32 pm

Take a look at this example:
https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:I ... N_examples

It is one way to do this.
 
ebreyit
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2013 11:44 am
Location: Shropshire, United Kingdom

Re: Need some help with a network design

Thu Oct 26, 2017 12:56 am

Are the cable modems just operating in bridge mode..? with the Mikrotik connecting to the internet using PPPoE.

Essentially the Cable modems could all be connected to the Switch, each one given a different vlan and then all trunked over one physical ethernet to the Mikrotik.

You would only then need one more physical ethernet to take a vlan trunk back to the switch for all the various internal lans.

You could then think about using PCC https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:PCC to distribute the traffic over the 4 connections to make the most of them.

I've not used the RB750gr3 personally so don't know if it's got enough grunt for the task if fully loaded and having to do all the above. You may want to think about one of the larger Mikrotik routers.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 30 guests