spartaniuszg
just joined
Topic Author

Help with router

Fri Feb 16, 2018 11:57 am

Hi everybody!

I need help.

I am new in Mikrotik world.
So far I've been working only with Cisco and little with Hp equipment.

I am very pleased because the choice of Mikrotik equipment is huge.

I am building small network. for one of my client. We want to implement Mikrotik equipment. I don t have experience with Mikrotik devices and I need help .

Can someone with work experience give me advice, some pointers .

Client is small, 10 client computers and a server
Router must have good VPN option.
Simple ethernet RJ45 ports,
Good option for working with Access list
Firewall

And I need good ethernet switch, 24 port.
Simple managment switch with good port security option.

Thanks !

Steveocee
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: Help with router

Fri Feb 16, 2018 5:59 pm

Hello,

I would probably look at starting with an RB750Gr3 (Hex) as they have excellent VPN properties. If you're new to MikroTik then it will be a relatively steep learning curve but worth it none the less.
For a 24 port switch you could look at the CRS326 models as they are brilliant switches and have an amount of L3 should you ever need it.

HTH

spartaniuszg
just joined
Topic Author

Fri Feb 16, 2018 6:04 pm

I am new in Mikrotik world.
So far I've been working only with Cisco and little with Hp equipment.
If you understand networking, whats the difference?,
Port Is port, protocol is protocol, IP address is IP address.... there is no difference BUT there is differences in brand,types and device functionality.
I am very pleased because the choice of Mikrotik equipment is huge.
And most of them are, if not useless, for very specific purposes, some of them I can't even imagine.
Thank you for that information ;.)
I am building small network. for one of my client. We want to implement Mikrotik equipment. I don t have experience with Mikrotik devices and I need help .