Community discussions

 
nin
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 9:02 pm

Rb450G on an hAP ac, weird problems

Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:07 pm

Hi my friends,

I have got a little problem in a very simple network, shown here.

Image

I simply do not see the problem. Most sorry. Your help would be greatly appreciated.

I have got in this scenario two MikroTik devices. For details, would you please have a quick look on the screenshot from the home office pc:

Image

I configured this RB450G with no defaults and afterwards used the “quick setup” to setup a Bridge mode (static), as you can see here:

Image

My hAP ac (which I like a lot) is also a default configuration and the setup follows the ‘Home AP dual scheme’, as you can see here.

Image

My German DSL router btw. actually only connects to the internet, no problem here whatsoever. Its internal IP is 192.168.1.2.


The MikroTik hAP AC in my home office works great and I have had no problem whatsoever.
However, my problem is downstairs, because I can only plug two network cables into my RB450G. When i insert the 3rd cable I get a reboot loop.
EDIT: Same with only two cables, ether1 and ether2, plugged in (working) and a /system reboot. Also here I see a reboot loop.
Only when I remove all two cables and input them back in, one by one it works.

Maybe you can help me… I simply do not see the problem… since 2 days! Maybe I am getting old or stupid :-/

Cheers, nin
Last edited by nin on Sun Jan 14, 2018 1:51 pm, edited 3 times in total.
 
nin
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 9:02 pm

Re: Rb450G on an hAP ac, weird problems

Sun Jan 14, 2018 1:27 pm

I wish to inform export info and bridge overview for the RB450G and my hAP ac.

[1] RB450G
/interface bridge
add name=bridge1
/interface list
add name=WAN
add name=LAN
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] supplicant-identity=MikroTik
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether1
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether2
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether3
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether4
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether5
/ip neighbor discovery-settings
set discover-interface-list=!dynamic
/interface list member
add interface=ether1 list=WAN
add interface=ether2 list=LAN
add interface=ether3 list=LAN
add interface=ether4 list=LAN
add interface=ether5 list=LAN
/ip dhcp-client
add dhcp-options=hostname,clientid disabled=no interface=bridge1
/system clock
set time-zone-name=Europe/Berlin
/system identity
set name=RB450G
/system lcd
set contrast=0 enabled=no port=parallel type=24x4
/system lcd page
set time disabled=yes display-time=5s
set resources disabled=yes display-time=5s
set uptime disabled=yes display-time=5s
set packets disabled=yes display-time=5s
set bits disabled=yes display-time=5s
set version disabled=yes display-time=5s
set identity disabled=yes display-time=5s
set bridge1 disabled=yes display-time=5s
set ether1 disabled=yes display-time=5s
set ether2 disabled=yes display-time=5s
set ether3 disabled=yes display-time=5s
set ether4 disabled=yes display-time=5s
set ether5 disabled=yes display-time=5s
[2] hAP ac (RB962UiGS-5HacT2HnT)
/interface bridge
add admin-mac=64:D1:54:FE:E7:F2 auto-mac=no comment=defconf name=bridge1
/interface ethernet
set [ find default-name=ether2 ] comment=master
/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] band=2ghz-b/g/n channel-width=20/40mhz-Ce disabled=no distance=indoors frequency=auto mode=ap-bridge ssid=MikroTik-24 wireless-protocol=802.11
set [ find default-name=wlan2 ] band=5ghz-a/n/ac channel-width=20/40/80mhz-Ceee disabled=no distance=indoors frequency=auto mode=ap-bridge ssid=MikroTik-50 wireless-protocol=802.11
/interface list
add exclude=dynamic name=discover
add name=mactel
add name=mac-winbox
add name=WAN
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] authentication-types=wpa-psk,wpa2-psk eap-methods="" mode=dynamic-keys supplicant-identity=MikroTik
/ip hotspot profile
set [ find default=yes ] html-directory=flash/hotspot
/ip pool
add name=dhcp ranges=192.168.6.220-192.168.6.254
/ip dhcp-server
add address-pool=dhcp disabled=no interface=bridge1 name=defconf
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge1 comment=defconf interface=ether2
add bridge=bridge1 comment=defconf hw=no interface=sfp1
add bridge=bridge1 comment=defconf hw=no interface=wlan1
add bridge=bridge1 comment=defconf hw=no interface=wlan2
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether3
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether4
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether5
/ip neighbor discovery-settings
set discover-interface-list=mac-winbox
/interface detect-internet
set detect-interface-list=all internet-interface-list=WAN lan-interface-list=all wan-interface-list=WAN
/interface list member
add interface=wlan1 list=discover
add interface=ether2 list=discover
add interface=ether3 list=discover
add interface=ether4 list=discover
add interface=ether5 list=discover
add interface=sfp1 list=discover
add interface=wlan2 list=discover
add interface=bridge1 list=discover
add interface=bridge1 list=mactel
add interface=bridge1 list=mac-winbox
add interface=ether1 list=WAN
/ip address
add address=192.168.6.1/24 comment=defconf interface=ether2 network=192.168.6.0
add address=192.168.1.1/24 interface=ether1 network=192.168.1.0
/ip dhcp-client
add comment=defconf dhcp-options=hostname,clientid interface=ether1
/ip dhcp-server lease
add address=192.168.6.2 client-id=1:0:c:42:54:f6:3d mac-address=00:0C:42:54:F6:3D server=defconf
add address=192.168.6.101 client-id=1:0:1d:ec:b:98:3d mac-address=00:1D:EC:0B:98:3D server=defconf
/ip dhcp-server network
add address=192.168.6.0/24 comment=defconf gateway=192.168.6.1 netmask=24
/ip dns
set allow-remote-requests=yes servers=192.168.1.2
/ip dns static
add address=192.168.88.1 name=router
/ip firewall filter
add action=accept chain=input comment="defconf: accept ICMP" protocol=icmp
add action=accept chain=input comment="defconf: accept established,related" connection-state=established,related
add action=drop chain=input comment="defconf: drop all from WAN" in-interface=ether1 log=yes log-prefix="drop all from WAN"
add action=fasttrack-connection chain=forward comment="defconf: fasttrack" connection-state=established,related
add action=accept chain=forward comment="defconf: accept established,related" connection-state=established,related
add action=drop chain=forward comment="defconf: drop invalid" connection-state=invalid log=yes log-prefix="dropped invl. fwd"
add action=drop chain=forward comment="defconf:  drop all from WAN not DSTNATed" connection-nat-state=!dstnat connection-state=new in-interface=ether1 log=yes log-prefix=\
    "dropped not dstnatd wan"
/ip firewall nat
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat comment="defconf: masquerade" out-interface=ether1
/ip route
add distance=1 gateway=192.168.1.2
/system clock
set time-zone-name=Europe/Berlin
/system identity
set name=RB962UiGS-5HacT2HnT
/tool mac-server
set allowed-interface-list=mactel
/tool mac-server mac-winbox
set allowed-interface-list=mac-winbox
an overview:
[admin@RB962UiGS-5HacT2HnT] > /interface bridge port monitor 0,4,5,6,1,2,3
                 interface: ether2          ether3                   ether4        ether5        sfp1          wlan1           wlan2
                    status: in-bridge       in-bridge                in-bridge     in-bridge     in-bridge     in-bridge       in-bridge
               port-number: 3               4                        5             6             7             1               2
                      role: designated-port root-port                disabled-port disabled-port disabled-port designated-port disabled-port
                 edge-port: yes             no                       no            no            no            yes             yes
       edge-port-discovery: yes             yes                      yes           yes           yes           yes             yes
       point-to-point-port: yes             yes                      yes           yes           yes           no              no
              external-fdb: no              no                       no            no            no            no              no
              sending-rstp: yes             yes                      yes           yes           yes           yes             no
                  learning: yes             yes                      no            no            no            yes             yes
                forwarding: yes             yes                      no            no            no            yes             yes
            root-path-cost:                 10                                                                                 
         designated-bridge:                 0x8000.00:0C:42:54:F6:3D                                                           
           designated-cost:                 0                                                                                  
    designated-port-number:                 1                                                                                  
          hw-offload-group: switch1         switch1                  switch1       switch1 
[admin@RB450G] > /interface bridge port monitor 0,1,2,3,4  
              interface: ether1          ether2          ether3        ether4        ether5
                 status: in-bridge       in-bridge       in-bridge     in-bridge     in-bridge
            port-number: 1               2               3             4             5
                   role: designated-port designated-port disabled-port disabled-port disabled-port
              edge-port: no              yes             no            no            no
    edge-port-discovery: yes             yes             yes           yes           yes
    point-to-point-port: yes             yes             yes           yes           yes
           external-fdb: no              no              no            no            no
           sending-rstp: yes             yes             yes           yes           yes
               learning: yes             yes             no            no            no
             forwarding: yes             yes             no            no            no
       hw-offload-group: switch1         switch1         switch1       switch1       switch1
       
       


Cheers, nin
 
User avatar
sebastia
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1795
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 3:23 am
Location: Antwerp, BE

Re: Rb450G on an hAP ac, weird problems  [SOLVED]

Sun Jan 14, 2018 2:51 pm

Hi

Sounds like a hardware issue... Just wondering if it's a power issue. Have you tried with different power supply for 450G?
 
User avatar
matiaszon
Member
Member
Posts: 305
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 9:26 am

Re: Rb450G on an hAP ac, weird problems

Sun Jan 14, 2018 3:27 pm

I had similar problem, but after connecting some devices bridge was ruined. I had to check cables ports, and finally found out, that on the other end some devices were making problems.
Try changing power supply, and then switch cables, connect cable without anything on the other end, and connect devices 1 by 1 (if htere is more than 1). If it happens in each case you can be sure it's a MikroTik hardware issue.
 
nin
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 9:02 pm

Re: Rb450G on an hAP ac, weird problems

Sun Jan 14, 2018 6:42 pm

Hi sebastia and matiaszon,

the power supply it was! I wouldn't ever have figured it out by myself as being the culprit of the RB's weird behavior.
The thing is, somehow I must have mixed my adapters and accidentally used one with wrong specs.

Thanks a lot guys! Everything's fine now. I already started to think that I should see a doctor. So you actually helped me in various ways. :-)

Cheers, nin

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 34 guests